[ABD] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC10

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
jfella91
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:50 pm

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by jfella91 »

How do I add my downloaded games into the list?

User avatar
NiceM
Registered User
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by NiceM »

Read the user guide in your acp
Download games for phpbb-Arcade at:
origon.dk

User avatar
SAFFLEUR
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:56 am
Location: Lenoir NC
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by SAFFLEUR »

Jeff,

Would it be possible to make a way for the server to download the games from the Download Games module and upload it to itself? It would be using the same bandwidth to upload anyway.

Just trying to figure out a way to cut out a step in downloading games and re-uploading them. Like on NiceM's site, drop in the URL click the games you want to download, the server downloads it and unpacks it there by itself and voila. No need to open an FTP client etc.

Thanks,
Scott

The-Lord
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:13 pm

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by The-Lord »

That will be a good feature

User avatar
JRSweets
Registered User
Posts: 2047
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 8:37 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by JRSweets »

SAFFLEUR wrote:Jeff,

Would it be possible to make a way for the server to download the games from the Download Games module and upload it to itself? It would be using the same bandwidth to upload anyway.

Just trying to figure out a way to cut out a step in downloading games and re-uploading them. Like on NiceM's site, drop in the URL click the games you want to download, the server downloads it and unpacks it there by itself and voila. No need to open an FTP client etc.

Thanks,
Scott
This is something I have thought about implementing before however at the time I decided against it. The problem is that the downloads are generated on the fly, so when you download a game from the hosting server it is generated dynamically at the time of download. Once its downloaded the compressed file is removed. This makes its very difficult to implement the system as you suggest.

User avatar
SAFFLEUR
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:56 am
Location: Lenoir NC
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by SAFFLEUR »

JRSweets wrote:
SAFFLEUR wrote:Jeff,

Would it be possible to make a way for the server to download the games from the Download Games module and upload it to itself? It would be using the same bandwidth to upload anyway.

Just trying to figure out a way to cut out a step in downloading games and re-uploading them. Like on NiceM's site, drop in the URL click the games you want to download, the server downloads it and unpacks it there by itself and voila. No need to open an FTP client etc.

Thanks,
Scott
This is something I have thought about implementing before however at the time I decided against it. The problem is that the downloads are generated on the fly, so when you download a game from the hosting server it is generated dynamically at the time of download. Once its downloaded the compressed file is removed. This makes its very difficult to implement the system as you suggest.
Makes sense thank you for answering my question.

upurii
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:33 am

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by upurii »

Hi. I have upgrade to RC9 from RC8, but i have a problem. In the admin panel, EDIT GAMES, EDIT SCORES and UPLOAD/UNPACK GAMES links to blank pages, i have no errors.

The arcade games works fines, scores are memorised, just this 3 pages dosen't.

Thx for the help.

User avatar
NiceM
Registered User
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by NiceM »

Double check your edits, and be sure you have upload all the new files.
Download games for phpbb-Arcade at:
origon.dk

upurii
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:33 am

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by upurii »

Ok thx i found my mistake, i have forgotten the langage files in the correct folder. ^^

cherieann
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:06 pm

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by cherieann »

i'm not sure if this is the place to ask this, but thanks for the great addon =)

it works great! just wondering tho, template wise, how would i make the description be a 'onhover', instead of just having it posted in the page itself, kinda like the games on http://igames.origon.dk/forum/arcade.php

just for the look, any help would be appreciated, thanks! :)

-cherie

User avatar
NiceM
Registered User
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:25 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by NiceM »

Upload the arcade.css and edit your overall_header.html
Download games for phpbb-Arcade at:
origon.dk

cherieann
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:06 pm

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by cherieann »

ahh.. knew i missed something in the templates, got it thanks! :D

bob_raid
Registered User
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:53 am

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by bob_raid »

Need some help here:-

1. When game end direct back to forum index page?
2. Can't submit score for some game?
3. Score submit but was not recorded?
4. No highscore recorded?

Hope someone can help me on the above problem.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
SAFFLEUR
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 5:56 am
Location: Lenoir NC
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by SAFFLEUR »

bob_raid wrote: 2. Can't submit score for some game?
On some games you have to hit play again in order to make the score submit.

User avatar
Steve
Registered User
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: UK ,up north!!
Name: Steven Clark
Contact:

Re: [RC] phpBB Arcade 1.0.RC9

Post by Steve »

ive just updated the arcade to the new version

every thing works fine apart from uploading games in the ac panel,i get this message below

Code: Select all

Information

Could not create directory 3fbc6b0fdb900adae5ce1e6cea11ea98
any ideas? ive checked all the files and edits they seem to be fine

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”