[RC] Tables

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Post Reply
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

[RC] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

Extension Name: Tables

Author: Sniper_E

Extension Description: Inserts a table up to 7 columns, 10 rows in your post.
Completely style dependent to work in any dark or light style. Posting Buttons and ABBC3 ready!

Version: 2.1.4 for phpBB 3.3.*
Extension Download: Tables_2.1.4.zip

Version: 2.1.2 for phpBB 3.2.*
Extension Download: Tables_2.1.2.zip
Permissions added, 7 column selections with new table generator

Github: Github/Sniper-E/tables

Install:
  1. Download the latest release.
  2. Unzip contents from download, Copy files to server ext/sniper/tables/ directory.
  3. Navigate in the ACP to Customise -> Enable tables extension.
Update:
  1. Download the latest release.
  2. Disable tables extension, Delete data, Delete old version files from the server.
  3. Unzip contents from download, Copy new version files to the server.
  4. Navigate in the ACP to Customise -> Enable tables extension.
Uninstall:
  1. Navigate in the ACP to Customise -> Disable tables extension.
  2. To permanently uninstall, Delete Data, Delete the /ext/sniper/tables folder.
Enjoy!
Last edited by Sniper_E on Tue Dec 12, 2023 2:28 pm, edited 55 times in total.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 6673
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by HiFiKabin »

Looks very useful. I'll give it a test
User avatar
Mess
Registered User
Posts: 985
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:37 am
Name: Kim

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Mess »

nice, well done Sniper_E :D
User avatar
Miri4ever
Registered User
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Miri4ever »

The Codes are working nice with my stlye but I don't see anything how to post those tables inside my ABBC3 Posting Editor. I found this piece of code line inside your style:

Code: Select all

vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_before.html
But must this been put at a special location ? Because it won't show anything inside my posting editor how to insert those tables.
Homepage: Terra Oceanica

Extension Developments:
PHPBB Games Solitaire, MChat Poker, MChat Black Jack, MChat Cards, MChat Trivia
PHPBB Special Effects, Mousepointers, X-Mas Themes and Designs for PBWoW Style.
Supported work: (**New Updated** UCP Sidebar), Tables, Hide, PBWow3 Style
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

I have posted an example on how to post a table on the first post.

Let me install ABBC3 Posting Editor and see what it will take to make it compatible.
Hovering over the [Tables] button should drop down the table choices.
I have not tested all of these posting button extensions with this yet but I will.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
Puchahawa
Registered User
Posts: 769
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:33 pm
Name: Randy

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Puchahawa »

With the abbc3 extension installed you will need to go to the ACP/ posting tab / bbcodes and click the green cog for each of the table bbcodes and make sure that the groups you want to use this have permission.

Also, do not click the Display on posting page box as it's not needed. v2.0.0 or better has a great option for a dropdown that lets you determine the # of rows and columns in one click.

EDIT: This is what my board (3.1.9) looks like with abbc3 and the tables ext.

Image
Last edited by Puchahawa on Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Avatar courtesy of artist Faith Coyotë
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

Your users will probably need some directions on how to post a table also.
I will fix this on the next release.

For now open ext/sniper/tables/language/en/tables.php and replace these lines...

Code: Select all

		'TABLES_BBCODE_HELP'	=> 'Click for Information',
		'TABLES_ALERT'			=> '[table=98] controls table width. Max width 98%. [th=15], [th=10] and [th=75] sets width of each column. All [th=%] need to equal 100%.',
Then when a user clicks on the [Tables] button it will display directions.
Last edited by Sniper_E on Thu Sep 15, 2016 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
Puchahawa
Registered User
Posts: 769
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:33 pm
Name: Randy

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Puchahawa »

Someone noticed a typo in V2.0.1 that may be causing the tables drop down not to show when using abbc3

If you go to ./ext/Sniper/tables/styles/all/template/event/ You will find an html file labeled vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_before.html go in and remove the .html from the files name. Then purge your boards cache. :)
Avatar courtesy of artist Faith Coyotë
User avatar
Miri4ever
Registered User
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Miri4ever »

Ok I found a few things:

Please rename the following file:

Code: Select all

vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_before.html
to

Code: Select all

vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_append.html
this will display the button inside ABBC3 Posting Editor. But still having the problem with moving along the tables with mouse over are closed and only can select the upper two line. Moving down to bigger tables closing the mouse over effekt for me.

Posting a table this kind of way. Please note the new line before TBODY will cause an empty line above the table:

Code: Select all

[size=150]Table Title[/size][table=90][thead][tr=null][th=20]Title1[/th][th=20]Title2[/th][th=20]Title3[/th][th=20]Title4[/th][th=20]Title5[/th][/tr][/thead]

[tbody][tr=bg2][td]Text1[/td][td]Text2[/td][td]Text3[/td][td]Text4[/td][td]Text5[/td][/tr][/tbody][/table]
Without new line between [/THEAD] and [TBODY] will be normal but making it for reading and editing tables much harder. That's why I tested separate each tableline inside an new line but this makes the break.
Homepage: Terra Oceanica

Extension Developments:
PHPBB Games Solitaire, MChat Poker, MChat Black Jack, MChat Cards, MChat Trivia
PHPBB Special Effects, Mousepointers, X-Mas Themes and Designs for PBWoW Style.
Supported work: (**New Updated** UCP Sidebar), Tables, Hide, PBWow3 Style
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

Thank you Puchahawa and Miri4ever! Extra .html removed and vse_abbc3_... file name changed.

BBCodes listed in lang file are inserted in the texarea in one contentious line. Do not alter for your view.
The only directions wrote:Click Preview after inserting table. From your view change the titles and text to suit your post.
That is all you have to do. You can also break it by putting contentious letters all the way across the page without a break. You control what your table looks like using the Preview and making adjustments.

We're not testing to see if the tables will break like you would test a MOD. :lol:
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
Miri4ever
Registered User
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Miri4ever »

This is a little bit my bad, because I also didn't noticed the double html at this file. Your file was also working fine: Here are the results where your tables button appear inside ABBC3 Editor.


vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_before.html --> Display at to first top bar
vse_abbc3_posting_editor_buttons_custom_tags_append.html --> Display at the last bottom / custom BBCodes Bar

so both where working without the double html behind. It's now just where you wanted this button got displayed.
Homepage: Terra Oceanica

Extension Developments:
PHPBB Games Solitaire, MChat Poker, MChat Black Jack, MChat Cards, MChat Trivia
PHPBB Special Effects, Mousepointers, X-Mas Themes and Designs for PBWoW Style.
Supported work: (**New Updated** UCP Sidebar), Tables, Hide, PBWow3 Style
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

Tables Extension Update: Version 2.0.2

First post updated. abbc3 and posting buttons can now show image icon.
Please see if you see any of the previous problems you pointed out.

And thanks for the testing!

Update Instructions: You can update by deleting the files on your test server, copy these new files over in that place and clear board cache. No need to disable extension and delete data.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
Miri4ever
Registered User
Posts: 608
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Miri4ever »

The image is working fine and will test to see if I can addapt my own one like all inside ACCB3. But I discovered a new problem since 2.02 update with the tables mouseover.

Image
Homepage: Terra Oceanica

Extension Developments:
PHPBB Games Solitaire, MChat Poker, MChat Black Jack, MChat Cards, MChat Trivia
PHPBB Special Effects, Mousepointers, X-Mas Themes and Designs for PBWoW Style.
Supported work: (**New Updated** UCP Sidebar), Tables, Hide, PBWow3 Style
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

I did a little tweaking to the css for that but wasn't sure if it would cover all browsers.

I tested FireFox and IE. What browser are you using there?

Take this section out of your tables.css file and see if it straightens up.

Code: Select all

/* Chrome, Safari, IE */
@media screen and (-webkit-min-device-pixel-ratio:0) {
	.table-button {
		padding: 4px 7px;
	}
	
	.tables:hover .table-selections {
		height: 170px;
		margin-left: -59px;
	}
}
This took care of IE problems but not sure if it messed up others.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
User avatar
Sniper_E
Registered User
Posts: 1135
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana
Name: Ed Humphrey
Contact:

Re: [DEV] Tables

Post by Sniper_E »

Sorry about that 2.0.2 version Miri4ever. I think I got rid of that hover problem.

Tables Extension Update: Version 2.0.3

First post updated. Removed the class button2 and replaced with custom class using a table icon image. Repaired the damage in the CSS and added a new feature table alignment.

And thanks for the testing!

Update Instructions: BBCodes have changed along with templates and css. Disable extension, delete data and manually delete the old BBCodes from acp posting, [table] and [th=] have changed. Delete old files from your server, copy new version files over and Enable. Clear server cache.

Note: I placed 2 .psd image files in the images/ directory for you to create darker table icon images.
Image . -.. / .... ..- -- .--. .... .-. . -.--
No is NEVER an Option and NEVER is the only Option when it comes to Giving Up!

:!: Sniper_E Styles | phpbbmodders :!:
Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”