[CDB] Feed post bot

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
Locked
User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:08 am

nhseacoast wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:50 am
Ok. I just disabled SEO4ALL :/
Personally I'm not a fan of so called SEO extensions, bu you can probably fix this yourself quite easily by opening up your database manager (phpMyAdmin or MySQL workbench), look up the phpbb_topics table and set a default value for this columns.
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
nhseacoast
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 10:31 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by nhseacoast » Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:20 am

I may try that. I'll just leave it disabled for now.

On another note, I did discover why/how I saw the FPB username logged in - when manually fetching feeds it redirects to the board index. It doesn't stay in the ACP like it did before.

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:53 pm

nhseacoast wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:20 am
On another note, I did discover why/how I saw the FPB username logged in - when manually fetching feeds it redirects to the board index. It doesn't stay in the ACP like it did before.
Yeah, that was a quicky from me.

It boiled down to the difference between the old (3.1 style) language system and the new language class in phpBB 3.2. The old one made it very difficult to switch between languages. Previously I had no other choice than to keep switching and reloading the entire user, something that can result in very long loading times with many feeds. It led to behaviour as described by you.

I've decided to up the requirement to 3.2.1 and drop the support for 3.1.x, making things much easier for me. New version in Git.
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
nhseacoast
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 10:31 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by nhseacoast » Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:03 pm

Great thanks!

User avatar
PaulusB
Registered User
Posts: 214
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 2:08 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by PaulusB » Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:23 pm

Everything oke now :mrgreen:

Mesto
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:29 am

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Feed post bot

Post by Mesto » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:47 pm

Ger wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:00 am
Hello,

You might want to know that the translation file has been changed due to a suggestion by the validation team. All language keys have been prefixed with "FPB_" to avoid collisions.
Sorry, I have just seen the new version. Enclosed the new german translation for 1.0.4.

German Translation

If you make changes in the language file again, please send me a PN, so I'll be notified. I'm rather rare at the English phpBB Board.
phpBB: 3.2.2
PHP: 7.1.19
Style: aero, prosilver, absolution

User avatar
nhseacoast
Registered User
Posts: 482
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2002 10:31 pm
Location: NH, USA
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by nhseacoast » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:10 am

Just checking if 1.0.4 is the latest release. dated 2017-11-08

Thanks. Working very well thus far.

Question:
Is it possible to add a function to get full-content when content is truncated by the feed sites? I know there are sites that will do this through their software, just wondering if it's something you plan to add.
Thank you.

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:05 am

nhseacoast wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:10 am
Is it possible to add a function to get full-content when content is truncated by the feed sites? I know there are sites that will do this through their software, just wondering if it's something you plan to add.
It seems hard, though possible to me, but I don't plan to add it. It would mean I'd have to account for exponentially more possibilities with an equal amount of exceptions.

If you're interested though you can create an extension on top of feedpostbot and hook into the first 3 events as described in the second post.

@Mesto: thank you
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
donsenilo
Registered User
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 6:23 pm
Name: Markus
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by donsenilo » Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:13 pm

Hi

I like this ext very much, but ... (and this is maybe a very stupid question :? ) ...

Is it possible, that post made by this ext not show up at "New Posts" and don't increase the Counter for "Total Posts" ?

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Fri Dec 08, 2017 3:33 pm

There no setting for such in the phpBB submit_post function.
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
eunaumtenhoid
Registered User
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:46 am
Location: ????

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by eunaumtenhoid » Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:07 pm

Brazilian Portuguese translation by eunaumtenhoid (c) 2017 [ver 1.0.4]
https://github.com/phpBBTraducoes/feedpostbot
My translations of the extensions for Brazilian Portuguese
https://github.com/phpBBTraducoes

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Sat Dec 09, 2017 7:47 am

Thanks!
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

Kaffe
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 6:18 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Kaffe » Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:38 pm

http://fontene.no/neo/neoproxy.dll?tem= ... irect&id=9

I can’t seem to get this feed to work. Any ideas, Ger?

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Ger » Mon Dec 18, 2017 9:29 am

Kaffe wrote:
Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:38 pm
http://fontene.no/neo/neoproxy.dll?tem= ... irect&id=9

I can’t seem to get this feed to work. Any ideas, Ger?
Well, first check is mostly the W3 Feed validation service. And when I put that URL in, I get this respose:
It looks like this is a web page, not a feed. I looked for a feed associated with this page, but couldn't find one. Please enter the address of your feed to validate.
So that doesn't leave much hope... While Firefox seems to understand it as a feed, when I inspect the source it's very poorly formatted. The feed post bot can't cope with it either since I follow the W3 standards.
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

Kaffe
Registered User
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 6:18 pm

Re: [3.2][RC] Feed post bot

Post by Kaffe » Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:56 am

Thanks for looking into this, Ger.

I might have found a solution to it, by using a web service that generates a valid RSS-feed from another feed (in this case, the broken one), and entering the rebuilt feed into Feed Post Bot. It pulled the entries from the RSS and generated posts from it when catching manually, so now I just have to wait and see how often the new RSS generates entries from the broken one.

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kasimi and 37 guests