Page 7 of 21

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 am
by david63
Updated to RC5

Bug fixes for search and to make the logo more responsive

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:11 am
by prl
Thanks @david63 :) The logo is now responsive, the only problem is that when it gets small enough (like mobile devices) it will leave a blank space between the logo and the forum top menus. That's because the height is fixed to the one we set on the extension configuration, unlike the width that is now set to 100% (to be responsive) with a max-width of what we set in the config.

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:18 am
by david63
How often do you reduce the width of your browser window to below 700px?

The site logo works as intended when you open it on different size devices.

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:50 pm
by prl
david63 wrote:
Thu Feb 02, 2017 11:18 am
How often do you reduce the width of your browser window to below 700px?

The site logo works as intended when you open it on different size devices.
In mobile phones the browser width is commonly below 700px.

I think two approaches to this could be:

- always show the logo and resize it in a responsive manner. It's the current behaviour but the height of the logo placeholder is not resizing appropriately (creating a blank space between the logo and the forum menus).

- don't resize the image, but when the browser width gets below the image width hide it and show only the forum title and forum description.

Maybe this behavior could even be a configuration for the extension.

Sorry for being annoying, but I think extension is great and surppresses something that's blatantly missing from the core code. which is a simple way to customize the forum header look, which basically all forum admins have to do.

Thanks

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:02 pm
by david63
prl wrote:
Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:50 pm
when the browser width gets below the image width hide it and show only the forum title and forum description.
That is exactly what happens when you open your site at a width of less than 700px

If you are trying to see how your site will look at different resolutions then you are going about it the wrong way - try using something like http://wpbeaches.com/responsive/

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:44 pm
by prl
david63 wrote:
Thu Feb 02, 2017 1:02 pm
prl wrote:
Thu Feb 02, 2017 12:50 pm
when the browser width gets below the image width hide it and show only the forum title and forum description.
That is exactly what happens when you open your site at a width of less than 700px

If you are trying to see how your site will look at different resolutions then you are going about it the wrong way - try using something like http://wpbeaches.com/responsive/
Thanks for that link, really helpful. I see what you mean now.

Thank you so much for your help, I hope this extension gets promoted to official. :)

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:51 pm
by sakm
I like this although it does not rant to play nice with this extension

viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2337326


could either of them be made to work together?

I have posted in the above's development thread too

Edit: scrap that I just remembered anything over a certain size messes with the header with the random right image extension :oops:

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2017 10:21 pm
by travel
Very helpful extension. Thanks.
Maybe with bbcode in "Extended site description" part?

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:22 am
by travel
Does your extension work only in Firefox browser?

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:25 am
by david63
travel wrote:
Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:22 am
Does your extension work only in Firefox browser?
It should work with all browsers - are you having problems with a specific browser?

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:44 am
by travel
Maxthon, IE 11, Safari (Smartphone) - with problems.
I see only phpBB logo.

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:12 am
by david63
travel wrote:
Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:44 am
Maxthon, IE 11, Safari (Smartphone) - with problems.
I see only phpBB logo.
Please see the second post in this topic and provide the details

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:07 am
by Lady_G
javiexin wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:12 pm
bcurran3 wrote:
Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:30 pm
BTW: I noticed that the phpBB logo briefly flashes before the custom site logo displays. It's not a big deal, but would be nice if it didn't have to.
javiexin wrote:
Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:58 am
What you are seeing is a consequence of the way the extension is coded.
As it uses Javascript for the changes, these are performed AFTER the page has completely loaded AND displayed. So, in slow environments you will see the original page without changes followed by the correct page. The time between both depends on the speed of the conection and the browser.
These days, both browsers and networks are faster, so usually you will barely see a glitch.

In my view, no way to fix this without major rewrite to avoid JS. Don't know if it is worth it...
I think it is good as is...
Same comment applies here.
I have the responsive logo enabled. Emulating a mobile device with Chrome's Inspect (as iPhone 6), the phpBB logo appears before it's removal in responsive mode. The phpBB logo is visible long enough to be disruptive to my readers. This is a localhost test environment, there is no network connection delay.

I am also testing this extension on a remote host and can see a visible "jump" (but not the phpBB logo) when the extension kicks in. The "jump" is seen when the browser page is refreshed (clear cache, reload page as new).

In both cases, there is a visible blank line above the site description. The blank line contains the site logo link as:

Code: Select all

<a id="logo" class="logo" href="http://localhost/" title="Home"><span class=""></span></a>
The extra line at the top of the page should not be there.

Due to the visual disruptions, I think this extension is not ready to be deployed on my board.

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:17 am
by david63
Lady_G wrote:
Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:07 am
Due to the visual disruptions, I think this extension is not ready to be deployed on my board.
That's fine by me. If this extension does not do what you want then by all means do not use it. It does what I want it to do for my board and, basically, that is all that I need.

Re: [3.2][RC] Site Logo

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 3:24 pm
by bcurran3
David - looking forward to release.

rc3 worked really well for me
rc4 put my board out of wack for two days, I believe it was cookies that messed up, I put back rc3 but still had problems
rc5 - didn't test, too much user flak from rc4 problem

ANXIOUSLY awaiting final release! :)