[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
MarieNatalie
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 1:19 pm
Location: Athens Greece
Name: Maria

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by MarieNatalie » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:02 pm

First of all thanks for this nice extension.

I wonder if is there a way to put a different custom banner to each forum? :?

Thanks in advance :|

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16195
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:12 pm

MarieNatalie wrote:
Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:02 pm
I wonder if is there a way to put a different custom banner to each forum?
Not with this extension
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

MarieNatalie
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 1:19 pm
Location: Athens Greece
Name: Maria

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by MarieNatalie » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:05 pm

Thanks a lot!

User avatar
nl1sms
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Holland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by nl1sms » Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:43 am

The extra line at the top of the page should not be there.

I agree on this one. There is an extra line on mobile devices right above the site description. Can this be fixed ?

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16195
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:19 am

nl1sms wrote:
Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:43 am
There is an extra line on mobile devices right above the site description. Can this be fixed ?
Please give details as per second post in this topic
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
nl1sms
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Holland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by nl1sms » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:04 am

I use prosilver and it happens with every browser on mobile devices:

http://www.overmatigzweten.nl/apc.png

User avatar
shortmort37
Registered User
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:40 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by shortmort37 » Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:56 pm

Thanks for this extension, David. Adding a background image is a nice touch. However, it looks to me like it is scaling the image to fit the browser window - is that correct? Might it be possible to provide an option for background-repeat? I have a smallish, low contrast emblem that I'd like to appear replicated in the background, but it appears to be scaling. (I don't see any reference to a background image in site_logo_common.css, but perhaps I am looking in the wrong place.)

Many thanks for this.
Dan

User avatar
shortmort37
Registered User
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:40 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by shortmort37 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:18 am

Ah! I see - background-repeat is set to no-repeat in site_logo_fn.js. I commented that out - along with some related attributes - and achieved the effect I wanted:

Image

Would you consider adding that as an option in some future release, David?

Thanks
Dan

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16195
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:17 am

shortmort37 wrote:
Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:18 am
Would you consider adding that as an option in some future release, David?
I will look at it
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 924
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Calgary
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by P_I » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:51 pm

David, this is a very useful extension that as I've previously posted I believe is helpful to all board admins. That said, I cannot help noticing the feature creep in the various requests and additions that have been made over the past few release candidates (RCs).

I'm another one who's been testing it and seen this issue where the default phpBB logo flickers briefly, both on a localhost test environment and on our test board at our hosting service. I'm left to wonder, based on this post, whether the "extra" features beyond "Replace the standard phpBB logo with own custom logo." might be playing a role in causing this to happen?

I'm just an appreciative end-user, but I would ask you to carefully consider what's the core purpose/functionality of this extension. My 2 cents.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams

User avatar
Scanialady
Registered User
Posts: 269
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:09 pm
Location: Germany
Name: Annette
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Scanialady » Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:21 pm

Here is the German translation for the actual github version 2.1.0RC5, if someone needs it.

++++++

Question: if I am using several styles and I want to use their own colours, but the same sized logo or banner for all - how should I do this? Where should the image be - in all style/theme/image folders if they are different (but how to set the path?) or one single banner located where? ROOT/images?

edit:// logo location found. Ok. But...

how to use different backgrounds... Same name but different background images... Where could we put them?

interesting extension, that's sure.
Webseite, Blog, Wiki Deutsche Übersetzungen - german language files
My 2 cents: Whether an extension is in the CDB says nothing about its quality. It is more important to read the support topics for it. Better to avoid authors who do not answer support questions themselves, who do not update their stuff, and who do not fix bugs for years.

pistebasher
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:05 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by pistebasher » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:29 am

•The style that you are using - prosilver
•The browser that you are using - IE11
•Details of the relevant settings from the ACP - not sure what is relevant
•Other extensions installed - Viglink
•A link to the site showing the problem - www.snowdifference.com


Using IE11 (Windows 10) it is not possible for me to use the extension as the boxes for "Header Bar Colour" and "Override Colour" will not accept any input - the error "you must enter text with 6 or fewer characters" pops up, even though there are only 6 characters.

Using Chrome this problem goes away and my changed site logo appears when the site is viewed in Chrome. But when the site is viewed in IE11 the default logo is shown!

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16195
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:55 am

pistebasher wrote:
Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:29 am
Using IE11 (Windows 10) it is not possible for me to use the extension as the boxes for "Header Bar Colour" and "Override Colour" will not accept any input - the error "you must enter text with 6 or fewer characters" pops up, even though there are only 6 characters.
Fixed in next release
pistebasher wrote:
Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:29 am
But when the site is viewed in IE11 the default logo is shown!
Looking into that
Scanialady wrote:
Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:21 pm
how to use different backgrounds... Same name but different background images... Where could we put them?
Not possible with this extension
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
nl1sms
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Holland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by nl1sms » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:08 am

nl1sms wrote:
Wed Feb 08, 2017 8:43 am
The extra line at the top of the page should not be there.

I agree on this one. There is an extra line on mobile devices right above the site description. Can this be fixed ?

Can this be fixed please ?

BobBooth
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:06 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by BobBooth » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:12 pm

Browser- Firefox 51.0.1
Style-prosilver
Extensions- VigLink

I'm failing somewhere on the extension install.

I uploaded to the ext directory:
Image

I don't see where to enable in extension manager:
Image

I'm not good at this type of thing. I'm trying to understand why the extension doesn't show in Extensions Manager. I'm probably missing something obvious. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance, Bob

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”