[CDB] Amazon Affiliate

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
..777..
Registered User
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by ..777.. » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:49 pm

HiFiKabin wrote:
..777.. wrote:Hi there, I just installed this and when I post an amazon link, it leaves the spot totally blank. No Amazon link, nothing. So then I disabled it and its still doing the same thing if I try and post a link. Not sure what else to do. :(
The extension doesn't do anything to the link you post, so I have no idea why the amazon link is not showing.

A link to a relevant post please
But the post is completely blank, there is nothing to show. :(


Any kind of Amazon link gets completely wiped out, I can post any other kind of link.

..777..
Registered User
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by ..777.. » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:52 pm

Ok if I post this it will not show up:

http://www.amazon.com/Carlson-Laborator ... B0090QNC8M

If I post this it will show up, but its not attaching the affiliate ID:

http://www.amazon.com/Carlson-Laborator ... B0090QNC8M

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4001
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by HiFiKabin » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:56 pm

It doesn't actually attach the affiliate code, but adds in 'on mouseover' and 'on click'

..777..
Registered User
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by ..777.. » Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:03 pm

HiFiKabin wrote:It doesn't actually attach the affiliate code, but adds in 'on mouseover' and 'on click'
I do not see it on mouseover either.

Ok, here is what I just posted to the site:

Code: Select all

1
http://www.amazon.com/Carlson-Laboratories-Super-4000IU-Supplement/dp/B0090QNC8M

2
www.amazon.com/Carlson-Laboratories-Super-4000IU-Supplement/dp/B0090QNC8M

3
amazon.com/Carlson-Laboratories-Super-4000IU-Supplement/dp/B0090QNC8M

At the very bottom of this first post you can see this:
Last edited by ..777.. on Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4001
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by HiFiKabin » Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:11 pm

The affiliate id is not being added when I access your site but its adding it on my test forum, both with and without http://

It will not work without a suitable prefix (http:// or www)

Image
image post

Something on your site must be blocking it.

..777..
Registered User
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by ..777.. » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:02 pm

s9e/mediaembed extension is somehow conflicting with it. I disable it, and now the URL's show up correctly. However, I am still not getting a referral in the popup.

Nully
Registered User
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by Nully » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:27 pm

Hello, I found the problem, you have to find the solution :D

I removed bbcode Amazon, I installed again your extension, I cleared cache on server...nothing changed.
Reading post by ..777.. I deactivated s9e/mediaembed extension and my ID tag appeared. :)

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4001
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by HiFiKabin » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:34 pm

Ahhh, thanks for that. I knew that there had to be a conflict somewhere but without knowing your configuration it was not going to be easy to find. I don't know if there is a solution or not.

I'll add it to 'known conflicts'

Nully
Registered User
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by Nully » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:38 pm

Now, you know and surely will find solution :D
Thanks to ..777..also.

..777..
Registered User
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2014 5:43 pm

Re: [RC5] Amazon Affiliate

Post by ..777.. » Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:16 pm

Nully wrote:Now, you know and surely will find solution :D
Thanks to ..777..also.
:D

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4001
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC6] Amazon Affiliate

Post by HiFiKabin » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:08 pm

1.0.0_rc6 Slight code tweaks. s9e/mediaembed users must read this

Update from previous version:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Disable Amazon Affiliate in the ACP
  • Delete amazonaffiliate folder from the server
  • Upload the the folder hifikabin to root/ext/ and enable it in the ACP
Last edited by HiFiKabin on Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nully
Registered User
Posts: 453
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 10:11 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [RC6] Amazon Affiliate

Post by Nully » Sun Aug 09, 2015 6:12 pm

Oh fine, you found the solution :D

Swanny
Registered User
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 2:11 am
Location: Canada

Re: [RC6] Amazon Affiliate

Post by Swanny » Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:24 pm

Thanks for the update. Someone should tell the s9e/media developer about this issue, maybe they can fix this known issue on their end... since it's their code that breaks this extension.

Swanny
Registered User
Posts: 444
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2002 2:11 am
Location: Canada

Re: [RC6] Amazon Affiliate

Post by Swanny » Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:29 am

I saw a smile.amazon.com link today, does it handle such URLs?: http://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00SFSQ1ZM

User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4001
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [RC6] Amazon Affiliate

Post by HiFiKabin » Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:45 am

Swanny wrote:Thanks for the update. Someone should tell the s9e/media developer about this issue, maybe they can fix this known issue on their end... since it's their code that breaks this extension.
It is not their responsibility to make their extension compatible with mine. (no more than its I have to make this extension compatible with theirs) The permeation of Extension combination conflicts would be astronomical.

However I have been in contact and been given a pointer that may help, but implementing it so that everything works in every combination may prove difficult.
Swanny wrote:I saw a smile.amazon.com link today, does it handle such URLs?: http://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00SFSQ1ZM
Just tried it, and yes it does

Image

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”