peopleopinion
Posted:
Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:34 pm
Rating:
New
peopleopinion

Move Layouts blocks with mouse

Post by peopleopinion » Fri Dec 06, 2013 8:34 pm

As everyone knows phpbb has a layout that is not very flexible. For example, if the admin wants to move the login block that is in the bottom of the page, after all forum list, he must edit HTML template code.
This fact makes phpbb a "board for html experts".

So what about to add a new feature that allows to move blocks of the web site with just a mouse drag and drop or something similar to what happens for ordering categories and forum in forum management pannel?

At the following page http://jqueryui.com/sortable/ it is possible to see what I mean: as you can see drag n drop for frontend is very simple to implement using jquery.

For the backend, I'm not a programmer expert, but maybe the solution would be to have a template file that ("layout.html"?) that uses a list of <!-- INCLUDE filename.html --> properly connected to frontend: when the block is moved using the frontend UI, the function reorders the list of includes to match it in the layout file.

In this way will be very easy to modify disposition of blocks. And will be easy to create a new block of code (a new file will contain it) and include it in the right position into the general layout because it will be done almost all visually with a UI instead copying and pasting block of codes from a template file to another.

For example if someone want to change the position of login fields block that usually is at the bottom of the page, the admin has just to move the block up and down, where he want to appear in the new layout.
So If some admin want to add a new block for advertising it will be very easy its repositioning in case of need, without accessing / editing a line of original code.
This IMHO will make implementations of certain mods or updates more easy to do.

----------

View idea at: Move Layouts blocks with mouse

Posted by peopleopinion