[ABD] Prime Anti-bot - Anti-spambot Text Verification

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Prime CAPTCHA (0.0.3) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

IPB_Refugee wrote:Hi Ken,

your demo board at http://www.absoluteanime.com/phpbb3/ doesn't show anything but a blank page (I use Firefox 2.)

Therefore I have to ask what's the difference between your MOD and the Anti Bot Question MOD?

Thank you!
Wolfgang
Yeah, we've still got some kind of server issue to work out.

The two MODs are similar, but there are some difference. Mine contains multiple questions, and picks one at random. Plus, more can be added easily (and I haven't tested it, you should also be able to incorporate an image into the question, such as "What is this a picture of: <img src='/images/some_image.jpg'>").

Another feature includes the ability to have more than two responses to a question, so you can list all possible correct responses that you can think of. Also, I don't know if the other MOD does this or not, but mine will save a cookie when validation is successful so that user won't have to validate again.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

squarepush3r
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 10:10 am

Re: [BETA] Prime CAPTCHA (0.0.3) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by squarepush3r »

i think the main difference is in implementation, you can link to my website above for an example of it working

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Prime CAPTCHA (0.0.3) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

I also forgot to mention that since my questions/responses are located in the language file, there are no extra database queries.

Version 0.0.4 is now available. Update instructions are included in the "contrib" directory.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

User avatar
IPB_Refugee
Registered User
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Austria
Name: Wolfgang Weber

Re: [BETA] Prime CAPTCHA (0.0.3) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by IPB_Refugee »

primehalo wrote:The two MODs are similar, but there are some difference. Mine contains multiple questions, and picks one at random. Plus, more can be added easily (and I haven't tested it, you should also be able to incorporate an image into the question, such as "What is this a picture of: <img src='/images/some_image.jpg'>").

Another feature includes the ability to have more than two responses to a question, so you can list all possible correct responses that you can think of. Also, I don't know if the other MOD does this or not, but mine will save a cookie when validation is successful so that user won't have to validate again.
Thanks for your answer and the very interesting MOD, Ken! I'm really glad I found this topic before focussing too much on the other MOD. ;)

Regards
Wolfgang

jabipia
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:27 am

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by jabipia »

This works great, but I dont use prosilver style. Any chance of getting a WOWmevahempire style for this?

MrJacky
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 10:43 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by MrJacky »

Is there a similar MOD for phpBB2?

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

jabipia wrote:This works great, but I dont use prosilver style. Any chance of getting a WOWmevahempire style for this?
If you use the inline verification, then it should be easy enough to adapt to any style. If you use the separate page verification, then you can use the generic file I included in the contrib directory. Or ask whoever made the WOWmevahempire style to create one and I'll include it.
MrJacky wrote:Is there a similar MOD for phpBB2?
I dunno, but phpbb2 has been out for a long time so I assume there is probably at least one.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

zanzer7
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:05 am

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by zanzer7 »

Two things;

First off, it seems that if you 'forget' to put in username, password etc. when registering, there is not Prime CAPTCHA on the 'retry registering' page.

Secondly, how about support for multiple languages? But oh well, I suppose that wouldn't matter since everyone has to register in the board's default langauge anyway.

Great mod, I might start using it instead of the image CAPTCHA, if I find myself invaded by spam bots :)

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

zanzer7 wrote:Two things;

First off, it seems that if you 'forget' to put in username, password etc. when registering, there is not Prime CAPTCHA on the 'retry registering' page.

Secondly, how about support for multiple languages? But oh well, I suppose that wouldn't matter since everyone has to register in the board's default langauge anyway.

Great mod, I might start using it instead of the image CAPTCHA, if I find myself invaded by spam bots :)
I'm not sure what you mean by forgetting to put in username, password, etc. When registering, the Prime CAPTCHA does show up, unless the user had already successfully verified they were human. A cookie is stored on their computer once they do so that they don't have to verify they're human every time. So this could happen if they had already registered a previous account, or if they had successfully made a post as a guest user. Also, if you want the Prime CAPTCHA to show up you have to make sure it's enabled in the Admin Control Panel.

This MOD does support multiple languages. If you know someone who wants to do a translation, I'd be happy to add it to the package. People don't have to register in the board's default language. The registration page allows the user to choose which language (out of the installed languages) they wish to use.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

tusem
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by tusem »

The mod works great. However, when I try changing one of the questions I get an error message on the registration page:
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/funtions.php on line 3372: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/mods/prime_captcha_keys.php:1)

this happens even if I only change one letter in a question.

Any advice?

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

tusem wrote:The mod works great. However, when I try changing one of the questions I get an error message on the registration page:
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file /includes/funtions.php on line 3372: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /language/en/mods/prime_captcha_keys.php:1)

this happens even if I only change one letter in a question.

Any advice?
I would have to see the file that you changed.
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

tusem
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by tusem »

I only changed the first question.

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
*
* prime_captcha_keys [English]
*
* @package language
* @version $Id: prime_captcha_keys.php,v 1.0.0 2007/09/21 23:21:22 primehalo Exp $
* @copyright (c) 2007 Ken F. Innes IV
* @license http://opensource.org/licenses/gpl-license.php GNU Public License
*
*/

/**
* DO NOT CHANGE
*/
if (!defined('IN_PHPBB'))
{
	exit;
}

if (empty($lang) || !is_array($lang))
{
	$lang = array();
}

// DEVELOPERS PLEASE NOTE
//
// All language files should use UTF-8 as their encoding and the files must not contain a BOM.
//
// Placeholders can now contain order information, e.g. instead of
// 'Page %s of %s' you can (and should) write 'Page %1$s of %2$s', this allows
// translators to re-order the output of data while ensuring it remains correct
//
// You do not need this where single placeholders are used, e.g. 'Message %d' is fine
// equally where a string contains only two placeholders which are used to wrap text
// in a url you again do not need to specify an order e.g., 'Click %sHERE%s' is fine
//
// Some characters you may want to copy&paste:
// ’ » “ ” …
//

$lang = array_merge($lang, array(
	'PRIME_CAPTCHA_KEYS' => array(

		'Two plus four equals?'
			=> array ('six'),

		'What color is a clear afternoon sky?'
			=> array ('blue'),

		'What is the opposite of hot?'
			=> array ('cold'),

		'Enter the first 5 letters of the alphabet:'
			=> array ('abcde', 'abcdef', 'a b c d e'),

	),
));

?>

User avatar
primehalo
Former Team Member
Posts: 2855
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Redding, CA
Contact:

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by primehalo »

You're right, that change shouldn't cause they error you're seeing. And actually, that's a weird error to be getting at all. It is saying that the file is outputting data to the browser, starting from the first line of the file, which just shouldn't be the case. My guess would be it's not what your changing, but how the file is being saved after you make a change, because it sounds like that something is being put before the opening <?php tag. I believe that certain file encodings put byte(s) at the beginning of the file to indicate which file encoding it is, and some text editors that recognize this code won't display it. Do you have any way to check this?
Ken F. Innes IV
My Extensions | My MODs | My Topics | My Site: Absolute Anime
Experience the wonder of Japanese Animation!

tusem
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 8:48 pm

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by tusem »

I just edited the file with a different editor. Now it works just fine :D Thanks for the tip!

yaw_pakhtoon
Registered User
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 12:18 am

Re: [RC1] Prime CAPTCHA (1.0.0) - Text-based Human Verification

Post by yaw_pakhtoon »

really good mod.. can't wait till the stable version is out..
Image

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”