Page 1 of 1

phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:40 pm
by Lord Raiden
Ok, been testing phpbb3 in order to upgrade my old 2.0.22 forums up to 3.x, and so far everything works on the install. However, when I get to the conversion tool to upgrade my old 2.x up to 3.x, it runs for a little bit, then utterly fails. All I get is a request to download an empty index.php file, and that's it. A little looking around shows that some stuff did get imported into 3.x, but aside from the files transfered, most of the database info transfered is horribly mangled. For example, the phpbb topics table has some "[blob] ###" stuff with each entry, but nothing that looks like a valid import of data and the main page of the forums doesn't show any forums, sub forums, topics, or even members.

Any idea why this script is failing? Is it because of mods I have on my forums? Is there a way to manually import all the data if nothing else works? Any help making this transition would be appreciated. I was told that it would be point and click easy. So far it's been anything but that.

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:33 pm
by Pit$Bull
Are you following this proceedure?

Information on how to convert from phpBB2 to phpBB3 is here.

Basically, you must have both phpBB2 and phpBB3 installed on the same server. After you have finished installing phpBB3 you will have the option to convert your phpBB2 board using the built in converter. The information it asks you for is related to the phpBB2 installation and can be found in its config.php file on the server. All of your users, posts, forums, PMs etc are converted. However, styles and MODs are not (with the exception of the birthday and attachment MODs which are supported by the converter). The phpBB2 database is not converted per se, it is merely read and converted/moved to the new phpBB3 database, so if it goes wrong your old board will not be affected at all. At the end of the conversion, once you're happy it's all working, your phpBB2 database and files can be backed up and removed if you so wish. They are not connected to the new installation in any way.

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:00 pm
by narqelion
it runs for a little bit, then utterly fails.
Do you get an actual error message? Can you take a screen cap of where it stops?

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:34 pm
by Lord Raiden
I get no error message at all. It just runs for a while, and then offers index.php for download, which ends up being a zero byte file.

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:53 pm
by Pit$Bull
Are you sure that isn't a config.php file and not a index.php file?

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:49 pm
by Lord Raiden
Nope, it comes back as index.php

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:17 pm
by narqelion
Check you web server error logs for anything that might indicate where the script is dying. My other suggestion is to try and perform the upgrade locally. If you can, setup a localhost environment and duplicate your forum there (using a backup from the live forum) and try to perform the conversion as a test. This might help narrow down the problem.

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 conversion fails. Help!

Posted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 3:14 am
by Lord Raiden
Sorry for the slow replies. I've been doing a lot of development work on a new CMS as well, plus I have school, so it's kinda torpedoed my freetime. Anywho, to answer your question, I'm doing this on a development server, so it's not in the live environment. But I am using a full copy of the database from my live server as a test.

If there's a simple way to just manually import the data by hand, I could just write my own php script to do that. I've got a lot of data to import (some >180mb) which can sometimes cause the server to die. I had forgot about that last time and suspect that's possibly what's happening, because I had to use bigdump to bring it in last time and even that took several tries. I may just setup a dummy database on my live site and try it there to see if it goes well.