[ABD] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
IPB_Refugee
Registered User
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Austria
Name: Wolfgang Weber

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by IPB_Refugee »

Hi Stitch625,

I haven't looked carefully at the code but there should be a space between TOPIC_TITLE} and onmouseover. But a simple question: Have you deleted the styles cache after modifying the .html files?

Regards
Wolfgang

Omarvelous
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:24 am

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by Omarvelous »

IPB_Refugee wrote:
egriz wrote:
iyeru42 wrote:
raptor5001 wrote:It uses one single query to get the text for every topic on display on that page.
That's not good. You'll be using up 1 query per topic. Making it act like so:

Sort 30 topics per page = 30 More Queries

You need to tone down on it.
I think he meant that it uses 1 query total for all topics on the page, not for each topic
Regarding this issue I'd like to hear some statement from the author of the MOD, please. (Or did some of you look at the number of queries on the viewforum pages after installing this MOD?)

Thanks
Wolfgang
From what i've observed, it does not add a query per topic, so leading me to think it is 1 at most.

User avatar
Stitch625
Registered User
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:38 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by Stitch625 »

IPB_Refugee wrote:Hi Stitch625,

I haven't looked carefully at the code but there should be a space between TOPIC_TITLE} and onmouseover. But a simple question: Have you deleted the styles cache after modifying the .html files?

Regards
Wolfgang
Thanks for the reply Wolfgang, Yes I have cleared the cache. I will try what you mentioned and see if that fixes it.

[EDIT]

Seems like the post is being displayed in the title box
Welcome to phpBB3 onmouseover="show_preview('No new posts','This is an example post in your phpBB3 installation. You may delete this post, this topic and even this forum if you like since everything seems to be working!')" onmouseout="close_preview()"

TIM3PORT
Registered User
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by TIM3PORT »

is it just my forums or no one has topics with links on them?

any topic that has a link on it DOES not get a hover. by this I mean ANY one of the posts has a link and it does not display a hover

I did kinda like how the new popup looked.

User avatar
IPB_Refugee
Registered User
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Austria
Name: Wolfgang Weber

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by IPB_Refugee »

Hi,

I found another bug:

http://www.xtrempc.ro/forum/viewforum.php?f=20

The third announcement ("Concurs Interfata CD/DVD XtremPC") and the third sticky ("Testele hardware si software din revista - index") have no hover preview. (At least not in Firefox 2.0.0.6.)

Regards
Wolfgang

User avatar
johnesku
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:22 am
Location: Bucharest, RO
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by johnesku »

IPB_Refugee wrote:Hi,

I found another bug:

...

The third announcement ("Concurs Interfata CD/DVD XtremPC") and the third sticky ("Testele hardware si software din revista - index") have no hover preview. (At least not in Firefox 2.0.0.6.)

Regards
Wolfgang
I think the policy of this site does not allow posting links so I suggest to either delete the link or replace it with an image.

Secondly the display error is related to those topics being marked incorrectly as sticky when in fact being announcements, which was corrected already. Therefore I confirm this is (was) not a bug related to this mod.

john

User avatar
IPB_Refugee
Registered User
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Austria
Name: Wolfgang Weber

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by IPB_Refugee »

johnesku wrote:I think the policy of this site does not allow posting links so I suggest to either delete the link or replace it with an image.
Are you sure? If it's true, I'm sorry and will remove the link ASAP. (Or a moderator may edit my post, please.)

The board rules say:
Members should remember this board is aimed at a general audience. Posting pornographic or generally offensive text, images, links, etc. will not be tolerated and will lead to a warning.
But the link is not spam, not pornographic and not offensive and related to this MOD because I think there is a bug in it. I still think so: There are several topics in the forum I linked above who still do not have a hover:

XtremPC 86
Download de pe site XPC
Un nou titlu XTremPC ... XTremPLUS?
Revista nu-i de gasit in Ploiesti
Noile C2d E6320, E6420

Sorry, but for me this do look like a bug. What does the MOD author say?

Regards
Wolfgang

TIM3PORT
Registered User
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by TIM3PORT »

IPB you are having the same problem I am having.

I just looked at your forum link and just like I said on my post TOPIC what have links in them DO NO LOAD a hover.

User avatar
IPB_Refugee
Registered User
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Austria
Name: Wolfgang Weber

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.0

Post by IPB_Refugee »

<!-- BEGIN OFFTOPIC

No, we don't. ;) The Slackline Community is still a phpBB-2.0.22 board (without a topic hover preview MOD). I don't want to use the release candidate of a board software on a live board. (And before upgrading to the gold release of Olympus I must be sure that there will be no problems regarding search engine optimization and so on).

Regards
Wolfgang

END OFFTOPIC -->

raptor5001
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by raptor5001 »

0.3.1 Released.

Just some monor stuff done with the two edits that process the posttext (i.e. run preg_replace on it and etc) and install instructions for subsilver2 added.

IPB_Refugee, I have no idea what is going on on that board. The problem is that line breaks are being put in, breaking up the onmouseover portion. But the code takes out every line break and replaces it with a <br />. Maybe try updating to the latest version of this MOD and doing every edit carefully.

Links in topic text work for me TIM3PORT. Are you using RC4? Can you make sure all edits were done correctly?

Also, yes, this MOD uses only ONE SINGLE query per execution.

stitch, you have added it twice. You only needed it in the a tag itself, not after the {topicrow.TOPIC_TITLE}. PLease see the new version, though, for subsilver2 instructions.

I have no idea when I will have more time to add the requested features into this MOD. I will try to work out bugs if any pop up, but new features are beyond my time restraints currently. I apologize.

User avatar
johnesku
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 9:22 am
Location: Bucharest, RO
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by johnesku »

Wolfgang - I believe you are right after all. There is a bug in the script and I think it's connected to the way special characters in the first/last message are parsed. This happens to viewforum and to search as well. I will test 0.3.1 to see if this is still appearing and will post the result.

john

Late edit: the behavior is the same in 0.3.1. The posts containing for example

Code: Select all

...

Code: Select all

+

Code: Select all

:

Code: Select all

`
are not parsed correctly and therefore no preview is shown. Editing those parts of the messages solves the problem. Also simply editing that post is working. So I guess it is an issue generated only in forums which were converted to phpBB-3.0 for older posts.
Last edited by johnesku on Wed Aug 08, 2007 10:44 am, edited 5 times in total.

murnauvsbuñuel
Registered User
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:49 am

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by murnauvsbuñuel »

i have tested Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1 in my forum phpBB3 RC4 and i have any problems:

1) Any topics hover preview work but others dont work.
Image Image

2) In any topics the text preview is very short and in others is very large.
Image Image

thanks for your work
sorry for my bad english i am spanish.
ImagemxBB Portal the best portal to phpBB2

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by playerfr »

Is this updated buged ? or working good for otheres ? and to update only $posttext part have to modified ?

thanks :)
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

Xabi
Registered User
Posts: 460
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 9:04 am

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by Xabi »

0.2.2 is working OK for me, 0.3.x don't (some topics show info, others don't show anything).

User avatar
playerfr
Registered User
Posts: 851
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:50 am
Location: France - Paris

Re: [RC1] Topic Hover Preview 0.3.1

Post by playerfr »

So new version is more buged then old :shock: happiliy i did not installed it :geek:
All kind of help for your Forums / Sites. Installing for you the forum, the Mods, creating Custom Mods : for small fee http://www.phpbbhelpers.com

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”