Custom BBCodes [Deprecated]

Get help developing custom BBCodes or request one.
User avatar
Noxwizard
Support Team Leader
Support Team Leader
Posts: 10344
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:41 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Name: Patrick Webster
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Noxwizard » Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:05 am

The shortened version is too different from the standard form to catch both.
youtu.be/{SIMPLETEXT}
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={SIMPLETEXT}

You can catch most of it, but the watch?v= can't really be dealt with since we don't have a mechanism for optional strings.
[Support Template] - [Read Before Posting] - [phpBB Knowledge Base]
Do not contact me for private support, please share the question in our forums.

MadTaffy
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 9:59 pm

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by MadTaffy » Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:08 pm

Thanks Noxwizard for the reply,

So the answer is basically there isn't anything i can do about it to make it pick up both strings :(

Would changing it so just the video tag is used i.e [youtube]=XPEXet7hHFk[/youtube] fix the problem, although i guess it would effect all the videos already posted using the full URL? or would it make no difference, sorry my coding abilities is very limited :?

Just trying to think of other options, would changing the code to use just the new domain work? again this would effect all previous videos posted i guess .....yes?

Anyone got any ideas on a solution? even if its a compromise, thing is all future youtube videos will use this new "share" URL so i need to do something to accommodate it, if it comes to it and i have to go and edit all the previous vids posted on site then so be it, even though there are 100+ ....I'd rather not obviously!

HELP.....!!! plz :D

Edit:

I just tried this but didn't work :? just shows up a transparent box, i.e you can see there is a box there but no video,

Code: Select all

[youtube]http://youtu.be/{SIMPLETEXT}[/youtube]

<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://youtu.be/{SIMPLETEXT}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://youtu.be/{SIMPLETEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>

CarolC1
Registered User
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:26 pm

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by CarolC1 » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:48 pm

Is there a bbcode to show a chipin widget in a post?

Code: Select all

<object width="250" height="250"><param name="movie" value="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/791654ff99e83ecc"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><orkparam name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/791654ff99e83ecc" flashVars="" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent" width="250" height="250"></embed></object>
Thanks.

CarolC1
Registered User
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:26 pm

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by CarolC1 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 1:49 am

I had no trouble installing the Youtube BBcode and getting it to work, I don't see why this doesn't.

Look how similar the Youtube and ChipIn code is, and I am using {SIMPLETEXT} in place of 791654ff99e83ecc.

Code: Select all

<object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" 
value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}"></param><param 
name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed 
src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}" 
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" 
width="425" height="350"></embed></object>

<object width="250" height="250"><param name="movie" 
value="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/791654ff99e83ecc"></param><param 
name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><orkparam name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed 
src="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/791654ff99e83ecc" flashVars="" 
type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent" 
width="250" height="250"></embed></object>
Any ideas on how to adjust this code to make it work?

Thanks

redsy1234
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 8:12 am

one off video bbcode not youtube

Post by redsy1234 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 8:41 pm

I am looking to embed a video, not you tube and has the following code. What is the best way to do this if as it is a one off video from the Which site?

Code: Select all

<object width="486" height="322"><param name="movie" value="http://www.which.co.uk/static/flash/video/brightcove/videocontainer.swf"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><param name="flashvars" value="videoID=105094115001"><embed src="http://www.which.co.uk/static/flash/video/brightcove/videocontainer.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="486" height="322" flashvars="videoID=105094115001"></embed></object>

Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: ChipIn BBCode

Post by Pony99CA » Thu Apr 14, 2011 9:40 pm

CarolC1 wrote:I had no trouble installing the Youtube BBcode and getting it to work, I don't see why this doesn't.

Look how similar the Youtube and ChipIn code is, and I am using {SIMPLETEXT} in place of 791654ff99e83ecc.

Any ideas on how to adjust this code to make it work?
You mean like on my SV PPC Test board? :D

First, did you replace both ID numbers in the HTML?

Second, you should probably use {IDENTIFIER} instead of {SIMPLETEXT}. That might not matter, but it's a good idea to always use the simplest possible replacement string.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.

CarolC1
Registered User
Posts: 565
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:26 pm

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by CarolC1 » Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:52 pm

Thanks, Steve. :D I see the chipin for your daughter's education! :lol: I think the problem was, on the ChipIn widget page, they offer you code for MySpace, TypePad, Widgetbox, Blogger, hi5, blogigo, Frappr, Friendster, Google, myYearbook, Netvibes, Piczo, TagWorld, WordPress, Xanga, or Other. I kept trying to use the code for "Other". It is working now with code for "WordPress".

Full URL:

Code: Select all

http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/791654ff99e83ecc

Code: Select all

[ChipIn]http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/{IDENTIFIER}[/ChipIn]

Code: Select all

<embed src="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/{IDENTIFIER}" flashVars="" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent" width="250" height="250"></embed>
ID only:

Code: Select all

[chipin]791654ff99e83ecc[/chipin]

Code: Select all

[ChipIn]{IDENTIFIER}[/ChipIn]

Code: Select all

<embed src="http://widget.chipin.com/widget/id/{IDENTIFIER}" flashVars="" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowScriptAccess="always" wmode="transparent" width="250" height="250"></embed>
I think this ChipIn button may generate questions on the board because users are likely to copy and paste the URL from the address bar (which is different)

Code: Select all

http://www.chipin.com/mywidgets/id/791654ff99e83ecc
rather than the URL inside the html in the "Copy This Code" box. If you know a way to adjust the code to allow for this probable user error, please let me know. Otherwise I'm going with "ID Only" and explain in the Help Line Text (and do a tutorial post with screenshots).

Also, it rejects the exclamation mark. The proper name on the button would be "ChipIn!" if you know any way around that. (no biggie)

Code: Select all

[ChipIn!]{IDENTIFIER}[/ChipIn!]
I am using your IDENTIFIER suggestion.

Thank you very much! :D

slamerz
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:08 pm

Marquee

Post by slamerz » Thu Apr 21, 2011 2:10 pm

idk if this has been done yet but I made a code to do marquee's in posts, and i'm sure it could be altered to be more customizable but here is a simple version for anyone who wants it.

bbCODE:

Code: Select all

[scrolling bgcolor="{COLOR}"]{TEXT}[/scrolling]
HTML Replacement:

Code: Select all

<marquee bgcolor="#{COLOR}" onMouseOver="this.stop()" onMouseOut="this.start()" loop="-1" scrollamount="2" width="100%">{TEXT}</marquee>

Pony99CA
Registered User
Posts: 4783
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 3:13 pm
Location: Hollister, CA
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Marquee

Post by Pony99CA » Thu Apr 21, 2011 8:57 pm

slamerz wrote:idk if this has been done yet
Then you should use the Search this topic… Search box at the top of the topic. There were over 30 posts dealing with MARQUEE in this topic alone.

Steve
Silicon Valley Pocket PC (http://www.svpocketpc.com)
Creator of manage_bots and spoof_user (ask me)
Need hosting for a small forum with full cPanel & MySQL access? Contact me or PM me.

Iphone4Noob
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:21 am

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Iphone4Noob » Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:42 am

Please help I cant get my bbcodes to work for youtube orany others i havent tried. heres what i am using

bbcode usage: [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={SIMPLETEXT}[/youtube]

html replacement: <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>

Please help me. my forum is at http://iphonecaptain.com/forum2

User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 2315
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by keith10456 » Fri Apr 22, 2011 2:04 pm

Iphone4Noob wrote:Please help I cant get my bbcodes to work for youtube orany others i havent tried. heres what i am using

bbcode usage: [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v={SIMPLETEXT}[/youtube]

html replacement: <object width="425" height="350"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/{SIMPLETEXT}" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"></embed></object>

Please help me. my forum is at http://iphonecaptain.com/forum2
See this page: http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/adding- ... in-phpbb3/

sifaka888
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:34 pm

youtube bb code tags not sufficient

Post by sifaka888 » Sat Apr 23, 2011 8:41 pm

I created bb code for allowing youtube posts of the nature
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1G7TJD6Xu0
and it works,

but when you try to insert a url of the nature

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmYAwZ-V ... ure=relmfu

it won't work.
I think the problem is that the end of the type "&feature=relmfu" is added onto some (of the newer)? youtube video urls.

How can I accommodate youtube urls with added suffixes like "&feature=relmfu"?

Thanks in advance
Matt

User avatar
tbackoff
Former Team Member
Posts: 7022
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:41 am
Location: cheerleading practice
Name: Tabitha Backoff

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by tbackoff » Sat Apr 23, 2011 9:02 pm

What settings are you using?
Flying is the second best thrill to cheerleaders; being caught is the first.

Richazey
Registered User
Posts: 823
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:03 pm

Re: Custom BBCodes

Post by Richazey » Sun Apr 24, 2011 10:20 pm

While on the subject of video type bbcodes, i'm trying to get a BBCode for footytube, this is the embed code you can get per video

Code: Select all

<object width="480" height="295"><param name="movie" value="http://www.footytube.com/v/ODAxMDQ="></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.footytube.com/v/ODAxMDQ=" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="295"></embed></object>
So far not had much luck in making it work as a BBCode anoyne got any tips please.

Site is here if you want to look direct: http://www.footytube.com/video/manchest ... ov_vidgrid

bopjo1
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:26 pm

BBCODE for popup window links?

Post by bopjo1 » Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Hi all,

My client is demanding links that generate popup windows in his forums when clicked. Ugh! Not every link, just those the users choose to make a popup, so I need BBCODE to enable this feature.

Does anyone know how to implement this in phpBB3?

Locked

Return to “Custom BBCode Development and Requests”