[CDB] Google Search

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
User avatar
yasser33311
Registered User
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 1:27 pm
Location: algeria
Name: yasser ghe
Contact:

Re: Rc6

Post by yasser33311 »

HiFiKabin wrote:
You have selected Overlay in the Custom Google Search Settings

Image

You have to set the search settings to show the results in the way you prefer.
oh :oops: thank you
PhpBB Services - install, update, upgrade, customize: PM

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: Rc6

Post by HiFiKabin »

yasser33311 wrote:
oh :oops: thank you

No Problem. The Custom Google Search settings are a bit of a nightmare to navigate in my opinion. Too many options, and it isn't always obvious where the setting you want is.

v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by v12mike »

I have added this extension to an installation running we_universal style, which does't have a search box in the header. I don't get a Google search box in the header (when configured), I guess this is related...

Can someone give me a clue as to how to (cleanly) modify the style to get both search boxes in the header?

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

DELETED

It didn't work, I'll have a play and post later

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

OK, its taken a little work, but I have finally got something that works and looks good.

**EDIT**

See viewtopic.php?p=14138916#p14138916
Last edited by HiFiKabin on Sat Jul 11, 2015 11:35 am, edited 3 times in total.

v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by v12mike »

Wow! I am impressed with your response.

It looks great.

Can you incorporate that into your extension? Will the style file always need manually editing?

I note that the search boxes do not show on the mobile version of the forum, is that expected?

Thank you.

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

The search does not appear on the mobile version as it would overload the screen. The same happens on the default prosilver search.

EDITED:- Extension Download added 2 next post

Glad you like it.
Last edited by HiFiKabin on Sat Jul 11, 2015 11:34 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

v12mike wrote:Wow! I am impressed with your response.

It looks great.

Can you incorporate that into your extension? Will the style file always need manually editing?

I note that the search boxes do not show on the mobile version of the forum, is that expected?

Thank you.
OK, a morning spent swearing at (I mean examining) your style, and I have an extension for you.

Download this extension

disable googlesearch in the ACP and delete ALL of the files. replacing them with those in the zip.

Upload the un edited overall_header.html previously saved overwriting the edited one, and purge the cache

Enable Google Search in the ACP

The full screen has both searches, the mobile just the google. You still have control over whether you use the custom or 'normal' search. The position switch will still show in the configuration page, but it has no effect. The search will only show in the positions shown in the screenshots. It is released at 2.0.0 and has no update checker so as to avoid any future problems.

AS FAR AS I KNOW THIS EXT WILL ONLY LOOK CORRECT IN WE_UNIVERSAL

Image
image post

Image
image post

v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by v12mike »

That header looks perfect! Thank you again.

I tried configuring Google Custom Search, and the results page comes up, but there are no results shown. Can you check that this is OK for you?

My test forum is: http://www.xantiav6.co.uk:8808/forum/index.php

[edit] It is actually working OK EXCEPT in Opera browser!

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

Its perfect in FireFox and Internet Exploder, so it has to be a Chrome issue. Does the non custom search work OK?

Try one of the different options on how Google displays the search results. The overlay in particular might be a workable option.

v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by v12mike »

I found the issue: Google Custom Search does not work if you have an ad-blocker that blocks "Google AJAX Search API". This should probably be mentioned in your configuration notes.

Also (minor point) it would be better to change the prompt "Code" in the extension configuaration panel to "Search Engine ID" to match what Google calls it.

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

v12mike wrote:I found the issue: Google Custom Search does not work if you have an ad-blocker that blocks "Google AJAX Search API". This should probably be mentioned in your configuration notes.
Thanks for finding that out. I'll add it to the topic
v12mike wrote:Also (minor point) it would be better to change the prompt "Code" in the extension configuration panel to "Search Engine ID" to match what Google calls it.
Good idea :oops: I didn't think of doing it that way

v12mike
Registered User
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by v12mike »

Can you detect that Google Custom Search has not returned any results (in the case that Google AJAX Search API is blocked) and display a helpful message to the user?

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

I am not sure, but I will look into it and see if there is a simple way

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4666
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC] Google Search

Post by HiFiKabin »

2.0.0_rc7 now available.

Custom Google search displays error message is JavaScript disabled or Google blacklisted

Update from previous version:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Disable Google Search in the ACP
  • Delete googlesearch folder from the server
  • Upload the the folder hifikabin to root/ext/
  • Enable it in the ACP
Image
image post

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”