[CDB] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 66486
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:20 pm

the contents of the zipped folder is a folder named david63 that is what you put in the ext folder.

hopefully all extensions will have this type of instructions when they are validated.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.2 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If a tree falls in the forest and nobody is there, does it make a sound?

Grandad
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:14 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Grandad » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:45 pm

Hi guys,

I am a bit :oops: - your right, it said clearly, upload all after unzip.

I got it working now. Sad to say, not on the style I use, DVGFX.
Maybe becourse that style don`t have logo it self ?

On my old forum, had had something called "proFormell" - maybe I need to ask for an update on that.

User avatar
wkuzma
Registered User
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:18 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by wkuzma » Thu Dec 11, 2014 10:50 pm

If your open to a suggestion
Can an upload button be added to upload a logo

Grandad
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:14 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Grandad » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:10 pm

wkuzma wrote:If your open to a suggestion
Can an upload button be added to upload a logo
I am all ears. But not sure I understand what you mean.

User avatar
advocatus
Registered User
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 11:58 am
Location: Ontario, Canada.
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by advocatus » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:29 pm

wkuzma means instead of having to link to the logo from your own site or another one, you can have the option of uploading the logo image file from your computer.
Hi, I'm advocatus and I own www.forumgames.in.

Grandad
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:14 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Grandad » Thu Dec 11, 2014 11:45 pm

hmmm, eehh, either I don`t understand what you guys mean, or you don`t understand me.

I was succesfull installing sitelogo from David63 on prosilver. It worked fine with my own logo uploaded.
But it didden`t help me, becourse, it didden`t work on my forum style DVGFX.

User avatar
Allen142
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 2:13 am
Location: Sugar Land, TX, USA
Name: Allen Nguyen

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Allen142 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:30 am

HiFiKabin wrote:so the correct directory path is root/ext/david63/sitelogo/
Right.
No sign of a forum I owned.

Thank you,
Allen

Anonymous_et_EE
Registered User
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 2:27 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Anonymous_et_EE » Fri Dec 12, 2014 6:19 am

"PR" Estonian translation, 12/12/2014

User avatar
wkuzma
Registered User
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:18 pm
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by wkuzma » Fri Dec 12, 2014 7:38 am

Grandad wrote:hmmm, eehh, either I don`t understand what you guys mean, or you don`t understand me.

I was succesfull installing sitelogo from David63 on prosilver. It worked fine with my own logo uploaded.
But it didden`t help me, becourse, it didden`t work on my forum style DVGFX.
What I meant was if I had a logo file on my computer and wished to install it on the site
I would have to ftp it to my web site and then call it from your program telling it were the file was.
It would be easier if you had an upload function that loads the file directly rather then me having to ftp it.
It will mean some work on your part - having your extension make a directory to keep the file then automaticly filling in the location in your extension so it will show. If its too much trouble I can live with the ftp means of doing it.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16328
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 7:48 am

wkuzma wrote:What I meant was if I had a logo file on my computer and wished to install it on the site
I would have to ftp it to my web site and then call it from your program telling it were the file was.
It would be easier if you had an upload function that loads the file directly rather then me having to ftp it.
It will mean some work on your part - having your extension make a directory to keep the file then automaticly filling in the location in your extension so it will show. If its too much trouble I can live with the ftp means of doing it.
The main issue I have with adding an upload option is that with the majority of sites it would only be used once as logos do not normally change, or if they do then it is somewhat infrequently.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Holger
Registered User
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Hannover

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Holger » Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:57 am

david63 wrote:
Holger wrote:It would be great if it would contain an option to deactivate
yourdomain.com
A short text to describe your forum

Some logos contain this information.
Done - download new version
Holger wrote:Swedish translation
Thanks - but can you update please
VERY cool! Updated.

Holger
Registered User
Posts: 1748
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: Hannover

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Holger » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:25 am

One thing: the text is also hidden in the browser tab, that should remain. Is that possible?

Grandad
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:14 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by Grandad » Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:24 am

Grandad wrote:hmmm, eehh, either I don`t understand what you guys mean, or you don`t understand me.

I was succesfull installing sitelogo from David63 on prosilver. It worked fine with my own logo uploaded.
But it didden`t help me, becourse, it didden`t work on my forum style DVGFX.
Problem solved.
I changed style from DVGFX to proDVGFX - and sitelogo from David63 now work.

User avatar
nuxtovios
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 6:06 pm

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by nuxtovios » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:21 am

Wouldn't it be great if you could set rotation time so logo changes if its day or night? or if you could set it so it could change automatically depended of the season (winter summer etc)

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16328
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [BETA] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:59 am

Holger wrote:One thing: the text is also hidden in the browser tab, that should remain. Is that possible?
I was aware of that - it is also used in a couple of other places. I am looking at ways round it but at the moment, short of editing core files, I cannot see a solution.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”