Do you think is correct how the board behaves that if an admin upload or update a group avatar it overwrites the personal one?
Its not a bug it's a feature (and I really mean that). Afaik it will be overwritten only when it is tha main group of the user.
I actually use this at our board. We don't delete users, we just block them (so that we can prevent re registration) and move them into a "Deleted" Group. This Group has an avatar with a suitable Avatar which overwrites the users avatar.
So yes, I definitley think this is the correct behavior...
Sorry D@ve I don't want to appear polemic at all.
But it seems more an adaptation of the admin behavior to how the actual board acts
To me that doesn't appear as a logical behavior of the board. In fact the same aim could be achieved if it was present an option to activate or not the overwriting of the user avatar by the group one but just in case of need
, as well as in the situation you just exposed, but not always. So for the rest IMHO they must act independently to have a more elastic board.
I remember what says our law apropos of the right of the user to access, modify/update, and completely delete
his data from a certain service that is pretty different from transfer user data from the "registered user group" to "deleted user group". It is not the same thing. Transferring his/her data from a group to another is some kind of "enlarged interpretation" of the law... I could almost say a form of "cheating" of the law itself. A different thing is the creation of a list of banned usernames or emails addresses or ip addresses: for this evenience phpbb board has a specific workaround.
Of course I'm not a lawyer so it is just my humble opinion.