Making a div using column-count into a BBCode? | SOLVED

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.
Post Reply
niftysmith
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:24 pm

Making a div using column-count into a BBCode? | SOLVED

Post by niftysmith »

I've seen this elsewhere on other phpBB forums:

[columns=3]text text text[/columns] and it creates a dynamic 3-column text block.

I've gone ahead and made the code:

Code: Select all

[columns={NUMBER}]{TEXT}[/columns]
Which calls up this:

Code: Select all

<div style="width:100%; margin:0px auto; -webkit-column-count: {NUMBER}; -moz-column-count: {NUMBER}; column-count: {NUMBER};">{TEXT}</div>
But when I actually attempt to implement it in my posts, it doesn't work. Now, I'm a web designer and am very new to BBCode but not new to HTML/CSS. I"m not sure what I'm doing wrong here, as all my logic says that the three-column (or however many columns I want!) text block should show up.

Can anyone tell me what I'm missing?

When I use it in a post, it doesn't render.
Last edited by niftysmith on Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
niftysmith
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: Making a div using column-count into a BBCode?

Post by niftysmith »

Okay, the strangest thing is this: When I preview my post using the code above, it works. When I post it, it doesn't.

So the previewed post shows three columns, but the posted content just shows [columns=3]text text text[/columns]. This seems like a deeper issue, perhaps with my style? Or something else?
niftysmith
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: Making a div using column-count into a BBCode?

Post by niftysmith »

Nevermind. Fixed.

Topic unnecessary now that I've fiddled while waiting.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 69224
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Making a div using column-count into a BBCode? | SOLVED

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

care to explain what the problem was and how you fixed it? just for the benefit of others that have the same or similar problem.


rob ert
Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

I am pleased to announce that I have completed the first item on my bucket list. I have the bucket.
niftysmith
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: Making a div using column-count into a BBCode? | SOLVED

Post by niftysmith »

I had to clear my cache. ;)
Post Reply

Return to “Custom BBCode Development and Requests”