[DEV] Puzzle

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Get Involved
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
noth
Registered User
Posts: 2487
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Location: North Surrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by noth »

Works great in prosilver

Black style inherits from prosilver so I thought this ext may work ok, it appears to do but when you press Mix (in Black) it doesn't mix the image, image sits there unchanged, no pieces appear

Exactly the same thing happens in Allan style subsilver so it seems to me this is a prosilver only ext - works great in prosilver!!

Actually I just found out that the issue above is due to being LOGGED OUT! the puzzle works fine in Black or Allan -Style subsilver provided you are LOGGED IN

I thought about permissions but a quick check and I can't find them HOWEVER should we give Guests that permission anyway ? I am unsure!
If this option is enabled, the puzzle pieces will be simply mixed, but not flipped.
I selected YES


and yet when seeing the puzzle a line of text says

"To start the puzzle, click the button Mix.

Hint: Please keep in mind, that the puzzle pieces can be flipped horizontally and vertically!"
pathfinderenterprises
Registered User
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: Bolton
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by pathfinderenterprises »

Is it possible for the pieces to 'Lock' together when correctly connected to another piece allowing them to be moved together?

Also is it possible to allow the pieces to be moved further away from the 'puzzle box' to make sorting them easier?
Last edited by pathfinderenterprises on Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Keith


If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
User avatar
donsenilo
Registered User
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:23 pm
Name: Markus
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by donsenilo »

But is it possible to add a button "Next Puzzle" and remove "Description:" if the description-field is empty ?

Where is the "PUZZLE_BACKLINK" ?

And can guests use the puzzle ?
Is this ext still in work ?
User avatar
dmzx
Registered User
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 6:48 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by dmzx »

yes still active.
Contact me on dmzx-web.net
 Need a Host or buy me a beer Donate and try binance.com
User avatar
noth
Registered User
Posts: 2487
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Location: North Surrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by noth »

I just checked a user for something else (board warning issued) and I saw this in the User Notes
Jay900 IP NO 18 Mar 2016 12:51 pm {LOG PLAYED PUZZLE}
Jay900
Jay900 IP NO 16 Feb 2016 08:13 pm {LOG PLAYED PUZZLE}
Jay900
Jay900 IP NO 14 Feb 2016 10:32 am {LOG PLAYED PUZZLE}
Jay900
:mrgreen: so even if your users say little about the puzzle .... you find, They're playing it!! :lol:
User avatar
LadyAnna
Registered User
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Sweden
Name: Anna Broman

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by LadyAnna »

Great idea, looking forward to seeing this fully functional.

As stated earlier setting the option "Simple mix" doesn't work, pieces are still flipped all possible ways.

I'd also like to see an option to click on to next puzzle, in case you don't fancy the current image, instead of refreshing the page and hoping for a better one (if possible even making the puzzles selectable from thumbnails).
User avatar
donsenilo
Registered User
Posts: 306
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:23 pm
Name: Markus
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by donsenilo »

Again ...

is it possible, that guests can use your ext ?
aeneas1
Registered User
Posts: 451
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:58 pm

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by aeneas1 »

really like this extension, it's very customizable, but just noticed a ton of "anonymous" users and "bots" in the user log with the following action description: dmz puzzle > anonymous (or bot) played dm puzzle... when i look up the ip address of these anonymous that are shown as playing the puzzle, i get digital ocean in new york city, at&t uverse in san francisco, cloudfare in oregon, google bot, Palo Alto Networks in texas, the list goes on and on.... in fact the only anonymous users that show up in my users log have the "played dm puzzle" in the action description, and there's a lot of them... so what's going here? is this something to woory about?
lobsterman
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 11:09 am

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by lobsterman »

seems im missing the icon
Home.png
Home.png (1.05 KiB) Viewed 196 times
and theres a space here for some reason phpbb 3.3
Screenshot_2020-06-10 vtarcade - DM Puzzle.png
Screenshot_2020-06-10 vtarcade - DM Puzzle.png (3.8 KiB) Viewed 195 times
User avatar
eunaumtenhoid
Registered User
Posts: 998
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:46 am
Location: ????

Re: [DEV] Puzzle

Post by eunaumtenhoid »

when someone finishes the puzzle is shown who finished first? it would be very interesting to see who is doing the fastest to be able to reward the fastest

it would be interesting to put levels and at each puzzle hit the user would go to others and score points to be able to make it like a mini championship on the site (forum)
My translations of the extensions for Brazilian Portuguese
https://github.com/phpBBTraducoes
Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”