Page 1 of 1

search error

Posted: Thu May 21, 2009 11:37 pm
by Neuropass
i get this error when i run search on my board.

Code: Select all

The following words in your search query were ignored because they are too common words: install.
You must specify at least one word to search for. Each word must consist of at least 3 characters and must not contain more than 14 characters excluding wildcards.
any clue guys??

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 12:55 am
by AdamR
phpBB includes a common word filter. This excludes certain words from the search if they are over a certain percentage of all words in every post. By default it's 5%. You can disable this, if you wish (not recommended), in the Admin Panel > Server Configuration > Search Settings. Set the common word threshold to 0.

After this, you will need to reindex your board in Maintenance > Search Index

Just be aware, disabling this can cause heavy strain on the server when users search.

- Adam

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 1:00 am
by Neuropass
thanks so won't do it. but how is possible that even if i type "panel" or "install" that errors shows up? that is absurd...

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 1:03 am
by AdamR
Neuropass wrote:thanks so won't do it. but how is possible that even if i type "panel" or "install" that errors shows up? that is absurd...
Can you link to your board? Unless you changed the percentage at some point, it should only trigger if 1) your board has over 100 posts and 2) a particular word being searched occurs 1 out of every 20 (by default) total words used.

- Adam

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 1:36 am
by Neuropass
sorry for the delay..i didn't change the percentage. i didn't even know the existence of that, lol. for the posts, we have 1550 posts now. here the link of my board: http://www.newage-os.org

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 4:15 am
by narqelion
Can you provide a test account so we can login and test the search function?

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 2:11 pm
by Neuropass
thanks for your aswer guys.

here it is the account:


username: test

password test12

Re: search error

Posted: Fri May 22, 2009 6:55 pm
by Neuropass
anybody tried the search?

Re: search error

Posted: Sat May 23, 2009 3:02 am
by narqelion
I just tested and everything appears to be working as expected. I manually found some words that did not fall into the 'common' category and search found them just fine. I think you need to change or disable your common word threshold percentage and rebuild your fulltext native index and you will be fine. :)

Re: search error

Posted: Sat May 23, 2009 3:08 am
by Neuropass
narqelion wrote:I just tested and everything appears to be working as expected. I manually found some words that did not fall into the 'common' category and search found them just fine. I think you need to change or disable your common word threshold percentage and rebuild your fulltext native index and you will be fine. :)

ok thanks for your time mate.. i thought there was something wrong there.. i'll look into the percentage thing.. 8-)

Re: search error

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:10 pm
by mtridersclb
I think you need to change or disable your common word threshold percentage and rebuild your fulltext native index
Hi. I have the same issue, its a real pain. I get the threshold percentage but whats the fulltext native index?

Many thanks

Simon
www.mtridersclub.co.uk
php 3.0

Re: search error

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:11 pm
by Paul
Its a list of all words in your board :) You will need to recreate that list if you changed any of the settings there, under admin -> maintenence -> search index

Re: search error

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 10:59 pm
by mtridersclb
Thank you. How do i recreate the list, just hit the delete button? Thanks

Re: search error

Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 11:08 pm
by Paul
Yes, you need to delete it first. After that you get a button to create the index again.

Re: search error

Posted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:39 pm
by image45
Paul wrote:Its a list of all words in your board :) You will need to recreate that list if you changed any of the settings there, under admin -> maintenence -> search index
Do you only need to recreate a new search index for the Full text native one if you change your search setting?

It checked every post so new ones would not be checked unless a new search index was created in the future right!

Sorry if this sounds dumb but I have to ask for future reference.

Thanks ~ Robert