Page 1 of 1

looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:45 pm
by DWFII
I'm looking for a bbcode that will let me select a block of text...a paragraph, for instance...and indent it from, ideally, both margins.

I know this must be possible because other php based boards offer this facility--there's always a button/icon on the toolbar for both increasing and decreasing indent.

I have finally gotten the hang of the standard indent code but every time you hit enter the indenting disappears.

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:07 pm
by Brf
Like a quote?
this is indented

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:22 pm
by DWFII
Brf wrote:Like a quote?
this is indented
Yes, but without the quotation marks and without the background colour change.

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 2:34 pm
by Brf
You could try using

Code: Select all

<blockquote><div>{TEXT}</div></blockquote>
or

Code: Select all

<blockquote>{TEXT}</blockquote>

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 3:03 pm
by DWFII
Brf wrote:You could try using

Code: Select all

<blockquote><div>{TEXT}</div></blockquote>
or

Code: Select all

<blockquote>{TEXT}</blockquote>

Will that get rid of the quotation marks?

What does the <div> do?

And what is the html reference code, for either/both, if I want to add these to my bbcode?

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:28 pm
by DWFII
The <blockquote> code doesn't work, or I don't understand it. At least not in my localhost test forum. Plus searching on the 'Net, it seems to add the quotes.

It's kind of sad...I can indent blocks of text in my email program (TBird), in nearly any word processor and in a lot of php based forums such as vBulletin. I know it can be implemented in phpBB because the Advanced BBCode Mod offers it. I guess I could install the mod but I am told it writes to files and I don't want any kind of hassle when the next upgrade comes down the pike. Plus the mod has way more stuff than I need.

I don't know why the default board won't support something like what Advanced BBCode is doing as an addon bbcode in the APC.

??Thoughts?

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:45 pm
by 5hocK
Using this:
BBCode usage

Code: Select all

[indent]{TEXT}[/indent]
HTML replacement

Code: Select all

<div style="margin-left: 3em;">
{TEXT}
</div>
Help line

Code: Select all

[indent]Your text here[/indent]
Will give you this: http://www.headnog.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:49 pm
by Mick
Does indent do what you want?

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:06 pm
by DWFII
5hocK wrote:Using this:
BBCode usage

Code: Select all

[indent]{TEXT}[/indent]
HTML replacement

Code: Select all

<div style="margin-left: 3em;">
{TEXT}
</div>
Help line

Code: Select all

[indent]Your text here[/indent]
Will give you this: http://www.headnog.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5
I think that works ...haven't tried it yet but the example provided looks like just the ticket,

Thanks.

Re: looking for indent

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:11 pm
by DWFII
5hocK wrote:Using this:
BBCode usage

Code: Select all

[indent]{TEXT}[/indent]
HTML replacement

Code: Select all

<div style="margin-left: 3em;">
{TEXT}
</div>
Help line

Code: Select all

[indent]Your text here[/indent]
Will give you this: http://www.headnog.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=5
Yes!! it did work! Thank you, thank you...I knew I could count on you guys!