[ABD] News Mod

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
DubCA
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 8:32 am

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by DubCA »

Does this work for phpbb 3.0.0 ????

cruddpuppet
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:34 am

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by cruddpuppet »

Yes, this mod was meant for PHPBB3...

BassmanOz
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:36 am

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by BassmanOz »

Hi,
Trying to get this working, but I keep getting the following error:

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/####/public_html/news/mod.php on line 42

I've read thru this thread but haven't seen any similar errors. Any ideas?

WillSWC
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 8:15 pm
Location: Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by WillSWC »

Code: Select all

                  $avatar = '<img src="/'.$forumpath.'/download/file.php?avatar='.$useridrow->user_avatar.'" alt="" />';
That's what ya need to fix the avatars. Just add /file.php instead of Just download.php and it'll work.
House burnt down, wife left, dog's dead, truck broke down and the shotgun's outta ammo.
- A summery of County Music by WillSWC

-JoshC-
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2006 6:04 pm

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by -JoshC- »

The "list" bbcode doesn't seem to be converting correctly. Any plans on fixing this?

Thanks

pdawg81
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 2:03 am

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by pdawg81 »

anyone know of how to intergrate this wonderful mod into eve-dev killboards.....nto sure if anyone knows what it is, but you can view it here modro.110mb.com id want the news to be shown under the nav bar on the home page only no others......

let me know if you can help out with that

birdbrain
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:45 pm

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by birdbrain »

Forgive me if I missed something on setting up this mod. I d/l the mod, I already have a config.php, do I edit that or replace it?

I don't see anything relating to news.php, is this something I create?

my forum is in the default directory http://www.domain.com what should be in the $forumpath?

Many thanks for developing and supporting a mod as I know how much time and effort goes inot such work ;)

paulbunker
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Chester, England
Contact:

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by paulbunker »

download link is broken :(

cruddpuppet
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:34 am

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by cruddpuppet »

Sorry people, could not respond in time.

1. The download link is back up. (Had hosting issues...)
2. The config.php should go where the news script will go. (DO NOT REPLACE ANY PREEXISTING CONFIG.PHP FILES!!!!)
3. Sorry, this script was made for phpBB only... I thought this whole site was for phpBB only too. o.O
4. Not all BBcode works, because I can't get the bbcode parsing function to work.
5. Thanks for the avatar fix, I'll include it in the next update.
6. You'll get that error if you don't supply correct information for your database.
7.

paulbunker
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Chester, England
Contact:

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by paulbunker »

is it possible to get a particular topic from a forum to show on an external page?

i.e. i have a lyrics page on my band's website and i'd like to be able to have a list of the songs and when you click the list it displays that song.

www.outfromanimals.co.uk/lyrics.php

allso. i'm having a wierd css problem, with the text i get from requireing mod.php in my page. when i add static text to a page in the site it works the way i want in both i.e. and ff. but in i.e. i get a couple of incredibly annoying problems with what the script is outputting... the text will not justify in the div, and the text gets bumped down to the bottom of a div that i have floating on the left. and the <h1> text on the first line isn't underlined :?

can anyone help?
www.outfromanimals.co.uk/indexx.php <- how i want it to look, only works in ff.

for now i've had to add another div and shrink the width all the way down for the actual frontpage so i'm not left with a huge whitespace if people look in explorer. but the justify and <h1> persist. as i say i don't know what the root of the problem is but the layout works in both browsers for the static pages, www.outfromanimals.co.uk/media.php.

i was thinking i could call for the text involved before i printed it to the page or somthing like that please help or tell me where i might be able to find a solution.

thank you
-Paul

clutchn
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 12:09 pm

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by clutchn »

Anyone found a fix to bleech's request. I also wish to use the script twice within one page.
www.minitruckin.co.nz the initial script works under propaganda but after pending events it seizes loading of the remaining page. If someone could help me out with this it would be much appreciated, btw i have individual mod files in seperate folders and each config file etcis updated, if you switch the included files around the problem moves so i believe theres a conflict with requesting different data on the same page.

Cheers
Jaydus
MiniTruckin.co.nz

kendog819
Registered User
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 6:06 pm

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by kendog819 »

Download Link No Good :cry:

paulbunker
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Chester, England
Contact:

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by paulbunker »

is there a similar mod with active support? i need to add a pic which is linked on my indexpage via this mod but i cant. it posts the picture fine but gives out the bbcode text for the link before and after the pic.

I know this portion of the mod controlls the bbcode replacing, i'm finding it very difficult to understand what's going on. i also have a cusom bbcode for the center tag. could someone give me a nudge in the right direction please :)

Code: Select all

 function replace_bb_code($text)
      {
          $text = preg_replace('/\:[0-9a-z\:]+\]/si', ']', $text);
          $text = preg_replace("#\[b\](.+?)\[/b\]#is", "<b>\\1</b>", $text);
          $text = preg_replace("#\[i\](.+?)\[/i\]#is", "<i>\\1</i>", $text);
          $text = preg_replace("#\[u\](.+?)\[/u\]#is", "<u>\\1</u>", $text);
          $text = preg_replace("#\[s\](.+?)\[/s\]#is", "<s>\\1</s>", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[url\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/url\\]", "<a href=\"\\1\" target=\"_blank\">\\1</a>", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[url=([^\\[]+)\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/url\\]", "<a href=\"\\1\" target=\"_blank\">\\2</a>", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[img\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/img\\]", "<img src=\"\\1\">", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[color=([^\\[]+)\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/color\\]", "<font color=\"\\1\">\\2</font>", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[quote\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/quote\\]", "<br><br><strong>Quote:</strong><table width='80%' border='0' cellspacing='0' cellpadding='3'><tr><td bgcolor='#EFEFEF'><font color='#000000' size='-2'>\\1</font></td></tr></table><br>", $text);
          $text = eregi_replace("\\[code\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/code\\]", "<br><br><strong>Code:</strong><table width='80%' border='0' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='0' bgcolor='#FFFFFF' style='border:1px solid gray;'><tr><td bgcolor='#FFFFFF'><font color='#009900' size='-2'>\\1</font></td></tr></table><br>", $text);
          return $text;
      }

center bbcode replace, my effort.

Code: Select all

$text = preg_replace("#\[center\](.+?)\[/center\]#is", "<center>\\1</center>", $text);
could i change

Code: Select all

 $text = eregi_replace("\\[url=([^\\[]+)\\]([^\\[]*)\\[/url\\]", "<a href=\"\\1\" 
to

Code: Select all

 $text = eregi_replace("\\[url=([^\\[]+)\\](.+?)\[/url\\]", "<a href=\"\\1\" 
to allow the link to wrap around the img?

would a centered linked img be asking too much?

I wish I was better at this :(

-Paul

p.s. maby a mod that would allow html posts in a particular forum could fix my problem but i havn't found one

iaind
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 7:22 pm

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by iaind »

Can Someone please re upload to a decent file host?!

paulbunker
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 5:41 pm
Location: Chester, England
Contact:

Re: [RC] News Mod

Post by paulbunker »

I've uploaded the copy I have to my space http://www.outfromanimals.co.uk/mod.zip

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”