[ABD] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
KidneyBoy
Registered User
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 1:04 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by KidneyBoy »

Look forward to and update to this. I'd really like to be able to add the RSS feeds from joystiq.com, as it's probably the best video game news site out there, and it goes along with our board. ACP would certainly be nice, but can be lived without for now.

Thanks for the update, Smix!

rckape
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by rckape »

Hi,

I would like to have a play with this mod, i have downloaded it fine, but i can't find anywhere the guide for setting up the mod to work. I have the install file and have had no problems with that. I just don't know what to do after i've installed it. The only link to a setup guide i can find is broken.

http://phpbb3.smika.net/kb/kb_show.php?id=3

Is ther a new link to the same guide, or am i being really dim and just not looking in the right place?

User avatar
Sajaki
Registered User
Posts: 1360
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:41 pm
Location: Acidalia Planitia, Mars
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Sajaki »

@ rckape : here's the download link :http://phpbb3.smika.net/index.php?optio ... s&Itemid=3

and a configuration guide :

Code: Select all

lastRSS RSS autoposting bot (lRAB)
SHORT MANUAL

Content
1. New config values - what do they mean?
2. How to manage lastRSS autoposting bot without ACP ?

1. New config values - what do they mean?
$config['lastrss_ap_enabled'] = 1; (boolean - if true, ap is enabled and feeds are checked)
$config['lastrss_ap_items_limit'] = 5; (number of items which is bot trying to post)
$config['lastrss_ap_bot_id'] = 143; (user_id of user, which will post it to forum)

- all those config values are in database table config of your phpbb install ...

2. How to manage lastRSS autoposting bot without ACP ? 
(ACP will be introduced with release of version 0.2.0)
- all configuration for feeds of lastRSS autoposting bot is in database table
phpbb_lastrss_autopost ...
Columns explanation :
`name` - name of the feed - is also used in posting 
`url` - URL of the feed ...
`next_check` - next check time (from PHP function time())
`next_check_after` - number of hours between checks
`destination_id` - forum_id where BOT will try to post
`enabled` INT( 1 ) - boolean - if true, this feed will be checked
i had a bug when installing this on phpbb 306. here's the fix, there should be 2 tabs between "EMAIL'" and "=>".

open install.xml

find

Code: Select all

<find><![CDATA['LOG_ERROR_EMAIL'      => '<strong>E-mail error</strong><br />» %s',]]></find>
replace with

Code: Select all

<find><![CDATA['LOG_ERROR_EMAIL'		=> '<strong>E-mail error</strong><br />» %s',]]></find>

User avatar
Sajaki
Registered User
Posts: 1360
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:41 pm
Location: Acidalia Planitia, Mars
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Sajaki »

however, this mod doesn't work with the feeds from googlecode. for example, http://code.google.com/feeds/p/bbdkp/svnchanges/basic doesn't work. the function my_preg_match($pattern, $subject) doesn't find a match.

User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Smix »

Hello Sajaki,
the feed you are pointing at is not a RSS feed, but ATOM ... It´s not parsed correctly and it wouldn´t work ...

User avatar
Sajaki
Registered User
Posts: 1360
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:41 pm
Location: Acidalia Planitia, Mars
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Sajaki »

you could use Simplepie (http://simplepie.org/wiki/plugins/start) as a backend instead of regexing the feed, which is prone to errors, so then you'd be compatible with Atom as well. there is a wordpress plugin that uses it already. ;)

nexum
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 8:36 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by nexum »

when i try to add large feeds there is always a couple of items that are not posted.... i think it is since i upgraded to 3.0.6 but i am not sure...

edit: i *think* it is only because there was already a post with the same name as the missing posts from the feed.... (even if the post is not in the same forum)

User avatar
JStraitiff
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:40 am
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

More tag enclusion

Post by JStraitiff »

can someone help me add support for new tags like <enclosure> and others. i tried to add it myself by duplicating the image code in class_lastrss.php and in functions_lastrssautopost.php and changing the variables. it didnt work obviously which is why im asking here so that hopefully someone who knows the code better than myself can give me some incite.

User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Smix »

Hello,

@Nexum
yes, it´s possible that it wasn´t posted because there was already another topic with the same name ... I didn´t find better way how to check if the post was or wasn´t already posted ... :|

@JStratiff
How would you like to add the enclosure tag? ... How do you want to post it? As a link? ... I´m not sure how to post the result ...

User avatar
JStraitiff
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 1:40 am
Location: Buffalo, NY
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by JStraitiff »

@smix i would like to post the result link to the media file wrapped in a bbcode. in this case it would be [mp3][/mp3]

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Scotty501 »

I have installed this and it is working perfectly well - except something I am doing wrong I think. It has been posting nicely overnight - but last thing I did change the User ID to a new user I have setup.

However it is still posting under the old user which was setup to test it. I have check the table in config and it seems to pointing to the desired user. What have I have failed to do?
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Smix »

Hello,
have you purged cache ? ;)

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Scotty501 »

Yes sir - I did that straight away. I have left the time interval at default - maybe I need to let the time elapse first. Is there a away I can force it now?

PS - Great mod - and great to see you support it Smix. Hope its validated with no issues.
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

Scotty501
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 9:40 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Scotty501 »

Ignore me - I forced it (changed time interval to 0) and it is working great here http://www.ukusclan.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=79
Web Design http://www.ukushosting.com Web Hosting

User avatar
Jackanape
Registered User
Posts: 1076
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 6:01 am
Location: Capitol of the Great State of New York
Name: Jack Drury
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Post by Jackanape »

Wow--what a beautiful mod! Mere minutes to install, and works like a charm! Thanks! My members will be glad to see their old news stories popping up again!

My feature requests, if you don't already have them figured in:

1) Allow more customization for different feeds, i.e., different bot posters, different number of entries drawn, etc.

2) The ability to combine feeds into one topic, which might be better were it configured. You can see where we worked this up for the FIND mod here:
http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5&t=379922

Keep up the good work!
~Extending the rule of meticulous exactitude to exaspirating punctillio...still.~
Treat your phpBB like a member of the family--Update and MOD her by hand, with HTML-Kit
: : Wanna Talk Poker? : : Image : :

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”