[3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

A place for Extension Authors to post and receive feedback on Extensions still in development. No Extensions within this forum should be used within a live environment!
Scam Warning
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: Extensions Development rules

IMPORTANT FOR NEEDED EVENTS!!!
If you need an event for your extension please read this for the steps to follow to request the event(s)
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18450
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by david63 »

I haven't seen, or perhaps haven't noticed that but what I do know is that a lot depends on the format of the original file. I have never claimed that it is foolproof.
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
rxu
Extensions Development Team
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Siberia, Russian Federation
Name: Ruslan
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by rxu »

I've made some tests and that happens if there's no newline at the end of definition.
I.e. you have an issue with the case
yml1.png
yml1.png (4.32 KiB) Viewed 1333 times

and you don't with the newline at the end
yml2.png
yml2.png (3.64 KiB) Viewed 1333 times
User avatar
spaceace
Registered User
Posts: 1994
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by spaceace »

nice work david63 :D

this extension helped me find and fix some issues with my own extensions. thanks and keep up the great work :D :D

the screenshots from rxu points that out :lol:
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 948
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by Hippie459MN »

Big thanks for this. It fixed up a few issues I was having with some extensions. All seems to be well now. :D
User avatar
durangod
Registered User
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 1:26 pm
Name: Dave

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by durangod »

Thank you so much for this extension, you are a very smart and experienced programmer for sure.

This helped me fix the extension and it showed all i had to do was to add single quotes around the arguments..

like so..

Code: Select all

  - '@config'
  - '@template'

I understand that this is no guarentee that the old extension will work, but at least the yml file is ok now....

Again thank you soooooo very much... :)
User avatar
Hervé
Registered User
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:51 am
Location: Belgium
Name: Rudy
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by Hervé »

Hi,
I've installed this extension but do not find it among the to be activated extensions !
an idea ?
User avatar
Hippie459MN
Registered User
Posts: 948
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by Hippie459MN »

Hervé wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:03 pm
Hi,
I've installed this extension but do not find it among the to be activated extensions !
an idea ?
You didnt install it correctly or into the correct directory structure if its not showing up in your extensions list.
User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 1248
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Location: Staying home - Calgary
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by P_I »

Hervé wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:03 pm
Hi,
I've installed this extension but do not find it among the to be activated extensions !
an idea ?
Make sure it is installed in ext/david63/extservicescheck

The zip file structure uses extservicescheck-3.2/.
Normal people… believe that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Engineers believe that if it ain’t broke, it doesn’t have enough features yet. – Scott Adams
User avatar
2600
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Area-51

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by 2600 »

Hervé wrote:
Sat Mar 14, 2020 6:03 pm
Hi,
I've installed this extension but do not find it among the to be activated extensions !
an idea ?
An easy way to know the right folder path is to open the composer.json file and at the top you'll see name: There it will tell you the proper path needed for the extension in your FTP under the ext folder.
Morpheus: Unfortunately, no one can be told what The Matrix is. You'll have to see it for yourself.
Hack me.
Consider a canary token.
The nature of my chosen username
:ugeek:
User avatar
Hervé
Registered User
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2019 7:51 am
Location: Belgium
Name: Rudy
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by Hervé »

Hi,
Strange idea not to give the zip the same structure as the to be installed folder
but that was the reason, it's working fine now
many thanks
User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 18450
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 8:08 am
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by david63 »

Hervé wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:25 am
Strange idea not to give the zip the same structure as the to be installed folder
Unfortunately that is the way that Github packages the files
David
Remember: You only know what you know and - you don't know what you don't know!
My CDB Contributions | How to install an extension
I will not be accepting translations for any of my extensions in Github - please post any translations in the appropriate topic.
No support requests via PM or email as they will be ignored
User avatar
2600
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Area-51

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by 2600 »

Hervé wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:25 am
Strange idea not to give the zip the same structure as the to be installed folder
Yeah, it's all in how the extension author codes the extension. Some authors make the paths make sense while others don't. That's why it's a good idea to look in the composer.json file.
Morpheus: Unfortunately, no one can be told what The Matrix is. You'll have to see it for yourself.
Hack me.
Consider a canary token.
The nature of my chosen username
:ugeek:
User avatar
HiFiKabin
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 4977
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 9:10 am
Location: Swearing at the PC, UK
Name: James
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by HiFiKabin »

John connor wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 8:36 am
Yeah, it's all in how the extension author codes the extension. Some authors make the paths make sense while others don't. That's why it's a good idea to look in the composer.json file.
Incorrect. As David stated in his post above yours, its how GitHub packs the files and is beyond the authors control.
User avatar
2600
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 2567
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 5:14 pm
Location: Area-51

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by 2600 »

I guess that would make sense then. I thought it was how the author chose the install path for the extension.
Morpheus: Unfortunately, no one can be told what The Matrix is. You'll have to see it for yourself.
Hack me.
Consider a canary token.
The nature of my chosen username
:ugeek:
WWu777
Registered User
Posts: 789
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 12:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [3.2][3.3][RC] Extension .yml check

Post by WWu777 »

David63,
Can you answer this question I posted in another section about your extension?

https://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/exte ... pic/214481
samden wrote:Incase anyone else gets this... I fixed it with the help of this plugin: viewtopic.php?t=2528456
I downloaded and installed that extension too, but how does it fix the Ajax Shoutbox? All it does is show which files are in conflict. How do you resolve it? For instance that extension shows that Ajax Shoutbox is not compatible because:
Click to show files The routing.yml file is invalid
Click to show files The services.yml file is invalid
Click to show files The tables.yml file is invalid
What do I do about that? Just delete those files? Will it still work if I do that?
Post Reply

Return to “Extensions in Development”