[ABD] SiteMap Generator

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
profago
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:25 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by profago »

I have a problem with lastmod syntax wich is like this
<lastmod>WedPMCESTE_253C</lastmod>
and google doesn't like this.
May anyone help me?
User avatar
DaJe
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:57 pm

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by DaJe »

The 404 error is probably from it trying to ping google. I think I fixed it on mine, except now it keeps breaking anyway. So I don't know what to do. Can someone please try to fix this?
padlets
Registered User
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by padlets »

google did change the url of the sitemap but i still get the 404 error
http://www.google.com/support/webmaster ... swer=34609
padlets
Registered User
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:36 pm

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by padlets »

I think that the problem is with $url_xml because when i change the code

Code: Select all

urlencode( $url_xml )
to

Code: Select all

urlencode( "http://www.mywebsite.com/sitemap/itemap_index.xml")
its works, i don't know php so i can't fix that.
updown
Registered User
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:53 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by updown »

in acp_sitemap_generator.php

FIND:

Code: Select all

				$smindex = $phpbb_root_path . $config['sitemap_dir'] . '/sitemap_index.xml';
REPLACE with:

Code: Select all

				$smindex = generate_board_url() . '/' . $config['sitemap_dir'] . '/sitemap_index.xml';
in sitemap_functions.php

FIND

Code: Select all

		$req =  'GET /webmasters/sitemaps/ping?sitemap=' .
REPLACE with:

Code: Select all

		$req =  'GET /webmasters/tools/ping?sitemap=' .
then pinging seems to work again correctly...
regisg
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:29 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by regisg »

Hello,

Is is correct to get this code in the sitemap.xml for each topic :

Code: Select all

<loc>http://myforums/viewtopic.php?f=xx&t=yy</loc>
The problem is about "amp;"
I don't understand why there is allways this "amp;" between the forum number xx and the topic number yy...

Thx.
updown
Registered User
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:53 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by updown »

@regisg: '&' is the html-expression of '&' - it has to be that way
Last edited by updown on Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DaJe
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:57 pm

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by DaJe »

Well, that fixed the pinging, but my main problem is that for some reason Google doesn't want to accept these maps anymore. Whenever I submit them, it tells me there's an error with the maps.
updown
Registered User
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:53 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by updown »

I have no problems so far - neither with google, nor bing, nor yahoo...
regisg
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:29 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by regisg »

That's strange : few weeks ago, my sitemap was accepted by Google without error.
And now, it failed !
Syntax analysis error :

Code: Select all

<loc>http://forums.munci.org/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=11</loc>
(That's the same with : <loc>http://forums.munci.org/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=11</loc> ...)
updown
Registered User
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:53 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by updown »

regisg wrote:That's strange : few weeks ago, my sitemap was accepted by Google without error.
And now, it failed !
Syntax analysis error :

Code: Select all

<loc>http://forums.munci.org/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=11</loc>
(That's the same with : <loc>http://forums.munci.org/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=11</loc> ...)
Maybe it's because your URLs are redirected with SEO-URLs:

Code: Select all

http://forums.munci.org/des-antennes-en-province-t11.html
You should try using a sitemap with SEO-URLs instead...
regisg
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:29 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by regisg »

Maybe, indeed, but it doesn't work it i set YES to SEO in the settings of the MOD in the ACP...

And anyway, it worked few weeks ago with the same settings !
User avatar
DaJe
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 1:57 pm

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by DaJe »

That's the same thing that happened to me. Worked perfectly fine until recently. Right now I'm in the process of trying to figure out why it fails to get accepted.
regisg
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 11:29 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by regisg »

Well, i think Google changed sthg in the process...

By the way, the interface changed :
https://www.google.com/webmasters/tools/sitemap-list
updown
Registered User
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:53 am

Re: [BETA] SiteMap Generator

Post by updown »

regisg wrote:Maybe, indeed, but it doesn't work it i set YES to SEO in the settings of the MOD in the ACP...

And anyway, it worked few weeks ago with the same settings !
I don't use SEO-Mods, so I havn't tested it - but while crawling through the code, i recognized the following issue:

Theres a typo/bug in the "sitemap_functions.php":

FIND

Code: Select all

				$t_xml .= '<loc>' . $board_url . $topicname . '-t' . $data['topic_id'] . '.html</loc>' . "\n";
REPLACE WITH

Code: Select all

				$f_xml .= '<loc>' . $board_url . $topicname . '-t' . $data['topic_id'] . '.html</loc>' . "\n";
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”