Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Get help with installation and running phpBB 3.0.x here. Please do not post bug reports, feature requests, or MOD-related questions here.
Suggested Hosts
Forum rules
END OF SUPPORT: 1 January 2017 (announcement)
Locked
User avatar
TeraS
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:19 pm
Contact:

Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by TeraS » Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:35 pm

Support Request Template
What version of phpBB are you using? phpBB 3.0.5
What is your board's URL? http://www.succubus.net/forum
Who do you host your board with? Dreamhost
How did you install your board? I used a tool provided by my host
Is your board a fresh install or a conversion? Conversion from another software
Do you have any MODs installed? Yes
What board software did you convert from? 3.0.4
What MODs do you have installed? ACP Add User MOD, ACP Announcement Centre, Advanced Visual Anti Bot, Anti Bot Question, Anti Bot Registrations, Auto ACP redirection, Avatar in Who is Online, Avatar on Memberlist, Contact Admin, FAQ Manager, Genders, Guess Timezone, Hide Bots & Spiders, Hide the Red X, Last Posts Titles, Notify Admin on Registration, Prime BBCode Spoiler, Prune Users Never Been Active MOD, RedBar3, Rules page, Show Avatars in Friends list, Universal No Avatar, Upcoming Birthday list, Viewtopic Birthday, phpBB Mood Swings
Please describe your problem. The capatcha is broken on the registration and admin preview page. All I see is a box with a question mark in it for the preview. on the registration page, the fields are crushed onto each other and the capatcha is showing only a small amount of the total image. Turning off the capatcha will result in a good page layout, but if the page is refreshed due to a user error, the same effect with the capactcha on occurs. I have switched the style back to prosilver with the same result. All MODS were installed by the AUTOMOD software with no errors. I have checked the application of all of the anti-spam MODs and they appear to be correctly installed as far as I can tell. No other site errors have shown up to this point.
What styles do you currently have installed? OA Sexy Passion
What language(s) is your board currently using? British English
Which database type/version are you using? MySQL 5
What is your level of experience? Comfortable with PHP and phpBB
Generated by SRT Generator ($Rev: 2968 $)

An image of the registration page:
Image
And an image of the Admin visual confirmation page:
Image
Any help would be great!

Thank you in advance!


<huggles>


TeraS
See the horns? Get the clue? *wink*

iBotPeaches
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 12:38 am
Location: Vahalla
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by iBotPeaches » Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:58 pm

Did you do the file changes yourself on the upgrade, or let the tool?

I think something went wrong when editing in reCaptcha (if your using it)
Image

User avatar
TeraS
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by TeraS » Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:09 pm

I used the tool for the upgrade, I also removed the updated file in the capatcha folder and replaced it with a fresh install copy to see if that would help, I also removed the avanibot MOD just in case, but neither had an effect...

EDIT: Oh and I don't use reCapatcha

Thank you for the idea!


Tera
See the horns? Get the clue? *wink*

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25324
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by Paul » Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:38 pm

You should not use the one click installer to update. As your board now probarly is really borked.
Follow this method to get a clean install, it will means you will loose all MODs. As the one click install is not supported, and you corrupted your board, there is no other solution.
  • Upload all new files from a download of the full version, except for config.php, the /images and /files folders.
  • Go to yoursite.com/forumfolder/install/database_update.php
  • Let that run and then delete the install folder.
  • You now have a new up to date board containing all your users and posts but without any MODs that you might have had installed.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

User avatar
TeraS
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by TeraS » Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:05 pm

So in doing so, I'll have to readd the MODs and the AUTOMOD files to the board...

But I assume that the MySQL changes will remain from the MODs and then I only have to redo the AUTOMOD application of the MODs?

And I assume that I will have to start with a new install of the OA style as well?

Tera
See the horns? Get the clue? *wink*

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 25324
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: The netherlands.
Name: Paul Sohier
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by Paul » Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:07 pm

Yes, all correct.
Knock knock
Race condition
Who's there?

My BlogMy Photosmy phpBB Extensionscustom phpBB work & Development

User avatar
TeraS
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update

Post by TeraS » Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:15 pm

kk...

<gets out a pokie stick and starts on the mess>


Thankies!

I'll post the end result!


Tera
See the horns? Get the clue? *wink*

User avatar
TeraS
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:19 pm
Contact:

Capatcha is broken after 3.0.5 update -AUTOMOD issue remains

Post by TeraS » Tue Jun 16, 2009 2:41 am

Ok...

I followed all the steps and I have a working capatcha, and the board looks ok...

But here is my next question...

The AUTOMOD shows all of the MODS installed, but they are not, how do you fix that?

Should I run the uninstalls on all of the MODs or is there a better way to fix it?


Thanks in advance for the answers!!!



Tera
See the horns? Get the clue? *wink*

Locked

Return to “[3.0.x] Support Forum”