Page 114 of 116

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:02 am
by Patexocet
Work fine.

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:12 am
by eXDee
Hey there,
Trying to use this on a phpbb3 forum, and trying to integrate it.
Going to /chat works and i havent customized it just yet, but i cant get it to embed as a small bar at the top or bottom of the forum which is what i want.

As in http://ajax-chat.wiki.sourceforge.net/p ... ntegration i looked for <div id="page-footer"> and cant find it, so i put it in anywhere.

But for some reason it doesnt update, i definitely have the right theme folder. I tried the overall_header.html file also, but still nothing.

Can anyone help out?

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:59 pm
by easygo
Nathanael30 wrote:
easygo wrote:
Nathanael30 wrote:i've done the following changes to the config.js :

autoFocus: true,
autoScroll: true,
dateFormat: '[%d.%m. - %H:%i:%s]',

other changes only happened in the config.php

And another hint for the problem:

After posting a message in the chat the newest massage appears at the bottom of the chat window not on the top where the previous post is listet. After pressing F5 or leaving and entering the room again its standig where it should be.
But the problem with jump to the oldest post still exists.
Then you must have changed more than this. I'm pretty sure, just because
the latest message should always be displayed at the bottom by default
- right under the previous one! Means that the oldest message
should rather be at the top of the chatlist container.

Did you try something like that?

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p6624105

I trust not! It was just a shot in the dark and won't work this way.
no, i didn't change anything in the database request or sql-thing
i am very carefull with changing something in the source...

any idea where to look else ?
Well, then I haven't got a clue from here, just because it never happened to me
using the original code. :? Anyway, providing a chat link might help.

Note that guest users should have access as well // easy

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 1:27 pm
by Patexocet
I refresh the Theme and the template in the ACP. Since that, the style of 10 last messages display on the overall_footer doesn't match the Prosilver template. (back and white colours)

Take a look at http://www.gestimmo.be/forumdreamplanet

Thanks for your help

Pat

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:31 pm
by Patexocet
EMERGENCY

Hi,

I got a big problem,

I apply the shoutbox integration from easygo http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/forum/vi ... ?f=9&t=278

It was exactly what i seeking for. I follow the instructions and everything went fine.

But after that, I want to modify the position of the Shoutbox. I copy the code from overall_footer.html to the overall_header.htm file

After that I try to go to the ACP to refresh the template and I got a blankpage. Impossible to go to the ACP to refresh

I restore the 2 originals overall_footer.html and overall_header.htm, but still got a blank page.

http://www.gestimmo.be/forumdreamplanet

Thank you for your help

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 5:46 pm
by Patexocet
I fixed the problem, i put back the soutbox on the overall_footer.htm and it works

I sill don't now how to integrated the shoutbox ont the overall_header.htm file below the mod RedBar3

Thank you

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:46 pm
by Nathanael30
easygo wrote:
Nathanael30 wrote:
easygo wrote:
Nathanael30 wrote:i've done the following changes to the config.js :

autoFocus: true,
autoScroll: true,
dateFormat: '[%d.%m. - %H:%i:%s]',

other changes only happened in the config.php

And another hint for the problem:

After posting a message in the chat the newest massage appears at the bottom of the chat window not on the top where the previous post is listet. After pressing F5 or leaving and entering the room again its standig where it should be.
But the problem with jump to the oldest post still exists.
Then you must have changed more than this. I'm pretty sure, just because
the latest message should always be displayed at the bottom by default
- right under the previous one! Means that the oldest message
should rather be at the top of the chatlist container.

Did you try something like that?

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p6624105

I trust not! It was just a shot in the dark and won't work this way.
no, i didn't change anything in the database request or sql-thing
i am very carefull with changing something in the source...

any idea where to look else ?
Well, then I haven't got a clue from here, just because it never happened to me
using the original code. :? Anyway, providing a chat link might help.

Note that guest users should have access as well // easy
hi easy,
maybe you where right about the changing the sql-stat, now found that i might have changed to ASC, now fixed it to DESC and it works.

but why is it necessary to allow guest login ?

is it possible to force guests to input a username ?

and now to my other question:
is it possible to force the shoutbox to use another existing channel instead of the default channel ?

thanks a lot for your great help

//nat

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 11:20 pm
by easygo
Nathanael30 wrote:hi easy,
maybe you where right about the changing the sql-stat, now found that i might have changed to ASC, now fixed it to DESC and it works.
No problem! Things happen. ;)
Nathanael30 wrote:but why is it necessary to allow guest login ?
Would have been useful just in case of providing chat links in order to get help.
Nathanael30 wrote:and now to my other question:
is it possible to force the shoutbox to use another existing channel instead of the default channel ?
Try

open chat/lib/template/shoutbox.html in your text editor and find/replace

Code: Select all

			ajaxChatConfig.ajaxURL = '[AJAX_CHAT_URL/]?ajax=true&shoutbox=true';
with

Code: Select all

			ajaxChatConfig.ajaxURL = '[AJAX_CHAT_URL/]?ajax=true&shoutbox=true&channelID=2';
to get channel ID 2 as from now // just to give an example

Regards

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:36 pm
by raqji
hey

i need help i have change my server yesterday and now i get this error if i wont open the Ajax chat
XML-Verarbeitungsfehler: "Junk" nach Dokument-Element
Adresse: http://naruto-revolution.de/chat/
Zeile Nr. 1, Spalte 32:<b>[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice</b>: in file <b>/chat/lib/class/AJAXChat.php</b> on line <b>2466</b>: <b>session_start() [<a href='function.session-start'>function.session-start</a>]: open(/var/lib/php/session/sess_hmfagc9sbb66qiljlmsq0cob53, O_RDWR) failed: Permission denied (13)</b><br />
-------------------------------^
can some one help me pls :(

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:51 pm
by Nathanael30
easygo wrote:
Nathanael30 wrote:hi easy,
maybe you where right about the changing the sql-stat, now found that i might have changed to ASC, now fixed it to DESC and it works.
No problem! Things happen. ;)
Nathanael30 wrote:but why is it necessary to allow guest login ?
Would have been useful just in case of providing chat links in order to get help.
Nathanael30 wrote:and now to my other question:
is it possible to force the shoutbox to use another existing channel instead of the default channel ?
Try

open chat/lib/template/shoutbox.html in your text editor and find/replace

Code: Select all

			ajaxChatConfig.ajaxURL = '[AJAX_CHAT_URL/]?ajax=true&shoutbox=true';
with

Code: Select all

			ajaxChatConfig.ajaxURL = '[AJAX_CHAT_URL/]?ajax=true&shoutbox=true&channelID=2';
to get channel ID 2 as from now // just to give an example

Regards
hi easy,
very very great, everything is working fine.

And the next question is: is it possible to force guests to input a username ?

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:37 pm
by easygo
Nathanael30 wrote:And the next question is: is it possible to force guests to input a username ?
I think so! Let's go. :)

OPEN

chat/lib/class/AJAXChat.php

FIND

Code: Select all

			// If given userName is invalid, create one:
			if(!$userName) {
				$userName = $this->createGuestUserName();
REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

			// If given userName is invalid, return false:
			if(!$userName) {
				$this->addInfoMessage('errorInvalidUser');
				return false;
Note that allowGuestUserName should be set to true and forceAutoLogin to false // easy

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:01 pm
by Nathanael30
Thank you easy,

working perfect as i wanted it to.

very great MOD !

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:40 am
by magicfun
Is there a demo of what the shoutbox looks like when intergrated with PHPBB 3? I'd like to see all the functionality that is supposed to show up. I installed it on my forum, but it looks pretty barebones...so I am wondering if I need to tweak some settings somewhere.

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:39 pm
by easygo
magicfun wrote:Is there a demo of what the shoutbox looks like when intergrated with PHPBB 3? I'd like to see all the functionality that is supposed to show up. I installed it on my forum, but it looks pretty barebones...so I am wondering if I need to tweak some settings somewhere.
There's a demo

http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/

and here you go for my wiki to get roughly the same shoutbox (based on prosilver)

http://www.net4seven.de/phpbb3/forum/vi ... ?f=9&t=278

Just give it a shot // easy

Re: [RC] AJAX Chat

Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 7:42 pm
by magicfun
Thanks that did the trick, I think. Isn't there supposed to be a "delete message" little image on the right if you are the administrator and are deleting messages? Mine dont seem to be showing up.

Also, Is it possible to have emoticons on the front so users know how to use them?