Page 1 of 1

add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:24 pm
by vakata
hello
how can i add a banner in my phpbb3 forum (i have the ''pure black'' style).
is possible to add and swf banners?
please tell me what i have to do....

thank you in advanced
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 12:06 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
you add the html for the banner code into the html file for wherever you want the banner to display.

if at the top of every page, then you add it to the overall_header.html file
if at the bottom of every page, then you add it to the overall_footer.html file

etc. etc.


robert

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 2:06 am
by wcgr
i needed this too thanx

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:52 pm
by vakata
thank you for your answer.......can you be more specific? what is the code for the banner ?.....and where excatly i have to put it in the overallheader or footer?
can i add and swf banners also?

thank you in advanced
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 9:57 pm
by Lumpy Burgertushie
vakata wrote:thank you for your answer.......can you be more specific? what is the code for the banner ?.....and where excatly i have to put it in the overallheader or footer?
can i add and swf banners also?

thank you in advanced
Takis
it is just html.
I have no idea what the code for your banner is.
normal html for a banner would be something like this:

Code: Select all

<a href="whatever.com"><img src="path/to/your/banner/image.gif"></a>
youy would put this in the overall_header.html file right after the <body> tag probably.

the same applies for swf /flash . you would have to get the html for the flash and insert it into the file exactly where you want it to show up.

we can't tell you exactly how to do this unless we have a copy of the file you are trying to put it in and the correct file names/images/paths, etc. etc for your web server.


this is basic html/web page creation stuff and you will need to get instructions for that somewhere else.


robert

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 7:45 am
by vakata
Robert thank you very much for your answer. i' ll try to do it sa you told me...

best regards
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:29 am
by vakata
i tried to do it but i couldn't make it......i don't know why
i upload my gif image here: www.judoforum.gr/banners/moscow.gif
i put to overall_header.html this: <a href="www.judoforum.gr"><img src="banners/moscow.gif"></a> after i made preview to style and nothing appears.......please tell me what is going wrong?

best regards
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 9:34 am
by JimA
You need to refresh your templates on the Styles tab in the ACP before you can see the edits.

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:24 am
by vakata
thank you for your reply......i tried like you told me and fianally works.......with .gif only.....when i am trying with swf i can't do it can you tell me the way please? what i have to place in the overall_header.html so can play
i put this :

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shoc ... n=9,0,28,0" width="301" height="121">
<param name="movie" value="test.swf" />
<param name="quality" value="high" />
<embed src="test.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download ... kwaveFlash" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="301" height="121"></embed>
</object


i think something is missing.......

thank you in advanced
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 1:10 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
that is all you need.

give us a link to the board so we can see what is going on.

make sure you have that code in the overall_header.html file so we can see it.

robert

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 1:09 pm
by vakata
hello
after i spend a lot of time i found this:
<div align="center">
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shoc ... n=6,0,29,0" width="610" height="100">
<param name="movie" value="/styles/prosilver/theme/images/banner.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">

<embed src="/styles/prosilver/theme/images/banner.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="610" height="100"></embed></object>
</div>

i have to put my swf banner in: styles/for example-prosilver/theme/images/banner.swf

after works fine......
is this correct?
i haven't made the banner yet i only tested with one i made......my forum is http://www.judoforum.gr
thank you
Takis

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:57 am
by Lumpy Burgertushie
you can put the swf file wherever you want to, you just have to edit the path accordingly.

robert

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:00 am
by girocruci
Lumpy Burgertushie wrote:you add the html for the banner code into the html file for wherever you want the banner to display.

if at the top of every page, then you add it to the overall_header.html file
if at the bottom of every page, then you add it to the overall_footer.html file

etc. etc.


robert
Are you talking about the overall_header.html in the admin\style dir or the one in the prosilver\template ?

Thanks for your answer

Re: add a banner to phpbb3......

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:33 am
by dellsystem
girocruci wrote:Are you talking about the overall_header.html in the admin\style dir or the one in the prosilver\template ?

Thanks for your answer
In the prosilver/template folder. The one in the adm/style directory only affects the pages in the ACP, while the other affects pages in the main forum.