Page 97 of 98

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:25 pm
by sakm
kasimi

I have been following and using mChat for sometime now and I have to ask

Is there a reason that mChat is still in RC and not been submitted for release?

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:28 pm
by mrgtb
Does MCHAT work with phpBB 3.2 RC1 using PHP 7

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:51 pm
by kasimi
sakm wrote:Is there a reason that mChat is still in RC and not been submitted for release?
I submitted mChat for validation on 26 October, it's waiting in the queue.
mrgtb wrote:Does MCHAT work with phpBB 3.2 RC1 using PHP 7
I haven't tested PHP 7 but I haven't heard any complaints either.

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:54 pm
by sakm
Thats good to know cheers :)

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:20 pm
by Bogdan.
I installed mChat on my forum and it works on some styles i have.
But on the default one that i really need to work it doesnt.
I dont know why,i put the files in ext/dmz/....style/name of mine
And still doesnt work..

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:55 pm
by kasimi
What does doesn't work mean? What's the style's name? Does it inherit from prosilver? What's your phpBB version? Does your phpBB version match your style version?

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:41 am
by xde66604
Thank you so much.

I am using Canvas theme. Everyting is Ok but mobile size is blank. If you are write is going but you can not see it. Any id?

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:02 pm
by mrgtb
kasimi wrote:
sakm wrote:Is there a reason that mChat is still in RC and not been submitted for release?
I submitted mChat for validation on 26 October, it's waiting in the queue.
mrgtb wrote:Does MCHAT work with phpBB 3.2 RC1 using PHP 7
I haven't tested PHP 7 but I haven't heard any complaints either.
It works fine with PHP 7. I had MCHAT installed on a phpBB 3.2 demo board I setup running on PHP 7 and no errors at all from it.

Did you ever find a solution to the "input box" staying wide if you enter a long message and click the "submit button". As like you said before, if you don't press the submit button and instead use keyboard ENTER key the input box goes back to small original size. It only seems to happen when clicking the submit button. I played around with MCHAT CSS file for ProSilver trying to fix it but had no joy?

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:21 pm
by Galixte de EzCom
kasimi wrote:As far as I can see the Canvas style doesn't have the event index_body_markforums_before which mChat uses to display at the top.

Go to /ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/canvas/template/event, create an empty text file index_body_forumlist_body_before.html and add this code:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF MCHAT_INDEX and MCHAT_LOCATION --><!-- INCLUDE mchat_body.html --><!-- ENDIF --> 
Refresh your board cache.
This template event index_body_forumlist_body_before.html doesn’t exist in index_body.html in prosilver. Only the AFTER exists: https://wiki.phpbb.com/Event_List#index ... body_after.

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:29 pm
by kasimi
You are correct, prosilver doesn't have this event, but Canvas does, which is why the fix you quoted only works for Canvas. :)

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:31 pm
by Galixte de EzCom
Thanks for information. ;)

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:06 pm
by bitsss
the mChat is so powerfull, thank you very much for this extension.

the only thing i am missing is a "private chat" - a chat session with only 1 friend (the other users cannot join). it would be nice if i can invite a user.
for example at the forum index i click to the user XXX at "who is online"-line. the xxx user will get then a "invite-box-message".

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:24 pm
by eunaumtenhoid
xde66604 wrote:Thank you so much.

I am using Canvas theme. Everyting is Ok but mobile size is blank. If you are write is going but you can not see it. Any id?
i too how fix it?

Re: [RC] mChat

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2016 9:51 pm
by kasimi
  • Open ext/dmzx/mchat/styles/canvas/theme/mchat_custom.css
  • Add these lines at the bottom:

    Code: Select all

    @media only screen and (max-width: 700px), only screen and (max-device-width: 700px) {
    	#mchat-body {
    		overflow: auto;
    	}
    }
  • Save the file and refresh your board cache.

Re: [3.1+][RC] mChat

Posted: Sat Dec 03, 2016 2:20 pm
by Silverdrak
Hi there!

Probably it has been asked before but I didn't find something helpful through search, yet.

I just upgraded my forum from 3.0 to 3.1 and reinstalled the chat again. All fine. Well, some style issues because it wasn't made for the theme I use but that should be no problem. I'm web developer. Should be able to make things pretty.

My question is: Is there a way to show the chat on a custom position? Currently it can be placed above or below the forums, as far as I can see. I would need it beside the forums. ^^'
Well, I could move the events in the template but that doesn't seem clever to me, since other extentions/functions might use them as well.

In 3.0 I just pasted the code where I needed it to be. The chat(s) on my forum had always been in a sidebar (since phpBB2), so I'd like it to be there again. There are other extentions that I'd like to be in the sidebar as well.
Now I'm wondering how to do this best.

Thanks and regards,
Silvi

EDIT: Meanwhile I found a way to get things like I want them. Thanks.