[ABD] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.4)

Any abandoned MODs will be moved to this forum.

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported or maintained by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Forum rules
IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

WARNING: MODs in this forum are not currently being supported nor updated by the original MOD author. Proceed at your own risk.
Locked
User avatar
PrattP
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:26 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by PrattP »

There are no errors. :(

I am glad to hear my feed works though. :)
User avatar
reddevilmeuk
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by reddevilmeuk »

thanks for the info ;) however im still a little confused on the amount it polls external resources... and times...

example

my site pulls rss from site A, B and C

when does it know they have updated there feeds?
at what time does it pull feeds?

sorry for the cross examination, im just interested.

red
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

PrattP :
Have you forced the bot to download the feed now?

reddevilmeuk :
Well, the biggest server time consumpting action is downloading the feed ... If you´ll download a feed which is very long, it takes more time ... Feed must be downloaded completely, because must be parsed as complete XML document, so there is no way to shorten this action :| ... After this, the feed is parsed with lastRSS parser class and the result is given to bot, which check if there are already those topics posted and if not - he´s going to post latest "5" topics ... Only one feed is downloaded at one view of index page of your board, so feed A, than feed B and finally feed C are downloaded, parsed, checked and than posted separately ...
The bot is checking the feeds once per time period, you´ll set (in hours) (please read :arrow: "How to set up this mod" in mod´s knowledge base), download it, check it and if any new topic is available, he´ll try to post it ...
User avatar
PrattP
Registered User
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 6:26 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by PrattP »

I had it already set to 0, but I changed the value and resaved it. Then purged cache on forum.

No output still. :cry:
User avatar
reddevilmeuk
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by reddevilmeuk »

have another question for you, i now have it feeding from two sites into mine with a setting of default 20 posts and an increment of every hour....

1) This is on a dev site, so if i dont visit for say 2 hours, will the new rss posts be there?

2) Can I have one feed going every 15 past the hour, the other on 30 past, the other 45past, etc etc etc

thanks for the great support and a great little feeder :D
User avatar
reddevilmeuk
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by reddevilmeuk »

sorry one more question,

is it possible for the posts to be changed from

{NAME} | RSS FEED NAME

to

RSS FEED NAME [NAME]


Just a thought
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

PrattP wrote:I had it already set to 0, but I changed the value and resaved it. Then purged cache on forum.

No output still. :cry:
Please post there the URL of the feed - I´ll check it ... Also check again the forum_id and permissions of the user which is used as APBot poster ...
reddevilmeuk wrote:have another question for you, i now have it feeding from two sites into mine with a setting of default 20 posts and an increment of every hour....
1) This is on a dev site, so if i dont visit for say 2 hours, will the new rss posts be there?
2) Can I have one feed going every 15 past the hour, the other on 30 past, the other 45past, etc etc etc

3) is it possible for the posts to be changed from
{NAME} | RSS FEED NAME
1) APBot is initiated when index.php page is opened ... So if nobody wouldn´t visit your board for two hours and then you´ll come to your board (index.php), than the bot will be initiated and will check the first feed, which has to be checked, download it, and then check 20 items if the topics are not already posted ... Next browsing index.php will download the second feed ...
2) minimal next-check time is 1 hour, because downloading of the feeds is demanding more server time and you may be warned that you are overloading the server ... (but if you are owner of the server or you are running your board on Virtual host, it´s possible to do it - please check previous pages - I already wrote the way how to do it ...)
3) :arrow: Yes, it´s possible, in next versions, it will be possible to change the posting template for every feed independently ...
User avatar
reddevilmeuk
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:03 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by reddevilmeuk »

thanks again for the help, one last thing

my board is hammered all the time, so me implementing this with 4 external feeds, am i right in thinking when the feeds have downloaded all the visits to index.php will not create any more strain on the server? that's until the next one hour cycle happens?
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

Yes ...

Advice : How to minimize possible server´s problems
  • Set time for checking feed approprietly to feed
    (if it´s a news RSS feed, check it often, if it doesn´t contain fresh data very often, download it once per day or more ...)
  • Lower the number of items, which is the bot trying to post ...
    (it´s SQL checks after feed is downloaded ...)
Auden
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:13 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Auden »

Hello

I've a message error with this SQL

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` (`config_name`, `config_value`, `is_dynamic`) VALUES
('lastrss_type', 'curl', 0),
('lastrss_ap_version', '0.1.2', 0),
('lastrss_ap_enabled', '1', 0),
('lastrss_ap_items_limit', '5', 0),
('lastrss_ap_bot_id', '2', 0);
#1062 - Duplicate entry 'lastrss_type' for key 1

PS : LastRSS agregator is already running on my board.

Any idea ?


Thanks
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

... it´s already answered in the first post of this topic ;)

SQL for installing APBot, while agregator is already installed

Code: Select all

    CREATE TABLE `phpbb_lastrss_autopost` (
      `name` varchar(255) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
      `url` varchar(255) collate utf8_bin NOT NULL,
      `next_check` int(10) NOT NULL,
      `next_check_after` int(2) NOT NULL,
      `destination_id` int(3) NOT NULL,
      `enabled` int(1) NOT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY  (`name`)
    );

    INSERT INTO `phpbb_lastrss_autopost` (`name`, `url`, `next_check`, `next_check_after`, `destination_id`, `enabled`) VALUES
    ('lastRSS', 'http://phpbb3.smika.net/lastrss.php', 0, 1, 2, 1);

    INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` (`config_name`, `config_value`, `is_dynamic`) VALUES
    ('lastrss_ap_version', '0.1.2', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_enabled', '1', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_items_limit', '5', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_bot_id', '2', 0);
User avatar
DiegoPino
Registered User
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:30 am
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by DiegoPino »

Hi Smix.

Well , just to say i test the mod (0.1.2) and not have not problems in the moment to run the mod.

http://dim.we11.net/viewforum.php?f=1

its very cool that mod and easy to install, thanks so much.

Bye Smix.
We11World [ Winning Eleven ] , Blog , PinoStudio1 , Archive Forums
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

You are welcome ;) But I hope that you´ll come back soon :lol: (for next versions ...)


Small announcement : If you are using Handymans´s "MOD Version Check", I´ve repacked the v0.1.2 and in contrib directory, you´ll now find files for this mod ... ;)
Auden
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:13 pm

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Auden »

Oups...

I run that:

Code: Select all

 INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` (`config_name`, `config_value`, `is_dynamic`) VALUES
    ('lastrss_ap_version', '0.1.2', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_enabled', '1', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_items_limit', '5', 0),
    ('lastrss_ap_bot_id', '2', 0);
but when i purge cache =>
Fatal error: Cannot redeclare class lastrss in /homez.19/lyonforus/www/includes/class_lastrss.php on line 24


I must delete these entries to access to my board...

I know... i'm not very bad in phpmysql..

Any idea ?
User avatar
Smix
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:07 am

Re: [DEV] lastRSS autoposting bot MOD (0.1.2)

Post by Smix »

It´s also answered in the first post in this topic ;)
Add all edits after lastRSS agregator´s edits ...
Check the code and you´ll see, that the edits are on the same places - add the bot edits as second - after agregator´s edits ...

It´s not about SQL ;) ...
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Abandoned MODs”