[ABD] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
User avatar
Boris Berdichevski
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by Boris Berdichevski » Mon May 04, 2009 5:32 pm

I've analized logs after register any bot. Yes-yes, bot registered with answer to MOD question!!! :o
Here is a bot's response:

Code: Select all

[url=#file_links[d:\xrumer\all_url_kondrat_shop.txt,1,s]] #file_links[d:\xrumer\ext_kondrat_shop_ru_.txt,1,s]  [/url]
Do you can check a syntax of response and discard any response started [url= :?:

It is not relevant, see my next post. -- BB.
Last edited by Boris Berdichevski on Sun May 10, 2009 11:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2821
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by primehalo » Thu May 07, 2009 10:20 pm

The user response is trimmed of white spaces, then case folded, then checked against the possible valid answers.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

anatolie
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:04 pm

Re: Please help with skin modification for this MOD

Post by anatolie » Sat May 09, 2009 3:27 pm

I hoping someone could provide some guidance on installing this MOD with a Utis skin.

I have installed everything and finally have it all working in ProSilver but when I switch to Utis the question field is missing in the registration box. I know the code needs to be added to the template but I don't know where it needs to go.
Can someone suggest another common name for a folder containing the appropriate area to insert the needed code?

Thanks

User avatar
Boris Berdichevski
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by Boris Berdichevski » Sun May 10, 2009 8:58 am

It's about my previous post.
I'm analyzing the problem of bots’ registration despite the MOD.
According logs, the script asks the question, receives illegal answer ('3323442') and... hangs!
And bot registers successfully! :o

User avatar
madmartyau
Registered User
Posts: 440
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:42 pm
Location: Brisbane,Australia
Name: Marty
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by madmartyau » Sun May 10, 2009 9:17 am

Boris Berdichevski wrote:It's about my previous post.
I'm analyzing the problem of bots’ registration despite the MOD.
According logs, the script asks the question, receives illegal answer ('3323442') and... hangs!
And bot registers successfully! :o
I don't have that problem. I just tried to register an account and got asked for the first 5 letters of the alphabet. I entered 99999999.
I was greeted with the message, Your human verification response was incorrect.
The user wasn't registered.

Are you sure you made your edits correctly?
Call me Grumpy.

User avatar
Boris Berdichevski
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by Boris Berdichevski » Sun May 10, 2009 9:40 am

madmartyau,
did you try to register like bot?
I want to say that registration 'by hand' don't like registration with automatic bot. Time of reaction is different.
To check the script seriously, you need to run any bot program.
If you check the script 'by hand' it works Ok.

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2821
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by primehalo » Sun May 10, 2009 10:01 am

Tell me which bot program your running and I'll see if I can test it out.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

User avatar
Boris Berdichevski
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by Boris Berdichevski » Sun May 10, 2009 10:26 am

I don't know. I work with real Forum, and I attaced by bot programs.
I save logs, and I can to view what's happened.
I have any hypothesis.
Bot can close the form before that script do

Code: Select all

							foreach ($key_list as $idx => $valid_responses)			// The passkey phrase was encoded, so we need to find it rather than just accessing it directly (bummer)
							{
								if ($this->encode_me($idx) == $encoded_key_phrase)	// Cool, we found the passkey phrase we were looking for
								{
									foreach ($valid_responses as $valid) 			// We can't use in_array() because we're doing a case-insensitive check (bummer)
									{
...
 
and before variable $error can be changed from 'false' to 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_INCORRECT'! :idea:

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2821
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by primehalo » Mon May 11, 2009 9:24 am

The PHP code has to finish executing, a bot cannot fast-forward that process. Upon looking at the code again, I did see this:

Code: Select all

                                $this->error = 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_INCORRECT';
                                break;                                            // We didn't find a valid response, so lets move on
                            }
                        }
                        // If we made it here AND no error was assigned, then we did not find a passkey phrase, which shouldn't happen.
 
There should be an error catch after that, just to be safe:

Code: Select all

                                $this->error = 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_INCORRECT';
                                break;                                            // We didn't find a valid response, so lets move on
                            }
                        }
                        // If we made it here AND no error was assigned, then we did not find a passkey phrase, which shouldn't happen.
                        $this->error = ($this->error) ? $this->error : 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_NO_KEY';
 
Also make sure it was installed correctly, especially the lines that contain:

Code: Select all

$prime_captcha->update_error($error); 
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

User avatar
Boris Berdichevski
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:09 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by Boris Berdichevski » Mon May 11, 2009 10:12 am

Ok, missing in my release of prime_captcha.php

Code: Select all

$this->error = ($this->error) ? $this->error : 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_NO_KEY'; 
after

Code: Select all

// If we made it here AND no error was assigned, then we did not find 
I've corrected generally:
Find

Code: Select all

            // If we can find our cookie and it has its correct value, then
            // we've already done a verification and we can just leave.
            if (isset($_COOKIE[$cookie_name]) && $_COOKIE[$cookie_name] == $cookie_value)
            {
                return;
            }  
Add after

Code: Select all

$this->error = 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_INCORRECT'; 

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2821
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by primehalo » Mon May 11, 2009 7:27 pm

Boris Berdichevski wrote:I've corrected generally:
Find

Code: Select all

            // If we can find our cookie and it has its correct value, then
            // we've already done a verification and we can just leave.
            if (isset($_COOKIE[$cookie_name]) && $_COOKIE[$cookie_name] == $cookie_value)
            {
                return;
            }  
Add after

Code: Select all

$this->error = 'PRIME_CAPTCHA_INCORRECT'; 
This does not look like a correction to me.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

anatolie
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:04 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by anatolie » Mon May 11, 2009 7:40 pm

someoane can help me?

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 21034
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Please help with skin modification for this MOD

Post by RMcGirr83 » Mon May 11, 2009 7:44 pm

anatolie wrote:I hoping someone could provide some guidance on installing this MOD with a Utis skin.
The only reference I am able to find for that style is for 3.0.1, which is not 3.0.4 so more than likely you may very well be out of luck. Sorry. If you have a link where the style is for 3.0.4, I am willing to take a look at it for you.
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

anatolie
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 12:04 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by anatolie » Wed May 13, 2009 3:05 pm

only 3.0.4 work?

or is good 3.0.2?

User avatar
newbie1981
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:36 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: [RC1] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Post by newbie1981 » Wed May 13, 2009 6:31 pm

works fine on 3.0.2!

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”