[CDB] Feed post bot

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:01 am

Ger wrote:
Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:26 am
I'll see what I can do. Like I said, I haven't really paid attention to 3.1 yet. In any case, you shouldn't rely on this since it's only in ALPHA stage. That goes for 3.2 but even more for 3.1.
Yes I know, but it would be very usefull for me and I can not yet update to 3.2. because most extensions are not 3.2. ready. :(
-Edit-
I see the submit button though, its on the left below the table (previously it was on the right, but I moved it because it was quite close to the remove bottons). You might need to purge your Cache.
Its also not on the left... Its nowhere. :( Also with purged Cache.

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:59 am

Please do the following:
  1. Disable the extension
  2. Remove extension from the filesystem
  3. Get latest version from Github, extract and upload to ./ext/ger/simplerss
  4. Enable extension
  5. Add feed
This works for me on a fresh install of 3.1.10
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
PaulusB
Registered User
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 2:08 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by PaulusB » Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:43 am

Do u know if the post bot had difficulties like Wereldpremière in turns into Wereldpremière in Genève

See topic https://www.volkswagen-forum.nl/forum/v ... 47&t=11774

Original http://nieuws.volkswagen.nl/de-arteon-n ... olkswagen/

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [ALPHA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:18 pm

See my answer to this same question:
viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2411596&start=30#p14677866
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

User avatar
PaulusB
Registered User
Posts: 216
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 2:08 pm
Location: Holland
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by PaulusB » Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:26 pm

Done thanks u again great mod :mrgreen:

JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [ALPHA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:07 am

Ger wrote:
Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:59 am
Please do the following:
  1. Disable the extension
  2. Remove extension from the filesystem
  3. Get latest version from Github, extract and upload to ./ext/ger/simplerss
  4. Enable extension
  5. Add feed
This works for me on a fresh install of 3.1.10
Still no submit button. :( I will give it up.

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:20 am

Well, like I said, it's there for me on a fresh 3.1.10 install. You might have a different setup - I don't know.

One last thing I can think of that there's something wrong with your language pack or with your provided feed URL. Can you switch to the default English language and only add https://www.phpbb.com/feeds/rss/ as a feed URL?
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:12 pm

Ger wrote:
Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:20 am
Well, like I said, it's there for me on a fresh 3.1.10 install. You might have a different setup - I don't know.

One last thing I can think of that there's something wrong with your language pack or with your provided feed URL. Can you switch to the default English language and only add https://www.phpbb.com/feeds/rss/ as a feed URL?
Brought no difference. :(

I'm using also 3.1.10., could it be that any other Extension blocks your submit button? :?

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:59 am

JackEnox wrote:
Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:12 pm
Brought no difference. :(
Hm. I must apologize.

Somehow, 1 of my edits on my local branche didn't make it to Github properly. Not sure how that could happen though, but I thought that as a last resort I'd go and check the actual files on Github.
I tried some fancy-pancy resyncing and now the dot that should make your life better is there on github. Could you try it one more time perhaps?
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:39 am

Brilllllllllllllllliant. :)

Now the submit button is there on the left side, thank you very much. :)

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:18 pm

One small dot for a man, one giant leap for an extension. :mrgreen:
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:48 pm

Sorry to say, but now there is an other Problem.

Fetching of the Feeds does not work any more. In 3.1.10 and in 3.2.0 :(

I tried with the Option "Fetch all feeds manually".

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:22 pm

And what exactly doesn't work? Have you assigned a valid user and a valid forum for posting? Have you checked both the user log and error log?
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

JackEnox
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:55 pm

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by JackEnox » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:47 pm

It does not post the feed items to the board. Regardless which user and board I choose.

Board is active, user is active. Nothing in error-log and user-log.

User avatar
Ger
Recognised Extension Developer
Posts: 1853
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 7:35 pm
Location: 192.168.1.100
Contact:

Re: [3.1][3.2][BETA] Simple RSS post bot

Post by Ger » Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:05 pm

Can you post a (readable) screenshot of your settings?
And maybe a link to your board?

And when you press the button to fetch all feeds manually, what's the result? Do you get a confirmation message, an error (what error exactly), etc?

Are you even sure the feed has new items to post?
My extensions:
Simple CMS, Feed post bot, Avatar Resize, Modbreak, Magic OGP, Live topic update, Modern Quote, Quoted Where (GDPR) and Autoresponder.
Newest: FAQ manager for 3.2

Like my work? Buy me a coffee to keep it coming. :ugeek:
-Available for custom work-

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”