Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

https://www.phpbb.com/ideas/
Post Reply
Ideas Bot
Registered User
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 10:06 am

Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by Ideas Bot » Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:38 am

Remove all non-functioning CAPTCHA’s (GD CAPTCHA etc.) from the installation package.

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 20810
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by RMcGirr83 » Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:52 am

And use what in their place when the forum is first setup?
In times of change, learners inherit the earth, while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists - Eric Hoffer
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer
All requests for support via PM will be ignored

User avatar
WelshPaul
Registered User
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 2:09 pm

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by WelshPaul » Mon Dec 18, 2017 11:44 am

To be fair, phpBB shouldn't bother using any CAPTCHA's when a forum is first setup. What's the point in having a feature or function operational if it serves no purpose?

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 2929
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by HiFiKabin » Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:26 pm

I have thought this for years. Having ANY CAPTCHA as a default implies that it is going to work, especially if you are a new user and know nothing about countering SPAM.

My 2c on how it should function?

Install the forum (as usual) get to the 'Delete the Install Directory' stage, click next and that takes you to 'Configure the CAPTCHA' with a link telling the user how to configure the inbuilt Q&A and a link to approved extensions.

User avatar
AmigoJack
Registered User
Posts: 5238
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:33 am
Location: グリーン ヒル ゾーン
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by AmigoJack » Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:54 pm

RMcGirr83 wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:52 am
And use what in their place when the forum is first setup?
They're not needed anyway when registrations are moderated and guest posting is nowhere allowed.

Apart from that ineffective ones are less a help but more a nuisance to real people. The support staff aboard always knows which CAPTCHAs are broken, yet a phpBB installation does neither give a warning, nor does the manual discourage using them. This is a big inconsistency either way.
The worst thing about censorship is ███████████

User avatar
_Vinny_
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 7606
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:45 am
Location: Brazil
Name: Marcus Vinicius
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by _Vinny_ » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:25 am

RMcGirr83 wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:52 am
And use what in their place when the forum is first setup?
Already commented on area51 that should be part of the installation of an efficient CAPTCHA. It does not take 2 minutes to get a reCAPTCHA key.

Selective
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:30 am

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by Selective » Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:19 am

My first phpBB forum, got it hard with spam bots while I was using the CAPTCHA set up, and so I looked into CAPTCHA's to see why and how they were failing. Turns out that bots can just fly right past them and they do just about nothing to block spam bots.

What I changed it to and has worked ever since was using the Q&A option. Then whatever the answer is, it can't be anywhere on the website page, or be anything simple and easy as a number or a single short word, or else the spam bots can hack those also.

The last option is to block all bot access on the board, but then that means your board won't be crawled and indexed for search engines to find it.

The Q&A spambot countermeasure option should be default for new forum set ups.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14448
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by david63 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:50 am

Selective wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:19 am
The Q&A spambot countermeasure option should be default for new forum set ups.
And what would you use as a question/answer? If it was hard coded then every boy would know the answer in no time at all
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Selective
Registered User
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:30 am

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by Selective » Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:58 am

david63 wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:50 am
Selective wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 5:19 am
The Q&A spambot countermeasure option should be default for new forum set ups.
And what would you use as a question/answer? If it was hard coded then every boy would know the answer in no time at all
You never used the Q&A option before? If you had, you would know that there is no hard coded questions or answers. You have to create them! So if it works or not is based on how clever someone can create their own questions and answers. Then the rules to follow, to make sure spam bots can't get past them, are very simple.

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 14448
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Remove non-functioning CAPTCHA’s from package.

Post by david63 » Sat Jan 27, 2018 8:06 am

Selective wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 7:58 am
ou never used the Q&A option before?
Been using it for years - but how do you propose setting it as a "default". Many/most new users would not have the first idea as to what to use as a Q&A when installing a board and would therefore add a silly questio such as "What is 2+2?" which would be as useless as having no CAPTCHA at all.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Post Reply

Return to “phpBB Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests