[CDB] mChat

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
User avatar
evilpeppard
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Denver, CO USA

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by evilpeppard » Thu Apr 07, 2016 8:36 pm

dmzx wrote:
kasimi wrote:Yeah, that's a bug that was introduced in RC5.
  • Open /ext/dmzx/mchat/core/mchat.php
  • Find $row['post_visibility'] !== ITEM_APPROVED
  • Replace with $row['post_visibility'] != ITEM_APPROVED
Thanks for testing!
Download updated.
Thanks!
"My actions are not revenge...they are punishment..."

vorthax337
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:42 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by vorthax337 » Thu Apr 07, 2016 10:28 pm

I've tried a fresh RC5 installation on PBTech style.

Issue with the style: "collapse-box" div should probably be moved the top level in mchat_body.
Also, I'm getting "noAccess" message on the index page (custom page seems to work properly).

User avatar
kasimi
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 3768
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:12 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by kasimi » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:31 pm

vorthax337 wrote:Issue with the style: "collapse-box" div should probably be moved the top level in mchat_body.
What is it exactly that's not working?
vorthax337 wrote:Also, I'm getting "noAccess" message on the index page (custom page seems to work properly).
Does this also happen with prosilver?
HPK wrote:poke
Answer to your PM: mChat works only with prosilver (and any style that inherits from prosilver) since RC3. Follow the steps below to get mChat to display with the Metro Blue style. It's worth to give it a shot for other styles too.
  • Copy both folders template and theme from /ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/prosilver to /ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/metro_blue.
  • Make sure you do not overwrite any files that already exist in the metro_blue folder.
  • Refresh the cache in the ACP.

User avatar
Rhino.Freak
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Rhino.Freak » Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:15 pm

Alright guys I updated after a long time on my local test forum to the latest 2.0.0 RC5 version.
Since it's been quite some time I don't have full confidence that I did the update procedure right so I'll state what I did here stepwise to update:
i. Disabled extension.
ii. Deleted extension data (via ACP).
iii. Emptied the folder of mchat in ext/vendor and replaced with the contents of new zip file.
iv. Enabled the extension.

And after this I see the view is a bit messed up? Pretty sure that's not how it is supposed to look.
Image

Help me out!

EDIT: a ctrl+F5 did the trick XD though I still want to know if my update procedure was correct even though it is sort of offtopic.

User avatar
evilpeppard
Registered User
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:05 pm
Location: Denver, CO USA

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by evilpeppard » Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:38 pm

Rhino.Freak wrote:Alright guys I updated after a long time on my local test forum to the latest 2.0.0 RC5 version.
Since it's been quite some time I don't have full confidence that I did the update procedure right so I'll state what I did here stepwise to update:
i. Disabled extension.
ii. Deleted extension data (via ACP).
iii. Emptied the folder of mchat in ext/vendor and replaced with the contents of new zip file.
iv. Enabled the extension.

And after this I see the view is a bit messed up? Pretty sure that's not how it is supposed to look.
Image

Help me out!

EDIT: a ctrl+F5 did the trick XD though I still want to know if my update procedure was correct even though it is sort of offtopic.
Yes, those are the correct steps for an initial update. From this point forward (after RC4), you shouldn't have to 'delete data'.
"My actions are not revenge...they are punishment..."

User avatar
Rhino.Freak
Registered User
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2015 8:32 am
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Rhino.Freak » Sat Apr 09, 2016 3:49 pm

thanks for the prompt reply bruh! :D

edrimon
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:20 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by edrimon » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:31 pm

After installing latest version it says: The requested URL /app.php/mchat was not found on this server.

edrimon
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 12:20 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by edrimon » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:33 pm

also in the index page, shows any empty box saying "no messages". When I enter a message, the sound can be listened, but nothing is entered in the actual chat box.

User avatar
boogi
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by boogi » Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:35 pm

OK, some more observations or maybe wishes ;)

1. I would like to quote myself on mChat.
2. Quoting changes some characters (e.g. +) to spaces, and sometimes removes too much spaces so {bbcode} :smilie: {bbcode} becomes {bbcode}:smilie:{bbcode} and smilie dies ;)
3. When user post a new message, and I'm reading posts written some time ago (in mchat page, not archive page), then page scrolls down. This is great for non-technical users that could lost orientation and will not notice that they should move scroll bar down. But I think, if there can be a tick or radio button to disable/enable auto-refreshing of mChat for a while (not an UCP option, but the one in live mchat page).
4. To have power to edit/delete messages on mChat, user has to have "Edit posts" permission for all forum. Can there be a way to give mChat moderation powers without giving forum moderation powers?

As I see it now, mChat is becoming as configurable as little forum itself. Many work has been put on it in last few months - thank you again for keeping up great work :)

Btw, just updated to rc5 on two forums (from rc2 with deleting data, and from rc3 without deleting data), tested it with some users, and it works like a charm. (both forum phpbb-3.1.8).

sakm
Registered User
Posts: 519
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: Hull, uk
Name: Stu
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by sakm » Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:43 pm

Number 4

you can do that in user permissions ;)

User avatar
boogi
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:38 pm

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by boogi » Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:00 pm

Yes but only for the post you have written. Not as a moderator to remove someones else post, if I'm not mistaken.

sakm
Registered User
Posts: 519
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: Hull, uk
Name: Stu
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by sakm » Sat Apr 09, 2016 10:45 pm

yeah you are right!!

chfs
Registered User
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:01 am

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by chfs » Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:27 pm

This extension will on Github? Thanks.
I'm sorry for my english. :?

User avatar
Dr.Death
QA Team
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:04 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Dr.Death » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:10 am

chfs wrote:This extension will on Github? Thanks.
--> https://github.com/dmzx/mChat-Extension
Doc.

Android [CODE]
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:54 am
Location: Buhi, Philippines
Name: Carl Lawrence Garcia
Contact:

Re: [RC] mChat

Post by Android [CODE] » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:04 am

Help!!
i successfully installed this on my official forum.
but not any of us can send messages on mchat.

when we press send nothing happens!
please help me..

phpbb version: 3.1.8
php version: 7.x

i installed all versions of mchat but se error.
even when i use custom styles
still the same.

I installed RC3 to RC5 but same errors
help!!!

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”