[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
gambr
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by gambr » Sat Jul 07, 2018 4:18 pm

Ok, Firefox and chrome don't work. If it works in your case and others have the same problem then it is a problem.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16661
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Sat Jul 07, 2018 4:45 pm

gambr wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 4:18 pm
Ok, Firefox and chrome don't work. If it works in your case and others have the same problem then it is a problem.
OK - one day when I have some time I will look at it, but I still don't know what your problem is as I cannot re-create it!!
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

gambr
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by gambr » Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:30 pm

Chrome (Version 67.0.3396.99 (Official Build) (64-bit) Linux-Ubuntu): https://ibb.co/cJkOWo
Firefox (60.0.2 (64-bit) Linux-Ubuntu): https://ibb.co/j3Ycro
Android on smartphone: https://ibb.co/ewfOWo
iphone: https://ibb.co/kcSyxT

I asked other persons and everyone shows me the same pictute. It seems only you can see the forum in a good shape. Did you clear the cache? :D

And here are the settings:
https://ibb.co/cVsqcT
https://ibb.co/cqWixT

So you can see how your extension is visualized in most cases.

Gianni
Last edited by gambr on Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gambr
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by gambr » Sun Jul 08, 2018 5:33 pm

Since I'm not familiar with phpBB and HTML in general (my daily work is on C++), if you can give me a hint I can try to find the point.

Regards,
Gianni

mdkdio
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:25 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by mdkdio » Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:33 pm

@gambr

I can confirm what David already mentioned, it is working with 1200x200 (so change 260 to 200)
And I am also on Linux (Slackware) and using FF, in case you wonder...

Edit:
You 2nd image showing your settings, change Logo height to 200

User avatar
Dan Stylez
Registered User
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:17 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Dan Stylez » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:21 am

I think Gambr means his logo isn't responsive on smaller screens,

It looks like:
Image

A fixed height won't fix it as when you decrease or increase the width of the window, the image will constantly be changing size.

Site Logo is more for actual logos, so if you want it to work perfectly on smaller screens it would need to be about 260px or less wide.

As the image you are trying to use is more of a banner, i would suggest HiFiKabin's Random Banner extension as it's actually for banners.
Image
When you’re hot, you’re hot... when you’re cold, you’re not hot.

gambr
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by gambr » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:41 am

mdkdio wrote:
Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:33 pm
@gambr

I can confirm what David already mentioned, it is working with 1200x200 (so change 260 to 200)
And I am also on Linux (Slackware) and using FF, in case you wonder...

Edit:
You 2nd image showing your settings, change Logo height to 200
I already tried that if read carefully but it doesn't change the result. So the problem is somewhere else.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 16661
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Name: David Wood
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:56 am

Dan Stylez wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:21 am
As the image you are trying to use is more of a banner, i would suggest HiFiKabin's Random Banner extension as it's actually for banners.
Or use the banner option in this extension
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored

gambr
Registered User
Posts: 123
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2016 2:33 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by gambr » Mon Jul 09, 2018 7:17 am

Dan Stylez wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:21 am
As the image you are trying to use is more of a banner, i would suggest HiFiKabin's Random Banner extension as it's actually for banners.
Thanks I will give a look at that then!

User avatar
Dan Stylez
Registered User
Posts: 263
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:17 am

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Dan Stylez » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:53 pm

david63 wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:56 am
Dan Stylez wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:21 am
As the image you are trying to use is more of a banner, i would suggest HiFiKabin's Random Banner extension as it's actually for banners.
Or use the banner option in this extension
My bad, never noticed that before.
Image
When you’re hot, you’re hot... when you’re cold, you’re not hot.

Raheem
Registered User
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:02 pm
Location: Egypt
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Raheem » Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:06 pm

Hey david63,

Good extension but it's override the logo wrong. Seems that like the old logo load first then this loading, the appearance of that is not good so i stop using it. You may fix this if possible.

Lord Phobos
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:41 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Lord Phobos » Thu Sep 27, 2018 6:40 pm

emsik wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2017 1:01 pm
javiexin wrote:
Fri Mar 10, 2017 12:02 am
Froddelaar wrote:
Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:25 pm
I don't know this can be fixed, But on fast browsers like Firefox Beta 64 Bits
when you load a page, you see the standard background & logo first.

See screenshot please:
https://s12.postimg.org/5xc56o8ql/image.gif
javiexin wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:12 pm
bcurran3 wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:30 pm
BTW: I noticed that the phpBB logo briefly flashes before the custom site logo displays. It's not a big deal, but would be nice if it didn't have to.
javiexin wrote:
Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:58 am
What you are seeing is a consequence of the way the extension is coded.
As it uses Javascript for the changes, these are performed AFTER the page has completely loaded AND displayed. So, in slow environments you will see the original page without changes followed by the correct page. The time between both depends on the speed of the conection and the browser.
These days, both browsers and networks are faster, so usually you will barely see a glitch.

In my view, no way to fix this without major rewrite to avoid JS. Don't know if it is worth it...
I think it is good as is...
Same comment applies here.
And the same here...

But, given all the comments, maybe it is worth the while... David?
I can only confirm this
I confirm this.
Looking forward for a fix.

Lord Phobos
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:41 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Lord Phobos » Sun Sep 30, 2018 10:49 pm

Found an odd problem: in the forum view, if you browse a forum with no topics in it, the extension is not called and the standard header is displayed.

Example:
Could you please take a look?

Thanks.

Havym
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 3:50 pm
Location: Netherlands
Name: Marco

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Havym » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:12 pm

I see in both links a site logo ;)

Lord Phobos
Registered User
Posts: 613
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 11:41 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Lord Phobos » Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:37 pm

Havym wrote:
Sun Sep 30, 2018 11:12 pm
I see in both links a site logo ;)
Yeah, notice the great difference.

In the first the extension works.
In the second, no.

EDIT: wow!
I tried logging off... the problem occurs ONLY if logged in.
For guests, the site logo works.

What could it be?

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”