[3.2][RC] Site Logo

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
martin78
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 10:39 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by martin78 »

Tengo el Phpbb 3.3 y e instalado en la direccion que se indica pero no lo encuentro en el ACP, ni mucho menos en la pestaña "administrar extensiones" me podrian explicar que e echo mal? E utilizado FTP, y tampoco descomprimiendolo directamente en el servidor.
Ditcheat
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Shropshire, England
Name: Martin Boland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Ditcheat »

Hi David, I'm testing this extension with 3.3, and when I have it in responsive mode I can display the logo with a header correctly on a PC (or a tablet) but on a phone it doesn't show the logo (as expected) but instead it displays the site name. So I get the site name twice with the site description underneath the two site names. Is this how its supposed to work or is it a bug?
sakm
Registered User
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: Hull, uk
Name: Stu
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by sakm »

Ditcheat wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 7:11 pm
Hi David, I'm testing this extension with 3.3, and when I have it in responsive mode I can display the logo with a header correctly on a PC (or a tablet) but on a phone it doesn't show the logo (as expected) but instead it displays the site name. So I get the site name twice with the site description underneath the two site names. Is this how its supposed to work or is it a bug?
ticking no for make responsive worked for me on that one
Ditcheat
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Shropshire, England
Name: Martin Boland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Ditcheat »

Tried that and, as you say, it puts the logo on the display. But the site name and description are pushed down, so that they flow into the body of the forum display!
If that's the only way around it, I will have to make the logo smaller I suppose?
User avatar
janus_zonstraal
Registered User
Posts: 4804
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:30 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by janus_zonstraal »

What style are you using?
Sorry! My English is bat ;) !!!
Ditcheat
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Shropshire, England
Name: Martin Boland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Ditcheat »

Just the standard - prosilver. No other extensions or mods.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18306
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 »

Ditcheat wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:55 pm
Just the standard - prosilver. No other extensions or mods.
Link to board please
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4917
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by HiFiKabin »

martin78 wrote:
Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:04 am
Tengo el Phpbb 3.3 y e instalado en la direccion que se indica pero no lo encuentro en el ACP, ni mucho menos en la pestaña "administrar extensiones" me podrian explicar que e echo mal? E utilizado FTP, y tampoco descomprimiendolo directamente en el servidor.
This is an English Speaking board, please post in English
Ditcheat
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Shropshire, England
Name: Martin Boland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Ditcheat »

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18306
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 »

Ditcheat wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 11:44 am
David - cambrianrailways.com/testforum
It appears to display OK with Firefox on Android
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
Ditcheat
Registered User
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:13 am
Location: Shropshire, England
Name: Martin Boland

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by Ditcheat »

This is what I get on an iphone and an old windows phone. Displays OK on a PC, iPad and an Amazon Fire tablet.
sitelogo.jpg
sakm
Registered User
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 8:14 pm
Location: Hull, uk
Name: Stu
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by sakm »

Huawei P20 pro using chrome and android
Screenshot_20200415_133003_com.android.chrome.jpg
User avatar
TeamHaven
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:57 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by TeamHaven »

Installation:
  • Download the latest release and unzip it.
  • Upload the unzipped files to root/ext/david63/sitelogo and enable it in the ACP
I don't know how familiar you are with version 3.3 of the phpBB application, but this last bit of instruction you've given is very confusing for what you ("don't") say....

I started to follow these instructions and took a look at the folders in my directories. The following files already exist:
adm
config
controller
event
language
migrations
styles

So when you say to upload the files to (two completely new folders that we must create), titled "david63" and a sub-folder titled "sitelogo", are you telling us to create redundant, sub-folders with all those same names? Including redundant subfolders in the "styles" folder titled "all" and "prosilver"? If not then I hope you edit your instructions to be more specific in telling us which files should be uploaded to existing folders, which new folders should be created and which new redundant folders should be created. At the moment, I'm stumped and not certain of where to upload these files.
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18306
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by david63 »

TeamHaven wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:38 pm
I don't know how familiar you are with version 3.3 of the phpBB application
Very familiar - I have been using since inception.
TeamHaven wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:38 pm
ut this last bit of instruction you've given is very confusing for what you ("don't") say....
Not sure I follow that - what don't I say?
TeamHaven wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:38 pm
So when you say to upload the files to (two completely new folders that we must create), titled "david63" and a sub-folder titled "sitelogo", are you telling us to create redundant, sub-folders with all those same names?
I don't know what you mean by "redundant" sub folders.

In the root of your board is a folder called ext in that folder you create a folder david63 and in that folder you create another folder called sitelogo. You then upload all of the unzipped files (in their folder structure) into the sitelogo folder
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
TeamHaven
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:57 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Post by TeamHaven »

Your installation instructions are confusing. You have them written as:

Installation:
Download the latest release and unzip it.
Upload the unzipped files to root/ext/david63/sitelogo and enable it in the ACP

I have done computer programming in C, C++ and the Java language and I've built several websites so I understand how important it is to be precise with what you do and say, otherwise things simply won't work. So I'm trying to understand if you mean to:

1) Create a folder titled "david63" and within that folder, create a sub-folder titled "sitelogo", and then create 8 redundant sub-folders for "adm, config, controller, core, event, language & styles" and then upload all the contents within those folders?

2) Create a Create a folder titled "david63" and within that folder, create a sub-folder titled "sitelogo", then upload the two files within that folder titled "composerljson and ext.php"; then upload the remaining files to their perspective folders already existing on the server?

I am so sick and tired of how difficult everything is to do for this app. Today is day 4 of trying to build my forum and make it look like the rest of my site and this is one of the last things I need to do. Although I am very happy that you've created this program to help us with logos, the instructions are too short and not very concise. Please clarify where we are to upload these files.

Thank you in advance for your response.
Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”