[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12988
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:59 am

It is not possible to use an event (as was the case with 3.1) due to the fact that the site logo has been removed from the php code and put into the css code for some inexplicable reason!
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

emsik
Registered User
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by emsik » Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:01 pm

javiexin wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:02 am
Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:25 pm
I don't know this can be fixed, But on fast browsers like Firefox Beta 64 Bits
when you load a page, you see the standard background & logo first.

See screenshot please:
https://s12.postimg.org/5xc56o8ql/image.gif
javiexin wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:12 pm
bcurran3 wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:30 pm
BTW: I noticed that the phpBB logo briefly flashes before the custom site logo displays. It's not a big deal, but would be nice if it didn't have to.
javiexin wrote:
Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:58 am
What you are seeing is a consequence of the way the extension is coded.
As it uses Javascript for the changes, these are performed AFTER the page has completely loaded AND displayed. So, in slow environments you will see the original page without changes followed by the correct page. The time between both depends on the speed of the conection and the browser.
These days, both browsers and networks are faster, so usually you will barely see a glitch.

In my view, no way to fix this without major rewrite to avoid JS. Don't know if it is worth it...
I think it is good as is...
Same comment applies here.
And the same here...

But, given all the comments, maybe it is worth the while... David?
I can only confirm this

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Froddelaar » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:08 pm

But will it be fixed or not? :D
I'm A Stupid F*ck.. And Proud Of it!
Download +34.000 arcade extension games @ ~ https://www.froddelpower.be ~

Dutch Extension Translations @ https://github.com/Solidjeuh
Donations are always welcome @ https://www.froddelpower.be/donation

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by P_I » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:32 pm

Adding my voice here as well. I'm using the 3.1 version on our live board and have been very happy with it.

There is some useful new functionality with the 3.2 version, but the "flicker" issue will likely make it impractical to use it when we upgrade to phpBB 3.2. IMHO this needs a resolution either through a change in the extension or a change in the phpBB 3.2 core.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12988
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:59 pm

Froddelaar wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:08 pm
But will it be fixed or not?
Not at the moment as "life has taken over"
P_I wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:32 pm
or a change in the phpBB 3.2 core
That aint going to happen any time soon
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

User avatar
Farmer Dusty
Registered User
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:40 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Farmer Dusty » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:47 am

This is quite a complex extension so if you have problems I will only support them if you provide me with the following information:

The style that you are using---------------prosilver
The browser that you are using-----------Firefox
Details of the relevant settings from the ACP---- uploaded to images (Smoky Mountains2.png)
Other extensions installed-------------------------- none
A link to the site showing the problem----------------http://www.publicadvocate.com/board/adm ... mode=style
If possible an image of the problem - not a problem, just I don't what to do next?

User avatar
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:07 am
Location: San Diego CA USA
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by M.O.B. » Sun Apr 16, 2017 8:12 am

Great extension!

I also wish that it would auto-resize the logo's width and height in progressive (mobile) view.

My current logo's size is:

Code: Select all

width: 567 px
height: 106 px
So what I had to do is TURN OFF progressive option in this extension, so it will still show my logo for devices with widths smaller than 700 px.

I added the logo's pixel sizes (as listed above).

Then I added this to the bottom of my stylesheet.css for my custom theme that inherits from prosilver.

Code: Select all

/* auto resize logo width for site logo extension for responsive */
@media (max-width: 700px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 106px;
	}
}

@media (max-width: 500px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 85px;
	}
}

@media (max-width: 430px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 80px;
	}
}

@media (max-width: 400px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 70px;
	}
}

@media (max-width: 340px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 65px;
	}
}

@media (max-width: 300px) {
	.logo {
		width: 100%;
		height: 50px;
	}
}
I would love that the height size would also automatically adjust, but haven't yet figured it out. I know that 100% doesn't work. :(
Image

User avatar
maximuspoder
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 2:26 am
Name: Mario

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by maximuspoder » Sun May 07, 2017 12:16 am

phpBB version: 3.2
Site Logo version: 2.1.0-rc6
Style: proflat
URL: http://www.arqtricolor.com/forum/

I can not centralize my banner. I am using the extension only for the display of the banner and it is aligned to the left, as can be seen in the image below. (http://oi68.tinypic.com/2r4s9z4.jpg)

What can I do to make the banner centralized? I already tried changing the CSS and it did not work.

Thank you

User avatar
onlyproevo
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:13 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by onlyproevo » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Great extension, even with the flickering whilst the logo is loading. But sure, it's better than nothing. Hopefully a stable version can one day be released. ;)

User avatar
Galixte de EzCom
Registered User
Posts: 808
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: France
Name: Raphaël M.
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Galixte de EzCom » Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:00 am

Communau EzCom
Image « Traductions d’extensions & styles pour phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x ».
ImageLists of all extensions identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.
ImageLists of all styles identified for phpBB 3.1.x & 3.2.x.

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Froddelaar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:36 pm

I updated my test forum to 3.2.1
Now I notice this when I load pages.

Image

Is there anything I can do about that?
I'm A Stupid F*ck.. And Proud Of it!
Download +34.000 arcade extension games @ ~ https://www.froddelpower.be ~

Dutch Extension Translations @ https://github.com/Solidjeuh
Donations are always welcome @ https://www.froddelpower.be/donation

GoesOn
Registered User
Posts: 413
Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by GoesOn » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:56 pm

Froddelaar wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:36 pm
I updated my test forum to 3.2.1
Now I notice this when I load pages.

Image

Is there anything I can do about that?
empty cache
English is not my native language :!:

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Froddelaar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:57 pm

GoesOn wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:56 pm
Froddelaar wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:36 pm
I updated my test forum to 3.2.1
Now I notice this when I load pages.

Image

Is there anything I can do about that?
empty cache
Done that a few times, problem stays. Also on standard prosilver.
I'm A Stupid F*ck.. And Proud Of it!
Download +34.000 arcade extension games @ ~ https://www.froddelpower.be ~

Dutch Extension Translations @ https://github.com/Solidjeuh
Donations are always welcome @ https://www.froddelpower.be/donation

User avatar
david63
Jr. Extension Validator
Posts: 12988
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:05 pm

Froddelaar wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:36 pm
I updated my test forum to 3.2.1
or do you mean 3.2.1 RC1?

I have not got around to doing any testing yet so I have no idea what the problem could be.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email or as they will be ignored

User avatar
Froddelaar
Registered User
Posts: 501
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:45 am
Location: Aalst (Belgium)
Name: Andy Dm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Froddelaar » Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:10 pm

david63 wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:05 pm
Froddelaar wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:36 pm
I updated my test forum to 3.2.1
or do you mean 3.2.1 RC1?

I have not got around to doing any testing yet so I have no idea what the problem could be.
Yes 3.2.1 Rc1 :)
I'm A Stupid F*ck.. And Proud Of it!
Download +34.000 arcade extension games @ ~ https://www.froddelpower.be ~

Dutch Extension Translations @ https://github.com/Solidjeuh
Donations are always welcome @ https://www.froddelpower.be/donation

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mohammed AlSarsawi, Naguissa, nhseacoast, Sniper_E and 23 guests

cron