tables too large?

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.
Post Reply
User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: tables too large?

Post by JoshyPHP » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:24 pm

There's a default limit to any BBCode that's set to 1000 or 5000 depending on your version. You can set a different limit in the BBCode definition, e.g.

Code: Select all

[td $tagLimit=10000]{TEXT}[/td]
I wrote the thing that does the BBCodes in 3.2. Unless it broke yours, in which case it was somebody else with a similar name.

User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: tables too large?

Post by JoshyPHP » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:30 pm

I don't know. You can try installing this extension and test it again in a new post. Always test markup-related things in a new post.
I wrote the thing that does the BBCodes in 3.2. Unless it broke yours, in which case it was somebody else with a similar name.

User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: tables too large?

Post by JoshyPHP » Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:24 am

Can you post a dump of your phpbb_bbcodes table and a copy of the original post's text? (in plain text form, something to be copy/pasted into the editor) I'd like to see if I can reproduce that behaviour locally. With $tagConfig['tagLimit'] being that high, there's no way it could ever be reached. The only explanation that comes to mind would be some kind of PHP bug, but that would be very surprising.
I wrote the thing that does the BBCodes in 3.2. Unless it broke yours, in which case it was somebody else with a similar name.

User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: tables too large?

Post by JoshyPHP » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:47 pm

I see that you edited your first post to include the SQL dump but I can't find the plain text content of the post. You can use a service like Pastebin, or GitHub's Gist if it's too big.

Actually nevermind, I found why it still ignores some of your BBCodes. Update the "nolimits" extension and you should be able to post those huge tables.
I wrote the thing that does the BBCodes in 3.2. Unless it broke yours, in which case it was somebody else with a similar name.

User avatar
JoshyPHP
Code Contributor
Posts: 833
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:28 am

Re: tables too large?

Post by JoshyPHP » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:03 am

I don't know much about conversion. Recently I learned that the recommended procedure is to disable extensions before upgrading. Unfortunately, that means that any post that uses an extension will be converted incorrectly. Personally, I'd try upgrading a local copy with the extension enabled and see if it works.

Alternatively, you can upgrade using the recommended way then use the CLI reparser after you've re-enabled all the extensions you need.
I wrote the thing that does the BBCodes in 3.2. Unless it broke yours, in which case it was somebody else with a similar name.

Post Reply

Return to “Custom BBCode Development and Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests