php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Scam Warning
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

Hello, I have problem in my phpbb3 [http://mydevilz.com/forum/] with php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary failure in name resolution. I went to see the internet, and I noticed that this error reported a problem with the chat box. But I did not chat box with no form, I just inserted a code in php myself, but the error is not because I did it before. The error appears in the Admin Control Panel, section update. Unfortunately I have no 'other information about all' error. Thanks
Magical Snap - 2009.03.04 20.55 - 001.jpg
Magical Snap - 2009.03.04 20.55 - 001.jpg (81.12 KiB) Viewed 1524 times
Version phpbb3 is 3.04
(sry my english XD)
Last edited by RIK312 on Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by Tom »

What file did you insert the PHP code into?
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

A right, the 'other week I had to reset the chmod, then of course I put the folders to 777 stories, files, cache. I think this is the problem. Perhaps I should change chmod to other files, possible?
Last edited by RIK312 on Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

A iframes code in overall_footer (template), but I do not believe is that the code iframes since the problem was before
Last edited by RIK312 on Wed Mar 04, 2009 8:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by Tom »

You said that you added a PHP code to a file, didn't you? Well, what was the file that you added the PHP code to?
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

Complete code compilation in overall_footer is
<!-- ENDIF -->
</div>
</div>
<!-- ENDIF --><iframe src="http://www.mydevilz.com/chat/example/index.html" Frameborder=0 height="500px" width="100%">
</iframe>

<!-- IF TRANSLATION_INFO --><!-- ENDIF -->
<!-- IF DEBUG_OUTPUT --><br />{DEBUG_OUTPUT}<!-- ENDIF -->
<!-- IF U_ACP --><br /><strong><a href="{U_ACP}">_$_$_$_____________________________________________________||_{L_ACP}_||______________________________________________________$_$_$_</a></strong><!-- ENDIF -->

But as I repeat the question gave him already before this amendment to the code, only add for insert a chat in iframes and change the 'information powered by php (for security reason) ..

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

q.q other error: Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 4456448) (tried to allocate 1245184 bytes) in /home/mydevilz/public_html/forum/includes/utf/data/confusables.php on line 1

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by Tom »

RIK312 wrote:and change the 'information powered by php (for security reason) ..
Just so you know, if you do not have the proper phpBB copyright displayed in the footer of your forum, then we cannot provide support for you on phpBB.com.
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

Ok sry i have reinsert php text copyright. Now help me plz :cry:

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by Tom »

RIK312 wrote:q.q other error: Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 4456448) (tried to allocate 1245184 bytes) in /home/mydevilz/public_html/forum/includes/utf/data/confusables.php on line 1
Do you know what version of PHP your server is running? According to this bug report on php.net, this error seems to occur on servers running PHP version 5.2.0 or earlier.
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

Apache/2.2.11 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.11 OpenSSL/0.9.8b mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 PHP/5.2.8 Server at mydevilz.com Port 80

User avatar
Tom
Former Team Member
Posts: 2665
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:12 am
Name: Tom Catullo
Contact:

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by Tom »

Alright, it seems that your server is running the latest version of PHP, so this is a bit odd. Did you do something to your forum and then all of a sudden that Fatal error: Out of memory error showed up, or did the Fatal error: Out of memory error just show up randomly?
Tom Catullo - Former Moderator Team Member
phpBB3 Smiley Pak Generator | Legend Repositioning MOD | My GitHub | My Site

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

Only randomly...Thanks for your help :)

aa perhaps I understand the cause (but I am not too sure) yesterday .. I went to my cPanel and was written "cPanel expired" .. now I'm noticing that the cPanel and sometimes up and sometimes down, with numerous errors .. I think My are updating / expanding version of my cPanel ^_^.. could be?

RIK312
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: php_network_getaddresses: getaddrinfo failed: Temporary fail

Post by RIK312 »

o.o now work...temporary error

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”