Clickable phone number in the post

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.
Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:27 pm

hello to all, hello to all
I'm trying to figure out how to make a phone written in the post, clickable from mobile phone. I found the html formula, but in bbcode it doesn't work and I don't understand how to convert it.
somebody knows how to do it?
Thank you

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12974
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by david63 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:33 pm

It will ,not be that simple because you will need to use a mobile phone gateway to connect to the phone number and therein lies the problems - most gateways are country specific and the last time that I looked there were no free ones
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:14 pm

sorry, but I can't understand why html is so easy
<href= "tel: 000000000?>00000000000</a>
and in bbcode, is it not possible to implement it?

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12974
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by david63 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:24 pm

You can wrap a phone number in any bbcode that you want without any problem - it is making it do something when it is wrapped in the bbcode that is the problem with many bbcodes.

Just because you are using a phone to access a phpBB board does not mean that you have direct access to your phone's mobile service. When you click on a link on a board that is dealt with on the server where the board resides - using your phone is only a means of accessing the server. So in this case the server has to route the phone number through to a mobile phone service ( a gateway) and then it can call the number.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:31 pm

ok, summing up, it is not possible to insert the phone in a post so that it can be clicked, exactly as you do in other sites (for example wordpress) simply by putting <href= "tel: 00000000000? >00000000000</a>?
Thank you

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12974
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by david63 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:52 pm

Harrison76 wrote:
Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:31 pm
ok, summing up, it is not possible to insert the phone in a post so that it can be clicked, exactly as you do in other sites (for example wordpress) simply by putting <href= "tel: 00000000000? >00000000000</a>?
Thank you
I did not say it is not possible (all things are possible!) and you can certainly create <href= "tel: 00000000000? >00000000000</a> with a bbcode but, as I keep saying, it will not be able to call that number - for that you will need some extra code.

I have no idea what other sites do or how they achieve it but I doubt for one minute that it is as simple as you would like to think that it is.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18021
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Mick » Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:26 pm

I just tried, in the test forum here, typing my full mobile number (UK) and a CA landline number I use in a post with country code and clicking either returns a pop up that gives me the option to call the number using iPhone. Without any BBCodes or editing HTML.

Is that what you’re asking?

Edit: It even does it if I post my mobile phone number without country code - in this country.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:13 pm

sorry, but in what format do you insert it? do you show me?
If you look at my site, the first number in the top left-hand corner is clickable
https://www.sitiweb.re/
I want such a thing but to be included in some posts on the forum

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18021
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Mick » Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:49 am

I just typed it as is, as plain text, an example like +44 123 456 7890 works for me.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:03 am

Do you give me an example? If I enter your number in a post, it is not clickable. Maybe it takes an addons?

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18021
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Mick » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:12 am

Mick wrote:
Fri Oct 06, 2017 9:49 am
I just typed it as is, as plain text, an example like +44 123 456 7890 works for me.
Try it here viewtopic.php?f=26&t=2441606

D7F7D999-65D6-4822-8C1D-1894EC98990C.png
And it also works on my test board which has no special coding.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:30 am

is not clickable, but the mobile phone recognizes it and automatically selects it... better than nothing
other solutions to do it like my site do not exist therefore?

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18021
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Mick » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:40 am

If the phone sees it when you click it then it must be clickable. Are you saying the one in the test forum doesn’t work for you?

Be aware, you have to try this using a phone or pad.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Harrison76
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:25 am

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Harrison76 » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:12 pm

Yes, I tried it, but it is not clickable as on my site... the phone recognizes it and then you select it, but it is not said that it works with all phones

on my website, www.sitiweb.re is not selected anything but simply clicking on the number will prepare you to call it.
Have you tried the difference with my site? first number in the top left-hand corner.

User avatar
Mick
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 18021
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:49 am
Location: Cardiff

Re: Clickable phone number in the post

Post by Mick » Fri Oct 06, 2017 1:16 pm

Your site does exactly the same thing on my pad, pop up with call options. I think if this isn’t helping you you could make an extension request.
"The more connected we get the more alone we become" - Kyle Broflovski

There are no ‘threads’ in phpBB, they are topics.
Forza Garibaldi

Post Reply

Return to “Custom BBCode Development and Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron