[ABD] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
blitztrading
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by blitztrading »

I am using this mod since a couple of weeks, and I confirm everyone's feedback: great mod.

2 last questions for Smix:
- why pictures are not retrieve from the RSS feed to post in my forum ? http://www.realtimeforex.fr/forums/exte ... s=10,11,14

- when CDATA will be taken into account? This feed does not work (Smiy you told me it was because of CDATA) : http://saxobanque.fr/rss

Thx
Last edited by blitztrading on Tue Nov 11, 2008 8:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kristas360
Registered User
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:51 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Kristas360 »

I've been reading through this thread but am still a bit confused. I have never installed a mod before and I don't know where to copy and paste the code into. What files do I need to edit?

Can anyone point me to some simple instructions on how I can install this on a forum?
~ Krista in Canada
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Smix »

Hello again,

@Gplaya4lyfe
This mod is not dependent on any other mods so I think you can add it anywhere ... It´s not showing anything, anywhere - it´s posting - so if you´ll add it into your portal solution, than you´ll initiate my mod while your portal is browsed ...
The error you´ve posted is some error in your language file - possibly bad encoding (did you saved it as UTF-8 ? ) ...

@blitztrading
Thanks :) Well, I´ll check it again, but I really checked the feed you´ve posted recently and it was working ... :|
Images are still not parsed (TODO) ...

@Ger
Thanks for quick reply ;)


And also, I´ve found a way how to break the rows 8-) ... So who want it now and test (and tell me if it really works) than do this :
OPEN class_lastrss.php
FIND

Code: Select all

  				// item title
  				if ($this->strip_html && isset($result['items'][$i]['title']))
  				{
            $result['items'][$i]['title'] = strip_tags($this->unhtmlentities(strip_tags($result['items'][$i]['title'])));
          }
          // item description 
					if ($this->strip_html && $result['items'][$i]['description'])
					{
AFTER ADD

Code: Select all

						// br2nl fix :-)
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = preg_replace('/\<br\s*\/?\>/i', '
						', $result['items'][$i]['description']);
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = str_replace('<br />','
						', $result['items'][$i]['description']);
If it will work correctly, it will be included in next version ...
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

Thanks, I'll try it and let you know!
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

Too bad, it doesn't seem to work :(

Now looking a bit closer, I see in the pattern of the preg_replace a "\s*". I guess you intended that to be for a possible whitespace to match both "<br>" and "<br />"? But shouldn't the pattern than be

Code: Select all

/\<br{1} \/?\>/i
:?:
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Smix »

Thanks for testing ...
:? Well, it worked on my test board with <br /> ...

well, we´ll try it this way ...

Code: Select all

						// br2nl fix :-)
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = str_replace(array('<br />', '<br>', '<br>', '<br />'),'
						', $result['items'][$i]['description']);
(still looking for a better way how to break the row in other way than with enter, but no success yet :oops:
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

Smix wrote: well, we´ll try it this way ...
Just made the fix that way, thanks. I'll keep you posted.
Smix wrote: (still looking for a better way how to break the row in other way than with enter, but no success yet :oops:
Shouldn't that be /n? (not sure though)
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Smix »

Ger wrote:Shouldn't that be /n? (not sure though)
... it´s supposed to be "\n" but it´s not working ... phpBB posting functions are stripping it or it´s posted as is ...
Amjad
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 9:01 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Amjad »

Whens the first stable release expected? Its an AMAZING MOD!! I just love it! :D
I have a few questions...what are the best values for next_check and next_check_after?


And is it possible you can keep the same formatting of the post retrieved?
FiD Underground - Chill Out Zone!
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Smix »

Hello,
well, ... I think the mod is stable enough ... There are no bugs, which causes board unavailability, yet ...

next_check is timestamp and you don´t need to edit it in any way (if you´ll set this to 0, than you´ll force the mod to download fresh data immediately) ... next_check_after is number of hours between checking (don´t set this to 0!) - and this number depends on the feed ...

What do you mean with "same formating"? ... Rows are temporarily fixed in my previous post and images and other html stuff is not yet available ...
blitztrading
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by blitztrading »

Smix wrote: @blitztrading
Thanks :) Well, I´ll check it again, but I really checked the feed you´ve posted recently and it was working ... :|
Sorry to insist Smix, but is this feed: http://www.saxobanque.fr/rss working with you? It's not the case on my board (and this becomes critical to me ...)

Thx
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

Ger wrote:Just made the fix that way, thanks. I'll keep you posted.
No luck there. I wondered why, since I know your code should be correct. So I looked in the pagesource, and it said:

Code: Select all

<br>
. Ah! The one thing the code didn't account for. So I put that in the str_replace array, pretty confident it will work. :)
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Smix »

Hello again,

@Ger
Try it this way

Code: Select all

          // item description 
					if ($this->strip_html && $result['items'][$i]['description'])
					{
						// br2nl fix :-)
						// I´ve didn´t find a better way how to break the line with something like \n - so I´ve used
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = $this->unhtmlentities($result['items'][$i]['description']); 
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = str_replace(array('<br>', '<br />'), '
						', $result['items'][$i]['description']);
						$result['items'][$i]['description'] = strip_tags($result['items'][$i]['description']);
					}
@blitztrading
My result looks like this ... (with the fix posted in this post)
ImageImage
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1969
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.3)

Post by Ger »

Smix wrote:Hello again,

@Ger
Try it this way
That didn't work unfortunatly, but this did the trick:

Code: Select all

// br2nl fix :-)
					$result['items'][$i]['description'] = str_replace(array('<br>', '<br />', '<br />', '<br>', '<br>', '<br />'),'
					', $result['items'][$i]['description']);
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:

-Don't PM me for support-
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”