Insert code between Categories

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
caithomas44
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:50 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Insert code between Categories

Post by caithomas44 » Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:01 pm

Hi,

I have installed my first phpbb3 installation today, i am more used to playing with VB for others, but this is my own project :)

the website http://www.reduceyourimpact.co.uk/forum is my new forum. I have aready added custom meta tags and two adsense banners. one at the top below the header and one at the very bottom in the footer.

My question is; how do i add code e.g. for adsense or adbrite into spaces between my catergories. I was thinking maybe just text ads :)

is there a way to replicate the catergory boxes i.e. on mine "green living", but instead of having a list of forums in the box, rather have custom code.

Thanks



Cai


edit::

what i want to do is what this person has done: http://wilsont3ch.com/how-to-put-adsens ... of-phpbb3/


however i cannot seem to get it to work! :(

User avatar
*Christian*
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 884
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 1:35 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: Insert code between Categories

Post by *Christian* » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:04 pm

Hey,

Open: /styles/style/template/forumlist_body.html

Find:

Code: Select all

    <!-- IF forumrow.S_IS_CAT or forumrow.S_FIRST_ROW  or forumrow.S_NO_CAT  -->
Before, Add:

Code: Select all

   <!-- IF forumrow.FORUM_ID == 3 -->
*** Ad code here ***
<!-- ENDIF -->
Change the forum ID to something that suits your forum layout.
Proud owner of Bertie 3.0
:: No support via PM or IM ::

caithomas44
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:50 pm
Location: Bristol, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Insert code between Categories

Post by caithomas44 » Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:09 pm

that didn't seem to do anything? :S

I want it so the adds are within the a separte green box :)

like the box title EPP on this page : http://www.notjustmyflorida.com/phpBB3/

Thanks

User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 50507
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Insert code between Categories

Post by stevemaury » Wed Jul 09, 2008 1:13 am

Did you purge the cache after you made the edits?
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”