[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
Puchahawa
Registered User
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:33 pm
Name: Randy

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Puchahawa » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:24 pm

Hi Bob, your directory naming structure is the problem. should be /ext / david63/sitelogo /
Avatar courtesy of artist Faith Coyotë

User avatar
shortmort37
Registered User
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:40 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by shortmort37 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:26 pm

You need to create a "david63" subdir in ext, and place the upload in it. And, the upload should be renamed sitelogo - no prefix, or suffix.

Dan

BobBooth
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:06 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by BobBooth » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:27 pm

Thanks Puchahawa and shortmort.

So this is wrong? /forum/ext/david63-sitelogo-3.2

BobBooth
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:06 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by BobBooth » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:41 pm

shortmort37 wrote:
Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:26 pm
You need to create a "david63" subdir in ext, and place the upload in it. And, the upload should be renamed sitelogo - no prefix, or suffix.

Dan
That was it. :D Thank you shortmort37!

decoderdb
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by decoderdb » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:09 pm

Hello David,

would it be possible to add an option for target="_blank" to the site logo?

Thank you

Regards
Stephan

kocureq
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:59 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by kocureq » Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:37 am

Would it be possible to put this in production instead of adding new features? I'm afraid in 3 months this will still be "RC" but also making coffee and tracking users who use swearwords in their posts.

decoderdb
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by decoderdb » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:56 am

Hello David,

another thing, the site logo has a titel attribut that is correct for the standard logo.
Would it be possible to remove the title if a custom logo is set?
Maybe you could add an extra input field for a title.

Thank you

Regards
Stephan

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16196
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:45 am

decoderdb wrote:
Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:09 pm
would it be possible to add an option for target="_blank" to the site logo?
As that does not conform to phpBB standards - no
kocureq wrote:
Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:37 am
Would it be possible to put this in production instead of adding new features? I'm afraid in 3 months this will still be "RC" but also making coffee and tracking users who use swearwords in their posts.
That is already there - ACP > Board settings > Board index text
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16196
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:08 pm

Updated to RC6

Main changes
  • Several bug fixes
  • Removed space at top on mobile devices
  • Refined .js code
  • Minified .js to improve performance
  • Added option to repeat background
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

Lady_G
Registered User
Posts: 227
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 12:38 pm
Location: US

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Lady_G » Wed Feb 15, 2017 3:30 am

I confirm the space at the top of mobile devices has been removed.

While the performance does appear to have been improved, I can still see the default phpBB logo briefly appear, then disappear, with a mobile device (responsive mode enabled, no logo should appear).

The phpBB logo intermittently appears on my localhost test environment (direct at server, no network) as well as a remote test site.

User avatar
nl1sms
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Holland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by nl1sms » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:33 am

just installed rc6.

On mobile devices the logo is shown again whilst this should not happen......

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16196
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:56 am

nl1sms wrote:
Wed Feb 15, 2017 7:33 am
On mobile devices the logo is shown again whilst this should not happen......
The only times that will happen is if the device width is greater than 700px (as core phpBB does) or you have "Make responsive" in the Site Logo's ACP settings set to No

Are you actually testing this on a mobile device or just reducing the size of the browser window?
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

User avatar
nl1sms
Registered User
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 4:24 pm
Location: Holland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by nl1sms » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:01 am

I had make responsive set to no. oops.. sorry.

i am really testing it on a mobile device. I don't reduce the size of the browser window. But it works great now. Thanx a lot.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16196
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:09 am

nl1sms wrote:
Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:01 am
I had make responsive set to no. oops.. sorry.
It's OK - we have all been there :shock: I have lost count of the number of times I have spent hours trying to work out why something is not working only to find that I have a setting wrong :evil:
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

pistebasher
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 3:05 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by pistebasher » Wed Feb 15, 2017 4:06 pm

Works with IE11 now, thanks David

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”