Page 1 of 1

Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:46 pm
by dvdd127
We are having issues on our phpbb3 site with avatars and dimensions.

When uploading avatars or using remote avatars our users get this error:

Code: Select all

It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image
They get this error even if their image meets all requirements set in the admin panel.

I have looked at this thread and I added some code to /includes/message_parser.php as suggested by jhong in this post.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 4:39 pm
by Brf
In Avatar Settings, set the minimums and maximums to zero.

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 7:07 pm
by dvdd127
Brf wrote:In Avatar Settings, set the minimums and maximums to zero.
if we do that people could mess up the alignments by uploading huge avatars... is there another way to fix this?

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:11 am
by Brf
Your server is not allowing you to check the images' size though...

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:18 am
by dvdd127
Brf wrote:Your server is not allowing you to check the images' size though...
correct.. there has to be another fix for this though.. other than just changing the min and max values to zero.

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:35 am
by Brf
Yes there is.
Ask your host to allow getimagesize(). It requires them to set allow_url_fopen

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 3:44 am
by dvdd127
Brf wrote:Yes there is.
Ask your host to allow getimagesize(). It requires them to set allow_url_fopen
is there a way to do this in htaccess?

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 5:41 pm
by lars131
What with Filesize? How we change that

Re: Avatar Uploads and Dimensions

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:05 pm
by dvdd127
I tried setting the min and max to 0 and i still get the error.