[ABD] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
El-Cherubin
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by El-Cherubin » Sat Jul 26, 2008 9:54 am

Or you can use feedburner, add your feed in your feedburner account, and then use it feed.


Another question, is it possible to modify the order of the topic title?

For the moment, the title is composed like this : "Name of Feed | Title of the article", i would like to do "Title of Article - Name of feed"

I could do this? if yes, how?...

Thanks :)
Neuron Partners Neurosciences serve Digital Marketing

z2z
Registered User
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 9:35 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by z2z » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:07 am

El-Cherubin wrote: Another question, is it possible to modify the order of the topic title?

For the moment, the title is composed like this : "Name of Feed | Title of the article", i would like to do "Title of Article - Name of feed"

I could do this? if yes, how?...

Thanks :)
in /includes/functions_lastrss_autopost.php you have to alter this line

Code: Select all

      // prepare data for posting
      $subject    = $post_data['name'] . ' | ' . $post_data['items'][$i]['title']; 

El-Cherubin
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by El-Cherubin » Sat Jul 26, 2008 10:19 am

Nice, thanks for this quick answer :)
Neuron Partners Neurosciences serve Digital Marketing

User avatar
deanandeva
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 12:11 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by deanandeva » Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:19 pm

Hi Smix,

All working and thanks for your help along the way.

BTW, is it possible to bring images into the posts ?

Cheers


Dean

xues1
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 8:55 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by xues1 » Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:09 am

I have been trying to integrate LASTRSS for weeks. All is fine, excep that feeds from Google News present html codes insteadof actual chracters in the titles. For instance #39 is displayed instead of apostrophe.

I have tried every means possible to get in touch with the developers for some advice, but have been totally ignored thus far.

Does anyone have any ideas of how to fix this? Bearing in mind I'm not really much of a techie?

Should I just ditch this (which is a shame) and try to find another solution? I just about out of options to eb honest.

User avatar
soaknfused
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 9:02 pm
Location: WI

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by soaknfused » Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:24 pm

Has anyone had any luck adding target _blank to the links to the story? I had tried another means of opening the pages in a new window when someone clicks on the link but that also effected other links on the site which I did not want to happen that way.

mod is working great (aside from known bugs) keep up the great work Smix
My Family site: http://www.distads.com
My Linux Mobile site: http://www.LinMo.org
Image

User avatar
deanandeva
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 12:11 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by deanandeva » Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:56 am

Hi Smix,

I know you busy but I really need to stop the duplicate posts, is there an interim solution I could try until you release the next version?

Im holding off on launching my site a duplicate posts may turn subscribers away.

Cheers

Dean

User avatar
Tripp
Former Team Member
Posts: 1358
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 5:14 am
Location: G'boro, North Carolina
Name: Tripp
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by Tripp » Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:07 am

deanandeva wrote:Hi Smix,

I know you busy but I really need to stop the duplicate posts, is there an interim solution I could try until you release the next version?

Im holding off on launching my site a duplicate posts may turn subscribers away.

Cheers

Dean
Please read a few pages of the topic before asking such questions.

Quick answer, no solution until next release.
The box said 'You need Windows XP or better' .... so I installed linux.

Formerly Drugs

User avatar
deanandeva
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 12:11 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by deanandeva » Thu Jul 31, 2008 7:52 am

Thanks Drugs,

In the interim, if I change the next_check_after to check once every 24hours. And make sure that the feed is new before the next scheduled check then I shouldn't get duplicates right ?

With that in mind what value should I put in the next_check_after to get a check once per day ?

I am using RSS mixer so I should be able to run two seperate tasks one in the morning combining two feeds and one in the afternoon combining another two feeds, therefore there will always be fresh data when autopost looks ?
http://www.advancedrssmixer.com/software.asp

This may be a workaround for all !

Thanks guys

stc1987
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 8:46 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by stc1987 » Sun Aug 03, 2008 8:53 am

I have this mod on my website and it works fine, but this week when he wanted to post a new topic i get an error on the insert of the titel.

The topic was about a new computerscreen of 26inch, the title was New 26" of ....
I got an error on the "

i have made a litte change in the functions_lastrss_autopost.php
function autopost

after this line:

Code: Select all

// prepare data for posting
$subject	= $post_data['name'] . ' | ' . $post_data['items'][$i]['title'];
I added:

Code: Select all

	$s			= '"';
  	$r			= "''";
  	$subject	= str_replace($s,$r,$subject);
now it works fine

my site:
http://www.courtheyn.be/phpBB3/

REVELAT10N
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:53 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by REVELAT10N » Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:34 am

Edit:
Figured this issue out. Please remove.
Last edited by REVELAT10N on Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

porkchop87
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:42 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by porkchop87 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:06 pm

I love the mod, but the double-posting really needs at least a small fix. I understand the latest release is not intended for a live forum, but still, it should've been something fixed with immediate priority. Even a temporary fix or way of resolving the issue would suffice. Please, give us something! :cry:

porkchop87
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:42 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by porkchop87 » Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:12 pm

deanandeva wrote: With that in mind what value should I put in the next_check_after to get a check once per day ?
24

User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by Smix » Mon Aug 11, 2008 8:39 am

Hello,

I´m sorry, but I´m really very busy now ... :roll:

I think all questions were already answered (or can be found on previous pages of this topic) ... :| (please correct me, if not :oops: )

Thanks to stc1987, it´s good, but maybe we can use something like ... (not sure, not tested yet)

Code: Select all

$subject = $db->sql_escape($subject);
Thanks to Drugs, for answering the question, while I was unavailaible :) I´m appreciating it.
soaknfused wrote:Has anyone had any luck adding target _blank to the links to the story?
It´s not as simple, as it looks. You´ll have to change the post engine, because phpBB is secured for HTML insertion, or change the link replacement - in styles/prosilver/bbcode.html

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN url --><a href="{URL}" class="postlink">{DESCRIPTION}</a><!-- END url -->
But there is not a simple way, how to make it available only for my mod ... (btw. target="_blank" is not a valid xHTML! you´ll have to do it with javascript)

Code: Select all

onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"
... so it may looks like

Code: Select all

<!-- BEGIN url --><a href="{URL}" class="postlink" onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;">{DESCRIPTION}</a><!-- END url -->
... not checked, but I think it will work

stevefree
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:21 pm
Location: http://www.petpost.org
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.1)

Post by stevefree » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:38 pm

Smix wrote:Hello,

I´m sorry, but I´m really very busy now ... :roll:
No worries. Are we anxiously awaiting release? Yes :) Is the world going to end if it takes you a few extra months to finish it? No :)

Thanks for the great work thus far. Let me know if you want a beta tester prior to full public release :)

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”