Page 1 of 1

keep receiving PM alert email ... !!!!!!

Posted: Tue May 05, 2009 5:38 am
by phpaaa
i'm the administartor of a bb3 forum. Yesterday I send out a PM (private message) to all members, then something strange happened. I received a PM alert email (to inform me there's a new PM) more than 30 times a day ... and i can't stop it. I'm afraid all my members would face the same situation ... actually some of the members i know tell me they keep receiving my forum's PM alert email ...

anyone can help me ?

Re: keep receiving PM alert email ... !!!!!!

Posted: Tue May 05, 2009 7:00 am
by ric323
Delete the queue.php file in your cache folder, and make sure the cache folder permissions are 777 (if you are on a Linux server), or that the IIS user has FULL permissions for the cache folder if you are on a Windows server.

Re: keep receiving PM alert email ... !!!!!!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:09 am
by phpaaa
thank ... done what u said and hope it'll solve my problem.

But WHY would this happened ? isn't it i should not send PM to ALL members in future ?

Re: keep receiving PM alert email ... !!!!!!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:14 am
by ric323
It should not happen.
If it does, it indicates your web server is not set up correctly, which is why I have asked you to check the permission settings on your cache folder.

Re: keep receiving PM alert email ... !!!!!!

Posted: Wed May 06, 2009 6:16 am
by karlsemple
phpaaa wrote:thank ... done what u said and hope it'll solve my problem.

But WHY would this happened ? isn't it i should not send PM to ALL members in future ?

When you send mass pm messages the board needs to send a lot of email notifications out, so to process this list of emails it stores the info relating to them in the queue.php file which it creates in the cache folder, once it has gone through and send all the E-mails it will delete the queue.php as it is no longer needed as the list contained in it will have been processed. However if the permissions on the cache folder are wrong and the queue.php can not be deleted the board will assume the list still needs processing and will do this over and over and over until the file is either manually removed or the permissions are corrected on the cache folder :)