[split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global.php

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Ideas Centre
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
Kubbie
Registered User
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 1:50 pm

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by Kubbie »

ToonArmy wrote:Delete all the files in the cache folder accept .htaccess and index.htm and ensure it is CHMODed to 777.
Fixed.

I did check that before I posted here and did change it to 777. Checking it again, it either went back to 644, or when I exited it didn't save the new 777 permissons. In any case. It is gone and now working. Thanks.

brendymullan
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:11 am

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by brendymullan »

Hi, I have the same problem as everyone else. Updated now getting the same error at the bottom of all my pages, and when I try change some board settings and hit "submit"

I have made sure that my constraints file has the missing code.
I have cleared the cache of all files apart from index
I have made sure the cache is 777 - have changed it and then changed it back to reset it.

I don't know what else to try. Its affecting two of my boards at the minute. A response would be greatly appreciated.

edit: nm after doing it a few times over it corrected itself. thanks!

Bobster60
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:58 am

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by Bobster60 »

purepk911 wrote:
ToonArmy wrote:Could everyone check they have the following code in includes/constants.php please.

Code: Select all

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1);  
It should follow:

Code: Select all

define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2);  
You must purge the cache afterwards.
I can't find any of those codes in my includes/constants.php

Edit: Never mind it work! Thanks guys you don't know how much you help!
THANK YOU Worked a treat
back up and running with NO fatal errors :D
my MOD's and addons advertisement management, activity stats, tracelogs, Browser language detector, Announcement centre, ZB block, Anti Bot question, Bots Mod, Project Honeypot, Faq manager, check spammers, RSS feeder, new message adviser for Acp.

7leader
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by 7leader »

I DON"T have that:

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1);


but here is an additional problem,

I don't have:

define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2);


Do I add both?

Does it matter where I add it?
Do I include the @ symbols? None of the rest of the code has an @ symbol

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 7694
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:54 am
Location: The Netherlands
Name: Jim Mossing Holsteyn
Contact:

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by JimA »

It doesn't really matter where you put them, but to have it as clear as possible, just put them as I say you, that's how it is in a default file.

Code: Select all

// referer validation
define('REFERER_VALIDATE_NONE', 0);
define('REFERER_VALIDATE_HOST', 1);
define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2);

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1);
 
It should follow:

Code: Select all

define('FIELD_DATE', 6); 
And no, the @ symbol is no mistake, just let it stay there.
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Community Team Leader
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

If you're having any questions about the rules/customs of this website, feel free to drop me a PM.

7leader
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by 7leader »

Thank you so much.

That solved my "Fatal Error" Problem.

Shake-Zula
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by Shake-Zula »

Deleting the cache contents brings my site back, but the problem keeps re-occurring. Every day I return to my site, I get a white page with the error message:
Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in ..../forum/includes/acm/acm_file.php on line 112

This is happening on a new PHPBB3 installation with no mods. It was installed as PHPBB 3.0.3 by Fantastico and then I updated it to 3.0.4. right away.

Folder permissions are correct, and cache is 777.

The file constants.php has the same lines mentioned in this thread.

The acm_file.php is the same as the one ToonArmy linked to, except that example has CHMOD_READ | CHMOD_WRITE) instead of just CHMOD_WRITE at the end of line 102. I tried using CHMOD_READ | CHMOD_WRITE, and every day I get this same error and have to manually delete cache.

PHPBB is setting data_global.php to 620. Is that what it should be?

Why would I have to keep manually deleting the cache every day to bring the site back?

I have seen many others in this thread mention they had this problem after updating from 3.0.3. to 3.0.4. -- and one of those said that they fixed it by using the acm file from 3.0.3. instead. Why would that solve the problem?

User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22909
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by ric323 »

Shake-Zula wrote: This is happening on a new PHPBB3 installation with no mods. It was installed as PHPBB 3.0.3 by Fantastico and then I updated it to 3.0.4. right away.
Please try to remove Fantastico from the equation. The update packages assume the previous installation is correct.
Do a clean update as described in the last link in my sig.
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions

Shake-Zula
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by Shake-Zula »

Thanks for the advice. I have just completed the clean update.

I will report whether or not the problem reoccurs. If it doesn't happen again by tomorrow that will be a good sign.

Shake-Zula
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 9:25 pm

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by Shake-Zula »

Cinco? It happened again.

Several hours after having to delete the cache, this error reoccurred and I had to do it again to bring my site back online.

Bmlow
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:41 pm

Re: Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global.php

Post by Bmlow »

inikad wrote:
ToonArmy wrote:Could everyone check they have the following code in includes/constants.php please.

Code: Select all

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1);  
It should follow:

Code: Select all

define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2);  
I didn't have this code in includes/constants.php. I added it and purged the cache file again. It seems to work. :)

A last question: we keep your last version of includes/acm/acm_file.php or we use the original 3.0.4 version?


Thanks a lot for your help ToonArmy! :)

I also added this to contants.php, it has got rid of the fatal error message but i still cannot fix this issue which i thought would be cleared up.

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3336/63837091wb5.jpg

ToonArmy
Former Team Member
Posts: 4608
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 5:29 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Name: Chris Smith
Contact:

Re: Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global.php

Post by ToonArmy »

Bmlow wrote:I also added this to contants.php, it has got rid of the fatal error message but i still cannot fix this issue which i thought would be cleared up.

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3336/63837091wb5.jpg
You have a different problem, feel free to open another topic where we can assist you.
Chris SmithGitHub

CJFinnegan
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global.php

Post by CJFinnegan »

ToonArmy wrote:Could everyone check they have the following code in includes/constants.php please.

Code: Select all

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1); 
It should follow:

Code: Select all

define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2); 
You must purge the cache afterwards.
After I deleted everything but the .htaccess and index pages from the cache file, I edited a clean version of the file and overwrote the old one, and now it works great. Thank you so much for posting this edit.

dorsey
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:37 pm

Re: [split] Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global

Post by dorsey »

I have a fresh (just yesterday) installation of 3.0.4, and I'm having the same problem. I've done everything suggested here (yes, I read the entire thread and all references to other threads), but it won't go away. My constants.php file was correct all along, unlike others have reported. I also replaced acm_file.php.

When I manually clear the cache via ftp client, I can log in and navigate for a few minutes or until I change browser windows, and then the problem recurs. The file permissions on data_global.php are 660, and 777 on cache both before and after it stops working.

I'm running this on a shared server so I don't have shell access; however, my ftp client (WinSCP) allows me to change permissions and delete files. I just can't change file ownership for obvious reasons. The newly-created cache files are owned by my account, and don't have Other access (660) - is it possible that the process (Apache) that runs phpBB3 is not the file owner nor in the group, and that's causing the problem? I'm clutching at straws here, trying to solve this myself.

Thanks,
Dorsey

Bmlow
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 1:41 pm

Re: Fatal error: Not able to open ./../cache/data_global.php

Post by Bmlow »

Bmlow wrote:
inikad wrote:
ToonArmy wrote:Could everyone check they have the following code in includes/constants.php please.

Code: Select all

// phpbb_chmod() permissions
@define('CHMOD_ALL', 7);
@define('CHMOD_READ', 4);
@define('CHMOD_WRITE', 2);
@define('CHMOD_EXECUTE', 1);  
It should follow:

Code: Select all

define('REFERER_VALIDATE_PATH', 2);  
I didn't have this code in includes/constants.php. I added it and purged the cache file again. It seems to work. :)

A last question: we keep your last version of includes/acm/acm_file.php or we use the original 3.0.4 version?


Thanks a lot for your help ToonArmy! :)

I also added this to contants.php, it has got rid of the fatal error message but i still cannot fix this issue which i thought would be cleared up.

http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/3336/63837091wb5.jpg
Hmm Okies, it worked for a while but when i went into my ACP and used my Deactivate user account options i now see i have the same error again...

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”