[CDB] Markdown

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:08 am

Version 0.6.0-dev released, see first post for download link, second post to see the changelog.
nou nou wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am
The disable markdown switch in the post editor isn't working. Markdown is always on, unless you turn it off in the UCP.
Please test if the new version fixes that issue, I couldn't reproduce it.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:27 am

Thanks for the new version!

Unfortunately that didn't fix the issue for me. I do wonder if it may have something to do with not deleting the data at that first update I did...

I've tried turning off several other extensions but so far no luck. If you think it may be a conflict I can try turning off all of them (there are 60 or so :))

Is there a way to delete everything reliably in the database or something? It's a test board, so I can go wild with it if necessary...

Other than that, if you have any tips to debug this I'm happy to oblige...

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:11 pm

nou nou wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:27 am
Unfortunately that didn't fix the issue for me. I do wonder if it may have something to do with not deleting the data at that first update I did...
I think it does, because I could reproduce your previous permissions issues when I released the version 0.4.0-dev.

What I know for sure is that the issue is not present doing a clean install of this extension, because I'm using it in two servers/boards in production.
nou nou wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:27 am
Is there a way to delete everything reliably in the database or something? It's a test board, so I can go wild with it if necessary...
You could try disabling and deleting data of your current version, then install v0.3.0-dev to disable it and deleting its data to finally install the latest version.

I changed the migration files and those are responsible to revert changes when uninstalling, maybe some were not able revert the changes done in the database.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Feb 06, 2019 9:14 pm

AbaddonOrmuz wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:11 pm

You could try disabling and deleting data of your current version, then install v0.3.0-dev to disable it and deleting its data to finally install the latest version.

I changed the migration files and those are responsible to revert changes when uninstalling, maybe some were not able revert the changes done in the database.

That's what I did before: viewtopic.php?f=456&t=2499776&start=15#p15186876

But it didn't fix it either. Maybe I'll have a look in the database later. I can always revert to an older dB backup...

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:41 pm

Oh wow. Found a conflict, and it's not at all where I was expecting it :)

It's mChat. :shock:

Install mChat 2.1.2 alongside Markdown and the Disable Markdown switch doesn't work.

Disable mChat after both have been installed alongside, and Markdown is always disabled.

So I had to disable mChat, disable Markdown, delete Markdown data, enable Markdown, and then everything worked.

But re-enable mChat after that and the switch doesn't work once again.

Deleting mChat's data has no effect on any of the above...

That took a while to figure out :D

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][DEV] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Thu Feb 07, 2019 2:04 am

nou nou wrote:
Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:41 pm
It's mChat. :shock:
:open_mouth:

I looked in its code but I couldn't figure it out why it conflicts, I created an issue in the mChat repository, hopefully I'll get more info about this.

https://github.com/kasimi/mChat/issues/27

Kudos for you :geek:
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:20 am

Version 0.7.0-beta released, see first post for download link, more info in the changelog.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:38 am

Thanks! :)

I'm guessing by reading about it on Github that compatibility with mChat is unlikely to happen? Or left with mChat dev?

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:24 pm

nou nou wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 6:38 am
Thanks! :)

I'm guessing by reading about it on Github that compatibility with mChat is unlikely to happen? Or left with mChat dev?
Yeah, I don't think I'll add support for extensions that changes the order of the PHP events, as kasimi said, mChat might not the only one that does that.

The boards that use this extension do not have mChat (or any other conflicting extensions), so It's not my priority for now.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:07 pm

Ah too bad. Yet mChat is an approved extension so it's not against the rules... Seems like more extensions doing it would actually be a good reason to support it? Or is this a per-case thing?

The most frustrating thing (from my perspective at least) is that toggling works when you use the UCP setting. But in another place, the editor, it doesn't work. So it feels so close and yet so far away... ;)

Granted I don't speak enough PHP to know exactly what any of that means...

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Tue Mar 19, 2019 11:49 pm

nou nou wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 8:07 pm
Seems like more extensions doing it would actually be a good reason to support it? Or is this a per-case thing?
I would need to evaluate that possibility, specially seeing that there's not much interest in this extension.

Most of my extensions were created for self use (except Imgur) and it currently fits our needs as is, however I would certainly accept pull request in the GitHub repository if anyone is interested in adding support.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

nou nou
Registered User
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:08 pm

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by nou nou » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:05 am

I'm interested :D

User avatar
abdu7maan
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by abdu7maan » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:11 pm

no work
Image
Welcome to my site :
anime
https://www.anime-toon.net
:oops:

User avatar
AbaddonOrmuz
Registered User
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 9:06 pm
Location: /dev/null
Name: Alfredo Ramos
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by AbaddonOrmuz » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:23 pm

abdu7maan wrote:
Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:11 pm
no work
Could you post the text you used? because it looks like you have two nested [code] BBCodes, which is not supported by phpBB itself, and that's not a problem of the extension.

Image

I just tested it and it works as expected:

Image

I'm using custom CSS for the table, it's not part of the extension.
A proudly user of Arch Linux :: /r/sddm_themes

User avatar
abdu7maan
Registered User
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: [3.2][BETA] Markdown

Post by abdu7maan » Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:31 pm

no work
Image
Welcome to my site :
anime
https://www.anime-toon.net
:oops:

Locked

Return to “Extensions in Development”