how to limit image width in posts?

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

When posting an image with the text of the post sometimes its just too large (wide) and since i have my site set to a fixed with the image is just displayed to a certain point and then the rest of it just gets lost or cut. Is there a way for the image to be resized so it can fit and then maybe clicked to be seen at full size?

Alex

momentum
Registered User
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by momentum »

In your ACP under the Posting tab have a look at the image size settings. Figure the maximum width your board's template can handle and adjust accordingly.

Craig.
QOTY: phpBB is free, good hosting is not. - robert (Lumpy Burgertushie)

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

all i could find in the ACP is limiting size but for ATTACHMENTS.... am i missing something?

Alex

momentum
Registered User
Posts: 1505
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 4:07 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by momentum »

Sorry, have a look at the General tab, under Board Configuration -> Post Settings then scroll to the bottom of the page.

Craig.
QOTY: phpBB is free, good hosting is not. - robert (Lumpy Burgertushie)

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

hey momentum thanks for your patience, i set it to 500 by 500 but when i try to post an image (not as an attachment) i get the following message: "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image." and it wont let me post. whats this about?

by the way.. the image im using is from another website just to try it out.. so just to be clear... it is not saved in my ftp.

Alex

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by Phil »

That error means your host has remote use of get_image_size() disabled. You can ask them to enable it, but if they don't, that means that you won't be able to use features (remote avatars and remote image size limit) that rely on it.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

my host is godaddy. Anyone know where to enable this?

Alex

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by Phil »

Again, you'll have to contact them and ask them for help with that.
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

i already did contact them via email.. just thought i'd ask here since godaddy is such a popular host someone might have had that problem before me.

Alex

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

this is the email i received today after i contacted godaddy (my host) last night.

Support Staff Response
Dear Alex,

Thank you for contacting Online Support.

Unfortunately, we do not provide technical support with third-party scripting issues. We are very limited in the support we can offer for customer-written code or scripts. If there is evidence that our system is responsible for the error, please forward it to us, and we would be happy to look into the matter further. But at the moment this does not appear to be the case, so we regret we can not assist you further with this issue.

Please let us know if we may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Morgan
Online Support Technician


any ideas anyone?

Alex

User avatar
Phil
Former Team Member
Posts: 10403
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 4:11 am
Name: Phil Crumm
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by Phil »

Tell them that it is unrelated to the script and is a result of their disabling a portion of a PHP function (the ability to use remote URLs with get_image_size()).
Moving on, with the wind. | My Corner of the Web

market
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:52 am

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by market »

avillabon wrote:hey momentum thanks for your patience, i set it to 500 by 500 but when i try to post an image (not as an attachment) i get the following message: "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image." and it wont let me post. whats this about?

by the way.. the image im using is from another website just to try it out.. so just to be clear... it is not saved in my ftp.

Alex


I get this same error message, so my solution (hack) was to create a custom bbcode:

[imgsize]{TEXT}[/imgsize]

<img src="{TEXT}" height="600" width="600" />

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

i tried your code several ways but with no positive result... did you have to install something to get this to work?

when i submit the post all i get is the post...

this is what i posted:
[imgsize]{http://www.fxguide.com/modules/NewsUplo ... it_car.jpg}[/imgsize]

<img src="{http://www.fxguide.com/modules/NewsUplo ... it_car.jpg}" height="600" width="600" />

am i doing something wrong?

Alex

market
Registered User
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:52 am

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by market »

remove the curlies.

I assume you registered that new custom bbcode first in the admin section right?

avillabon
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:51 am
Location: Venezuela
Contact:

Re: how to limit image width in posts?

Post by avillabon »

nope, could you link me to where im supposed to download it? and how to install it...

no wonder its not working! lol.

Alex

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”