A new forum with an old database

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
ding
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm

A new forum with an old database

Post by ding »

Here is a question for the knowledgeable.... :D I have a forum that has been modified and has problems and want I to start again. How can I get a new installation to recognise my existing database. I will be using the same template but without the mods to it. Or should I change all the phpbb files for new ones. What are the pitfalls to this as I dont want the online forum to be ofline.
User avatar
Erik Frèrejean
Former Team Member
Posts: 9899
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:09 am
Location: The Netherlands, 3.0.x Support Forum
Name: Erik Frèrejean
Contact:

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by Erik Frèrejean »

As long you keep the old config.php (or manually create a new one that includes the details of your old database), phpBB will use your old database. Keep in mind that by doing this you won't clean up the database from any data that was added by the MODs.

Moving from translations to support
Support Toolkit | Support Request Template | Knowledge Base | phpBB 3.0.x documentation
I don't give support via PM or IM! (all unsolicited pms will be trashed!)
ding
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by ding »

Thanks got it working but the new forum has the problems the old one had. The problems must be in the database. Suppose I will have to look through the databse, this is mind numbing.
narqelion
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 7235
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by narqelion »

ding wrote:...but the new forum has the problems the old one had.
Maybe if you posted what the exact problem(s) are? :)
ding
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by ding »

When I try to restore a backup I get "General Error Module not accessible" and users cant pick there own avatars the profile has moved from a seperate place under options to in the board preferances. Have been told using dreamweaver would cause problems but I'm lost now.
User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 67985
Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

well, if you have opened/edited any of the files or uploaded any of the files with dreamweaver, then this could be your problem.
'
the only way to know for sure is to stop using DW for phpbb at all.

start over with clean files from the zip file you download from here.

then, get and use a real ftp program to upload the files.

upload all new files to overwrite the ones on the server,
edit your config.php file accordingly

try again.

tell us what errors you get if any.


robert
I'm baaaaaccckkkk. still doing work on donation basis. PM your needs.

Premium phpBB 3.3 Styles by PlanetStyles.net

If nobody is in the forest, does a tree really fall?
ding
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by ding »

Just did a clean install, and the restore is still not working, get a message..

General Error Module not accessible

So it must be something in the database.....yes/no I'm guessing here.

the profile is in the wrong place in the UCP as well like the old one...lost here.
ding
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:50 pm

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by ding »

Thanks narqelion it worked :D
narqelion
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 7235
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 5:00 pm
Contact:

Re: A new forum with an old database

Post by narqelion »

Glad it worked. ;)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”