[CDB] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by javiexin » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:48 am

Yes, that's it. And the issue is with 13853 most probably.

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:31 pm

hi Javiexin,

no progress yet,
So, on another URL, I did a new clean install of PHBBB 3.1.10,
and installed and activated your extension (which went fine).

Exact the same message "Warning no entries defined" is appearing
when I try to install a multi selectable CPF.

Up to now I more or less "grabbed" the patch-files from Github
and with Filezilla I overwrote the original ones.

Just to elimate any mistakes in my actions there:
can/could I download those 8+3 files somewhere as zip-package?
Or could you send them via e-mail?

Thanks in advance for anything that might bring this to work.

Regards, Piotr

User avatar
Crusoeman
Registered User
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 10:46 pm

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by Crusoeman » Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:21 pm

In the last couple of days I have asked under [3.1.x] Support Forum ‘How do you add in a non pickable blank line on a drop down list?’ Here’s the topic.

viewtopic.php?f=466&t=2395226

I’ve explained:

Under 'Profile type specific options' you can only opt for one field to be non valid, not more. It's obvious in my example below that 'Choose' is non valid and that is what we have gone for. However if I put in a blank line or say '-----------', that line remains an option. Unless someone knows a way round this I think it's just something that we will have to live with. Should anyone try and register with '----------' as a country it should get picked up when they seek approval to join the forum.

e.g.
Choose
- - - - - - - < I want the blank line here for example to be a non valid option as well as Choose.
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Etc.

3.1.10 Prosilver

MohamedAG has now suggested that this extension is in development and maybe the author will be willing to add the feature to it. That’s why I am now re-posting the question here.

Tim

User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by javiexin » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:37 pm

piotr-linski wrote:Up to now I more or less "grabbed" the patch-files from Github
and with Filezilla I overwrote the original ones.
Not sure how you did this, but it sounds to me it is the wrong way to do it. You should NOT overwritte the 3.1.10 files, but PATCH them with the CHANGES that are specified in the PR.
piotr-linski wrote:Just to elimate any mistakes in my actions there:
can/could I download those 8+3 files somewhere as zip-package?
Or could you send them via e-mail?
No, they are not ready-made for 3.1.10. They were done for 3.1.6, but not after that. And there have been some changes to the files since then (not so many, but anyhow, needed).

I might create a new package, but it won't be immediately (probably, I will wait for 3.1.11, as there is a blocking issue in 3.1.10 that you know, that will be solved by then).

Regards,
-javiexin

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:55 am

hi Javiexin,

thanks for your clear replies. This brings me a step further.
I will follow your advice and not completely swap the 8+3 files
but remove/add the relevant lines in each file individually.
We'll see how that works out.
I will keep you posted.

Regards, Piotr

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Fri Dec 02, 2016 10:01 am

hi Javiexin,

Just to keep you posted:
I changed the 8+3 files by adding/removing the relevant lines.
Unfortunately that also did not make the difference.

So the issue is still occurring.

Because the multi-selectable field option is a significant improvement for the ACP-fields,
I am looking forward to the future implementation in 3.1.10 or 3.1.11.

Regards, Piotr

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Mon Dec 05, 2016 3:29 pm

hi Javiexin,

Just to keep you posted: some progress to be reported here.

On a different URL, I have installed PHPBB 3.1.6.
I installed your APF-pack and I did all the required changes for 3.1.6.

AND IT WORKS !!!

Next days to come I will try to do the same for next versions of PHPBB 3.1...
and see how far I will come.

One small question: ideally I would like to have each selectable item displayed on a seperate line,
instead of having several selectable items displayed next to each other in one line.

So I guess that somewhere in the files I have to add a <br> or something that gives the similar effect
(of a CR LF).

Regards, Piotr

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:21 pm

dear all,

now I am just wondering:
who has managed to get a working APF-pack with PHPBB 3.1.9?
or even with PHP 3.1.10?

Regards, Piotr

User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by javiexin » Mon Dec 05, 2016 6:40 pm

piotr-linski wrote:One small question: ideally I would like to have each selectable item displayed on a seperate line, instead of having several selectable items displayed next to each other in one line.

So I guess that somewhere in the files I have to add a <br> or something that gives the similar effect
(of a CR LF).
Not sure I get what you want:
Do you want to display in separate lines the way to ENTER the multiple fields (ie, in the UCP Profile page, or on Registration, or on the ACP), or do you want them to display in several lines where the information is PRESENTED (ie, viewtopic, memberlist, viewprofile...)?

The answer is very different. For the former (entering data), there is a template file that is used, that is in the extension's folder/advancedpf/styles/all/template/profilefields/multisel.html that may be adjusted, adding a <br/> if required.

But for the latter (presenting data), it is not so easy: it is hardcoded as a "comma-separated string of language dependent options", and it is coming out as a single string. If you want to change this behaviour for ALL multiselect CPFs (not possible to do it for one but not others), then it is possible as well, but you will need to edit a php file.
Open advancedpf/profilefields/type/type_multisel.php
Find

Code: Select all

$field_value_display .= ((empty($field_value_display)) ? '' : $this->user->lang['COMMA_SEPARATOR']) . $this->lang_helper->get($field_id, $lang_id, $field_value_item); 
Replace by

Code: Select all

$field_value_display .= ((empty($field_value_display)) ? '' : '<br/>' . $this->lang_helper->get($field_id, $lang_id, $field_value_item);
Hope this helps,
-javiexin

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:17 am

hi Javiexin,

Thanks for your reply,
I was focussing on displaying the information.

Just to let you know: After entering your proposed code, cleaning the cache, and trying to look at a profile, I get the folling message: Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ';' in /home/perspectum.nl/public_html/tukhut.be/nl316/ext/javiexin/advancedpf/profilefields/type/type_multisel.php on line 226.

If it is not too time consuming for you: any ideas to solve?

Regards, Piotr

User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by javiexin » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:06 am

Missing a closing bracket after <br/>, my fault, sorry.

The replacement code should look like this:

Code: Select all

$field_value_display .= ((empty($field_value_display)) ? '' : '<br/>') . $this->lang_helper->get($field_id, $lang_id, $field_value_item);
Try the above,
-javiexin

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:55 am

hi Javiexin,

Thanks for the extra bracket ;-)

By the way: In the meantime I managed to get PHPBB 3.1.7 running with your ACPF-pack and the related patches as well.

So now I guess it's time for me to make another attempt to get your ACPF-pack running on PHPBB 3.1.10.

Regards, Piotr

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Tue Dec 06, 2016 1:49 pm

hi Javiexin,

earlier today, I already have sent you a PM. Your extension APPF-pack runs flawlessly now with PHPBB 3.1.10. Great, thanks a lot !!!

Being able to make various profile fields now, I can prepare an extensive list with registration questions
that will be asked during registration for the AlumnEI-forum on http://www.alumnei.nl. That will allow all the future members to look & search for and find detailed knowledge and experience in the coaching and counseling area.

This brings me to a possible addition for the customer profile fields that is primarily meant to be used on the registration page.

It would be great to be able to define certain "labels", like:
contact info
-- profile field 1 ...................................
-- profile field 2 ...................................
-- profile field 3 ...................................
personal info
-- profile field 4 ...................................
-- profile field 5 ...................................
-- profile field 6 ...................................
work info
-- profile field 7 ...................................
-- profile field 8 ...................................
-- profile field 9 ...................................

Those labels don't need any other fields to be filled in (as they are only meant to act as "seperators")between various groups of profile fields. Ideally those labels should be a bit larger (or bolder) than the other profile fields. And they could be shifted up and down in the ACP-list like all the other (customer) profile fields.

What do you think?
Regards, Piotr

User avatar
javiexin
Code Contributor
Posts: 1157
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:46 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Name: Javier
Contact:

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by javiexin » Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:12 pm

If you want specific display options, as you are showing, probably the best thing would be to define the fields as "individual" and present your own form with your requirements. You may take a look at some of the examples in the contrib folder of the extension...

I might consider a profile field type label (no value attached) but that will have to wait...

Glad it finally worked for you,
-javiexin

PS: Disregard the comment above, it applys to displaying cpfs, but not to entering values. As I said, you will have to wait for the new type... Or try to create it yourself ;)

piotr-linski
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:22 am

Re: [3.1][DEV] Advanced Profile Fields Pack

Post by piotr-linski » Tue Dec 06, 2016 6:10 pm

hi Javiexin,

thanks for your suggestions.
Another possibility could be to create a label by:
-- creating a one line text profile field of say 80 columns,
-- giving this profilefield an initial value of for ex. ==================================================
-- and then "locking" this profile field so that it can't be changed by users.

Regards, Piotr

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”