[3.2][RC] Markdown

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:54 pm

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:44 pm
Yes user group permissions, I think he meant that only administrators or moderators could use this feature, for example.

That's what I thought - just trying to make sense of that idea for myself...

So how would that work in practice? Based on user's permissions something gets displayed one way or another but the content can be the same? Seems a bit of a resource hog for starters.

But more important, when people who don't have that permission, post something in markdown, you get posts with raw markdown? What if someone quotes someone else with a markdown post?

I see a very clear benefit with a per-forum permission, but per-group? Not so much (yet :))...

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:18 am

nou nou wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:54 pm
So how would that work in practice? Based on user's permissions something gets displayed one way or another but the content can be the same? Seems a bit of a resource hog for starters.
Well, it would take just one or a few more checks, I don't think it would use more resources, all is done with PHP, no database is involved.
nou nou wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 10:54 pm
But more important, when people who don't have that permission, post something in markdown, you get posts with raw markdown? What if someone quotes someone else with a markdown post?
The permission, and other checks, are done before the message is parsed so if a user is not allowed to use Markdown it will simply show the text as is (plain text, no Markdown), the same applies to quotes.

With the current version you can test quoting a Markdown post after disabling it in your UCP settings.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:17 am

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:18 am
The permission, and other checks, are done before the message is parsed so if a user is not allowed to use Markdown it will simply show the text as is (plain text, no Markdown), the same applies to quotes.

With the current version you can test quoting a Markdown post after disabling it in your UCP settings.
Ah OK, I see that now. Neat - I hadn't noticed the option before.

Little weird though, because you would end up with someone quoting a nicely marked up piece of text and then reply with something that looks like mambo-jumbo. Anyway I'm sure someone could come up with a use case for that and if it doesn't take up a lot of resources anyway I'm all for it :)

User avatar
3Di
Former Team Member
Posts: 13661
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:09 pm
Location: Milan (IT) Frankfurt (DE)
Name: Marco
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by 3Di » Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:17 pm

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:58 pm
3Di wrote:
Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:53 pm
Yes, I will give you an example tomorrow :) or you can have a look at the ABBC3 extension AFAIR.
Thanks :cool:

Will check ABBC too.
While I am sure this can be done with BBcodes
($my_condition) ? $parser->enable_bbcode('my_bbcode') : $parser->disable_bbcode('my_bbcode');
that's doesn't seems to be your case after having read your repo. I apologize for the false alarm. :|

Well, could be potentially possible with some ugly block of code but not with the above facility, as far as I have seen at github.
Please PM me only to request paid works. Thx.
Want to compensate me for my interest? Donate
My development's activity º PhpStorm's proud user
Extensions, Scripts, MOD porting, Update/Upgrades
👨‍🏫 | Take a tour to | The Studio | 👨‍🏫

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Jan 23, 2019 5:06 pm

3Di wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:17 pm
While I am sure this can be done with BBcodes
($my_condition) ? $parser->enable_bbcode('my_bbcode') : $parser->disable_bbcode('my_bbcode');
that's doesn't seems to be your case after having read your repo. I apologize for the false alarm. :|

Well, could be potentially possible with some ugly block of code but not with the above facility, as far as I have seen at github.
It's ok.

I'll try using normal user permissions, I'll see where it leads me :lol:
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:05 pm

Version 0.4.0-dev released, see the changelog.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:47 pm

Hmm odd, doesn't seem to work anymore.

I can see the forum permission, it's set to yes. The Markdown status is ON in the editor, but the result of a post is just raw output. The UCP option is also missing.

As FYI, I updated the extension though did not delete the data after disabling v0.3...

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:34 am

nou nou wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:47 pm
As FYI, I updated the extension though did not delete the data after disabling v0.3...
Try doing a clean install by disabling, deleting data and then enabling the extension again.

I modified the old migration file to add the new permissions, I think old migration files does not get triggered when updating, only the new ones, so maybe that's why.

I'll add a note in the first post.

Edit: Yep, I confirm that doing a clean install fixes the issue.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:39 pm

Hm. Something is borked here.

So I did a disable -> delete data -> enable on v0.4 but that didn't help.

Then I diabled, deleted data, re-uploaded v0.3 and tested that. That worked. UCP default option is there again.

Disabled -> del data 0.3 -> upload v0.4 and enable. Markdown works.

However, I cannot disable it - the disable Markdown button in the post editor has no effect.
Also, the default posting UCP option is not there in v0.4.

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:08 pm

nou nou wrote:
Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:39 pm
Hm. Something is borked here.
Yes, that was an oversight of my part.

It has been fixed in version 0.5.0-dev, and I added functional tests to avoid that from happening again.

Please, do a clean install again, just in case.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am

Oooh. You are fast :)

All is working again! Couple of issues with this version.

The disable markdown switch in the post editor isn't working. Markdown is always on, unless you turn it off in the UCP.

Markdown shows as ON in the post editor even when the default is off in UCP.

One request - would you consider adding support for the quick reply extension?

Thanks!

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:10 pm

nou nou wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am
The disable markdown switch in the post editor isn't working. Markdown is always on, unless you turn it off in the UCP.
Just to be sure, If you check "Disable Markdown" and then click Preview or Submit doesn't it show it as plain text? I can't reproduce that issue.

Which phpBB and PHP version are you using?
nou nou wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am
Markdown shows as ON in the post editor even when the default is off in UCP.
That's intended, it shows if the feature is enabled and has permissions to use it, it does not take into account user preferences.

It tries to mimic what the BBCode settings does, if you disable BBCode in the UCP it still shows "BBCode is ON".
nou nou wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am
One request - would you consider adding support for the quick reply extension?
Not for now, I'm currently trying to get it working as it should and polish it, but I will add it in my to-do list.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:00 pm

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:10 pm
Just to be sure, If you check "Disable Markdown" and then click Preview or Submit doesn't it show it as plain text? I can't reproduce that issue.

Which phpBB and PHP version are you using?
No, it shows as Markdown... 3.2.5 and php7.1

It's possible that it's something else. I have more than 60 extensions running on my test site so I'll look into disabling a few... :)
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:10 pm
It tries to mimic what the BBCode settings does, if you disable BBCode in the UCP it still shows "BBCode is ON".
Right. Gotcha. Ok that's fine - I thought maybe the issues were related.
AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:10 pm
Not for now, I'm currently trying to get it working as it should and polish it, but I will add it in my to-do list.
Great, thanks! I'm sometimes wondering if quick reply is worth it. I find it handy sometimes, but it also seems to enable a terse posting style which isn't my favourite.

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 600
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:17 am

nou nou wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:00 pm
No, it shows as Markdown... 3.2.5 and php7.1
Mmm.. strange, I don't thing is related but, which style do you use?
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 318
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:15 pm

Just good old Prosilver...

Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”