Unknown character in language file.... help

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Anti-Spam Guide
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
ClubCalibra
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:42 pm

Unknown character in language file.... help

Post by ClubCalibra »

Hi

I've been modifying by board and I have done something wrong in one of the language files...

Problem being is I don't know which file and when I tried taking a fresh downloaded file and changing it - and then the forum came up with a blank screen, it seems to be the apostrophe thats coming up with the square box, or in IE8 the question mark ...

couple of screen grabs

Image

Image

Image

if someone can point me in the right direction would much appreciate it

I'm pretty sure I've saved the file in the correct manner also...using notepad 2...UTF-8
Last edited by ric323 on Thu May 07, 2009 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic icon changed
User avatar
ric323
Former Team Member
Posts: 22910
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:33 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Name: Ric
Contact:

Re: Unknown character in language file.... help

Post by ric323 »

ClubCalibra wrote:...I'm pretty sure I've saved the file in the correct manner also...using notepad 2...UTF-8
Do you mean you are using "Windows notepad", or some other program called "notepad 2"?
I'd recommend notepad++. Knowledge Base - Tools needed to set up and customise phpBB
The Knowledge Base contains solutions to many common problems!
How to fix "Doesn't have a default value" and "Incorrect string value: xxx for column 'post_text' " errors.
How to do a clean re-install of the latest phpBB3 version.
Problems with permissions? Read phpBB3 Permissions
ClubCalibra
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:42 pm

Re: Unknown character in language file.... help

Post by ClubCalibra »

its the same thing as notepad++ I think... is for html coding

And you are right - one file didn't have the correct encoding - so thats now sorted :)
Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”